Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enchanting, beautiful book.
This is a collection of short stories and poems, ideal for bedtime. I borrowed it from a friend and am now buying my own copy as I don't want to give hers back. The stories capture exactly how I want my childrens childhoods to be. Gentle, loving and enchanting. The story of how Alfie adopts a stone as his special friend is especially heartwarming. A beautiful book to...
Published on 2 Aug. 2001 by Mr. AJ Davies

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better than some of this series - more and shorter ...
Better than some of this series - more and shorter stories but again too many characters, names. Just NOT interesting!
Published 6 months ago by black cat


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enchanting, beautiful book., 2 Aug. 2001
By 
Mr. AJ Davies (Poole, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Alfie Out Of Doors Storybook (Red Fox Picture Books) (Paperback)
This is a collection of short stories and poems, ideal for bedtime. I borrowed it from a friend and am now buying my own copy as I don't want to give hers back. The stories capture exactly how I want my childrens childhoods to be. Gentle, loving and enchanting. The story of how Alfie adopts a stone as his special friend is especially heartwarming. A beautiful book to be enjoyed by adults and children alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 1 Mar. 2008
This review is from: The Big Alfie Out Of Doors Storybook (Red Fox Picture Books) (Paperback)
I love this book, simple stories full of meaning that your little one will understand, the pictures are wonderful with so much detail. My daughter and I love looking at just the pictures and the book could be enjoyed without any words but of course the words make the it wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightul, 31 July 2003
This review is from: The Big Alfie Out Of Doors Storybook (Red Fox Picture Books) (Paperback)
Brilliant, and proof that "realism" does not have to mean narcotics and joy riders on a council estate. Nice things happen in life as well and Ms Hughes celebrates the everyday in such a delightful way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect story book, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Alfie Out Of Doors Storybook (Red Fox Picture Books) (Paperback)
Bought for a Welsh holiday. Boys (4&2) both loved the tales of the big outdoors. Will buy more in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars which is good! -A few nice stories with a depth of ..., 28 July 2014
By 
Mr. B. Leslie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Alfie Out Of Doors Storybook (Red Fox Picture Books) (Paperback)
Charming little book.
Often times when I read children's books, my mind wanders, whilst I read on auto-pilot - the end effect being not a very engaging experience for child. I seem to be more switched on when reading this, which is good!

-A few nice stories with a depth of emotion, my bright 4 y/o girl enjoys, and some poetry in there too.

-Nice art work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely stories, lovely illustrations, 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought when new grandson arrived (guess his name) because I had always loved reading these stories when my kids were little. Beautifully written and illustrated, it has been a joy to revisit the stories, as fresh and delightful as they were all those years ago. Can't wait for my Alfie to be old enough to love them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Bedtime Book, 30 Jan. 2009
By 
T. Langan (Stafford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Alfie Out Of Doors Storybook (Red Fox Picture Books) (Paperback)
This beautifully written and illustrated book is asked for again and again by my three year old twins. They adore all of the stories and it's definitely sparked their imaginations, whether it's setting up camp with a pretend tent in the living room or calling their pretend shop 'Lewis Burrows and Company'like Alfie's in the book. I'd highly recommend this book to parents wanting to read a gentle bedtime story to their children -you'll enjoy it as much as they will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 1 Jan. 2010
By 
Mrs. E. C. Newcomb "Elaine" (Derbyshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Alfie Out Of Doors Storybook (Red Fox Picture Books) (Paperback)
Poppy loves this book. It is so nice. No nasty stuff just lovely stories and pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for encouraging imaginative play for those lucky enough to ..., 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Alfie Out Of Doors Storybook (Red Fox Picture Books) (Paperback)
Gorgeous stories and illustrations.Perfect for encouraging imaginative play for those lucky enough to have outside space.Good use of new language for children to learn.Cannot fault any of the Alfie story books.CRolynKillingley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for a 5 year old boy & his big sisters (up to 11 years!!), 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a lovely set of stories, which all my children enjoy. Delightful characters and situations of everyday life. The book was used, but it very good condition as described by the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Alfie Out Of Doors Storybook (Red Fox Picture Books)
The Big Alfie Out Of Doors Storybook (Red Fox Picture Books) by Shirley Hughes (Paperback - 2 Jun. 1994)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews