Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars35
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2009
This book has beautiful illustrations which capture the essence of the feeling being described. I have personally found this works especially well with children on the autistic spectrum and very young (pre-verbal) children. It does not pass judgement on feelings or describe them as positive or negative, it simply gives an idea of what effect thay have using very simple text and powerful images.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 February 2003
A beautiful book.
Both the text and the illustrations relate colours to feelings and moods in a simple and thoughtful way. The paintings are bright and recognisable (and the 'story' interesting enough) to keep the youngest captivated while you read, but with the scale and lay-out to attract those learning to read themselves.
Quite different from most Dr. Seuss books, this is more a concept piece than a traditional story, but retains the uniqueness you would expect, and is much loved by my 3 year old daughter!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book is a great introduction to talking about how you feel in a simple pure way.

It gives the child permission to feel sad, angry, happy etc, tells them is ok, it's normal we all feel this way sometimes.

The book is beautifully painted and the pictures are very expressive using the colours to convey the correct emotion perfectly.

The text is short enough to hold the interest of even the youngest child and the rhythm and rhyme are engaging.

A beauiful book which works on many different levels and can be read as quickly or as slowly as you like as it offers the choice of just using the words or using each colour as a jumping off point to discuss deeper things
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2007
This is a very different Dr Seuss, a little less frantic in its pace and rhyme, a little more thoughtful perhaps.

The book takes a change of direction by using other illustrators work and not the class trademark scratchy flowing drawing of the great man himself, but this is a plus, it adds to the gentleness of the story and as previously stated makes this an excellent book to draw out discussions about feelings from young ones who sometimes do not have the language to make this possible.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2000
Not the usual Dr. Seuss read, this book utilizes color to express the complexity of feelings. The illustrations are unique and elevate the text.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2001
This book is beautiful, profound,easy for new readers to get their tongues round and really rather touching. Perfect to discribe mood swings !
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
I bought this book to read to/with my 6 year old Grandson, who has issues with how he feels. This book is really engaging and he has learned the general ideas of the colour meanings in context to how he feels. This gives us an opportunity for him to say how he feels in colours, when he can't find the words to express his emotions.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
A beautiful book to read, has a relaxed pace and is easy to put different feelings into your reading due to the way the words are presented.

I love the poetic feel and would really recommend this to read to babies (due to the pages being so bold colour wise) and young children. A good start to getting children to share what they are feeling or what 'colour' they felt in a particular situation, could be used with single children or as a starter to a group discussion or creative activity. If comfortable, to make the best of this it would be really good if you as an adult felt free to share your 'colour' that day too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 December 2015
This is so different from Dr. Seuss’ other books, and wonderful though they are this offers something quite distinctive. It is a simple idea but like many simple ideas all the better for that. Also as with all the best of children’s books it offers real pleasure to adults. It is a delightful book to explore with a child. Both the association of words, colours and feelings and the visual experience are quite special. I cannot recommend the book highly enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
lovely book. My granddaughter likes me to read this every time she stops over. She asks me lots of questions and I explain to her that the book relates to feelings that we ask have, It has brought some comfort to her as she was having very bad out -bursts of rage due to desertion of a parent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.