Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stuck in my mind
This is a wonderful read. A super story while highlighting the physche of a lost and lonely alcholic. Actually gave up the booze for a bit after reading this. I read this book quite a while back but to this day it lingers in my mind.
Published on 26 Sep 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting theme, but sadly bland.
This book states ' for lovers of Father Ted and Trainspotting' which if I'm honest, swayed my purchasing of this book, however, it wasn't funny, nor did it display any of the grittiness of Trainspotting, however, on a plus point, the story was compelling, and hard to put down for most of the time, unfortunatley, the story did seem to go around in circles, with the...
Published on 27 Nov 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stuck in my mind, 26 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Salesman (Paperback)
This is a wonderful read. A super story while highlighting the physche of a lost and lonely alcholic. Actually gave up the booze for a bit after reading this. I read this book quite a while back but to this day it lingers in my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Nov 2001
By 
A. Ross (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Salesman (Paperback)
Written as a diary, this is a brilliant novel of suspense, love, loneliness, alcoholism, fatherhood, redemption and of course, tragedy. The salesman of the title is a dumpy middle-aged satellite dish salesman who pissed away his family and life as an alcoholic. He's been sober for years, trying to raise his daughter by himself when she is attacked and put into a coma. One of the defendants escapes, and the salesman is left frustrated and angry.When he happens to see the escapee on the street one day he daydreams of revenge. The suspense builds and builds as he follows the criminal and plots his revenge. Interspersed with this is his recounting of meeting his wife and their life together, which he tries to explain to his daughter. Outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weird, 26 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Salesman (Paperback)
What a strange book. The first 100 or so pages the book moves along effortless telling the tale of a man and his daughter who is left in a coma following an armed robbery. Interesting , free flowing and reasonably predictably moving the story onwards. Then wallop!! the story takes unexpected turns , one after another. I found this book to be a very interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read you just can't put it down., 3 Feb 2000
By 
This review is from: The Salesman (Paperback)
From the first page of this book you'll be hooked. Its an intense absorbing, suspensful read and at times will have you laughing at the wicked Irish sense of humour. Read it, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All gardeners are storytellers, 18 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Salesman (Paperback)
"Because all gardens are stories, as somebody told me once, and all gardeners are storytellers". If this is true, Joseph O'Connor is a great gardener, no shadow of a doubt. Extremely captivating and gripping, "The salesman" is that kind of book you really force yourself to take your eyes off, in order not to finish it too soon and keep the pleasure of having still a few pages to go. Realistic and surreal at the same time, deeply moving as outrageously sarcastic... I certainly would recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting theme, but sadly bland., 27 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Salesman (Paperback)
This book states ' for lovers of Father Ted and Trainspotting' which if I'm honest, swayed my purchasing of this book, however, it wasn't funny, nor did it display any of the grittiness of Trainspotting, however, on a plus point, the story was compelling, and hard to put down for most of the time, unfortunatley, the story did seem to go around in circles, with the conclusion of the story predictable and a little disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 22 Jun 2012
By 
A. Mills (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Salesman (Paperback)
The central themes of The Salesman are revenge, violence, regret and forgiveness. Revenge for the mortal wounding of the salesman's daughter, and regret for a life wasted by alcohol abuse and for the loss of a marriage. A less obvious theme is that of forgiveness and it is this theme that makes the book so interesting. A superbly told story by a talented writer I just could not put this riveting book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Salesman". Gripping, accessible and insightful., 23 July 2010
This review is from: The Salesman (Hardcover)
Having read and enjoyed Joe O'Connor's lighthearted collection of essays, "The Secret World of the Irish Male", I decided to see what alternative styles of writing he had to offer. I chose "The Salesman" as it seemed at a glance, in total contrast to the book of his I had already read.

The one common factor in both books was O'Connor's use of "Feckin jaysus me aul' wan is a bleedin' looper"-style quotes, which irritated me slightly (Maybe this is only because I'm a Dublin man Living in London), but despite his frequent use of dramatized Irish quips, much of his dialogue is very gripping, believable and witty. The balance is just right in this novel, the book deals with dark themes such as revenge, violence and alcoholism, and then subsequently brightens the mood with doses of true love, nostalgia and hope. The changes in mood are smooth and constantly refreshing, this was helped by the accessible layout of the book, which I really appreciated.

The book is written in the form of a diary, with short entries. The protagonist (Billy Sweeney) is writing this diary for his daughter who is in a coma after receiving a brutal beating during a robbery at a petrol station. Billy is a recovering alcoholic and has been badly affected by this awful happening. We get to know Billy Sweeney better than anyone else could know him, we get an in depth analysis of an Irish male as we the reader, have privileged access to his personal diary that he never intended anyone to read other than his children, if at all. Like the stereotypical Irish Male, Billy does not, or will not speak to anyone about his problems, and as a result makes drastic decisions on his own.

This book in an in depth analysis into the psyche of a modern Irish man with troubles, and his unorthodox method of dealing with them. it is tragic, dramatic and insightful from start to finish. Overall, this it is a good quality novel. I have just given the book to my mother, as I believe this book can be read and enjoyed by anyone, and am hoping she, who has totally contrasting literary taste to myself will prove me right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A highly riveting book which I simply could not put down!, 12 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Salesman (Paperback)
This book is absolutely brilliant; the plot, the characters and the narrative is outstanding. The book takes the form of a letter, from a father to his daughter who has been hospitalized by a petrol station robbery and is now in a coma. He is obsessed by taking revenge on the thugs who performed this evil deed, but this does not prove easy and the outcome is truly unique. The Salesman examines many issues, the family; husband/wife, father/daughter relationships, money, alcoholism, love, violence and the main theme, revenge. How would you react if someone hospitalized your daugther and had got away scott free........? It has to be the most exciting book that I have read in a long while from a very talented author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars probably the best book ..... ever!, 12 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Salesman (Paperback)
im only 16 and i cant say im one for reading books. however, i have read a few and i know a good book when i read one, and quite frankly this is the best i have read so far. this book is easy to read with one hell of a plot. its style is amense in itself- its in a letter form. the narrator, Bill Sweeny, has got a dead wife, and another daughter in Australia and another daoghter, Maeve, (his favourite) in a coma. Billy is writing his confessions to Meave for when she wakes.... if she ever does. This book is brilliant and is deffinatly for the people who liked trainspotting and father ted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Salesman
The Salesman by Joseph O'Connor (Paperback - 17 Dec 1998)
8.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews