Customer Reviews


370 Reviews
5 star:
 (220)
4 star:
 (107)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A daunting prospect
What would the world be like if Germany had indeed won the Second World War? This is a topic which will be the subject of many alternative history novels for many decades to come as it such an intriguing yet appalling thought.

Robert Harris has created a world in which the USA and Germany are the two remaining superpowers locked in a cold war. Europe has been...
Published on 16 Dec. 2009 by J. Cooper

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good story but is the setting a device or could it have been more?
A fascinating idea to stage a police procedural on the premise that Germany won the war, and a gripping story. For myself, I really wanted more nuance on the social and political situation. Robert Harris does a good job of setting out some of the new reality, seeding 'facts' into the narrative all the way through the book - I just wanted more of them, and particularly...
Published 8 months ago by C. Ellison


‹ Previous | 126 27 2837 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fatherland - Epic, 25 Jan. 2010
By 
J. Scott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fatherland (Paperback)
Superb!!!

Fatherland was recommended to me recently so I thought I would give it a read. I do not usually read books relating to war but was told that it was a must. And I am glad I did!

Certainly in my top 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly, 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatherland (Paperback)
Another masterpiece. Brilliantly written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great and chilling book, 7 Feb. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Fatherland (Mass Market Paperback)
if you like to be frightened ... read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enthralling tale - well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful attempt at constructing a Nazis-won scenario, 11 Nov. 2007
By 
Cole Davis (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fatherland (Paperback)
Old plot involving establishment man becoming queasy (cf We, 1984, Gorky Park), but set in a frighteningly likely setting of a successful-ish greater German reich. A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Alternative History Thriller, 21 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Fatherland (Mass Market Paperback)
In Orwell like fashion, Harris brings a victorious post WWII Germany to life. With a plot that keeps you thinking and characters with depth, Harris has written a great novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating, chilling and exciting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fatherland is a wonderful book, 28 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. Craig Henderson (North East, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fatherland (Paperback)
Fatherland by Robert Harris is a great thriller and a tremendous read. I urge you to buy it or borrow it and read it. Fatherland is set in Berlin in the early 1960s under the terrifying supposition that Hitler won the Second World War.
Harris uses his journalistic background brilliantly in order to paint a disturbing picture of Nazi post war Berlin.
The novel starts with a murder and the police investigator and hero Xavier March is a great character in this novel.
March is determined to ruffle feathers and to investigate what happened to the corpse found in the river. The novel is a great thriller and the plot gets under your skin. Will March find out the killer's identity?, why is there is a big conspiracy involving the regime and what happened to certain groups of people who did not fit in with Nazi ideology and society. Zavi March is a cynical and weary character who misses his son and has a hidden disdain for the regime.
There are some authentic and great characters in this novel. It is very readable and gripping stuff.
5 stars-a must read! Take the phone off the hook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious premise but execution lacked excitement., 16 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatherland (Kindle Edition)
This will be an odd review. It took over a month to read this story. I simply was not compelled to confront the 'what happens next' moment. Ultimately, this was an intelligent, albeit drawn out alternative history that served as the background to a good old fashion murder mystery. What it lacked however was the prose to fuel my curiosity - except that I wanted to finish it even though the ending was on the predictable side. I find Mr. Harris rode on the coat tails of a fascinating premise and as a consequence did not feel pressured to grip us on the murder mystery.

What he did do well however was create characters that were memorable. As someone who had put the read down for days at a time, I was able to pick up where I left off without forgetting previous events.

All in all I recommend it because Harris does a brilliant job of placing us in Albert Speers Germany and although Hitler is not a prominent character, the madman's presence is felt throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fatherland, 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatherland (Paperback)
Prompt delivery. Good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 126 27 2837 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fatherland
Fatherland by Robert Harris (Paperback - 6 May 1993)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews