Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars21
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2006
As a Scotsman who has been brought up in a family with Masonic connections, I wished to read this book as a means to develop more of an understanding of the Craft. I was not disapponted - as my review title suggests, the introduction had me hooked - the author's travels to the rugged Argyll area and his discoveries there had me slavering for more (and had me visiting the very area only a few days later). This was the personal hook that reeled me in for the remainder of this fascinating story.

As with "Holy Blood, Holy Grail", it appears that certain "convenient" connections are made, making the reader more than a little bit sceptical at the truth of the story. However, I would be willing to wager that a substantial proportion of the research is close to the mark.

From the Temple of Solomon through to WW2, you can make your own mind up as to how influential the hermetic societies are upon reading this book.

For anyone interested in the roots of the Masonic Craft, I would recommend this highly, as I am quite sure the Grand Lodge of Scotland has done also.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2001
This is the first book written by a non Freemason that examines historical routes of freemasonry without politcal or biased opinions. It is factual and well researched examining the Templars arrival in Scotland and Ireland and possible reasons through to modern day America via the civil war and the Anglo French conflicts to other theatres of war. Well worth buying and reading a good inclusionin any Masonic library.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2001
This is the first book that I have read on the subject of Freemasonary and its history. I did enjoy the book and I did find it informative. However, it did get somewhat tedious in places. I felt that the book lacked in terms of balance, in some sections names and references are just reeled of, with nothing to interest the reader or captivate the imagination!
All in all not a bad book, I did come away learning something on the subject. To sum up informative, but, a little tedious in places.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2003
This book is far more accurate than it is inaccurate. It looks hard to find the truth of the history of Freemasonry, and I think the tentative conclusion that can be drawn from reading it is that the Craft does more good than harm in the World, but at times Masons have been badly divided among themselves and very heavily politically motivated.
Essentially the authors argue that Modern Freemasonry was held in trust by the Sinclair family in Scotland for generations. That Scotland became the home of Freemasonry because the Scotland of Celtic orientated Robert the Bruce was a safe haven for Templars at the time of the dissolution of the Order. They further argue that Freemasonry played a major role in the development of a World Wide Civil rights movement and was a major force in the shaping of the political structure of the Modern USA. It is not a bad thesis, with easily as much in it to make Mason's proud than ashamed.
I am writing this article to give the book a good rating because I amm somewhat ashamed of fellow Mason's bad-mouthing the efforts of people to elucidate Masonic History while English Grand Lodge insists Freemasonry started in 1717, if not 1770. This stance, and Masonic reviewers at this site, are making the Craft a laughing stock.
Baigent and Leigh should be praised for their efforts, and if Craft members think what they have done is not good enough then they should do better themselves - and if you do - be honest!!
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2016
I have only just started reading this book and am impressed by the first few chapters.
My own research on the subject throws a new light on the subject, however. In several decades of research into the ley line system (lines of sacred sites across the country) I have discovered an important and incontroversial truth - that the Freemasons, unknown to the lower orders have been using these natural energies and are still using them to this day. Volcanic plugs, like Stirling Castle and Edinburgh Castle rocks spray out energies like the spokes of a bicycle wheel, and sacred sites were built between these.
EVERY capital city in the USA has been built on a double cross system of energy lines with the energy emitted from extinct volcanoes on the Azores, Bermuda and Galapagos.
Edinburgh's three main streets are in a line between three volcanic plugs, with the paths on the all-seeing eye of St. Andrews Square lining up with no less than FIVE volcanic plugs (see illustration). The capital cities of the UK are in the form of a perfect right-angled triangle with Scotland's parliament carefully placed between two.
The Federal right-angled Triangle's Pennsylvannia Avenue is on a line between an extinct volcano on the Azores and two powerful volcanic plugs, with the Capitol and the White House on that line, ending with the setting Sun in mid August and further on to a right-angled triangle of stars.
The powerful Fingal's Cave on the volcanic island of Staffa emits a powerful energy ley beating against the extinct volcano of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria with no less than Iona abbey in between.
The only sensible explanation for this is to subtly control the minds of the populations in these countries, even to this day, hopefully for their benefit.
See my website leylines.webplus.net
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
This book is typical of Baigent's work; badly referenced, badly written and not very factual. There is no evidence what so ever for the medieval Knight Templar order surviving to establish Freemasonry, and the book is speculative at best.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
The Grail is buried in a cave under Alderley Edge, Cheshire.
"The Dark Men od Biddulph Moor", tells the true story.
The Dark Men Of Biddulph Moor (illustrated)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
I should have read this years ago; no-nonsense exposition of known history, skilfully separating fact from myth. Sad indeed that Bro Baigent is no longer with us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
This book is very informative and of great use to thos studying The Knights Templar, but as a entertaining read I found it a bit heavy going.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
You'll need this book if you want to understand how [some] of it comes together, fantastic, I love the Scottish specifics’ …………. 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)