Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
27
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 30 September 2008
I recently bought this book to add to my classroom library with a view to looking at the effects of the Second World War on children. Although year 6 children usually consider themselves 'above' picture books; this (along with the equally beautiful Rose Blanche) has to be an exception. this is not a picture book for young children - it is that rare thing; a picture book aimed at 9 year olds and above. (Children younger than that would find the content disturbing and hard to understand.)

The illustrations, typical of Shirley Hughes, are wonderful; and the story line is great, helping to clarify the children's insight into life during the Second World War. The child's emotions are captured well, and the story is very well written. I shall be using it to begin our mini unit on evacuation, and I'm sure it will help the children to understand better what life was like then.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2002
A children's picture/story book suitable for all juniors. The book can easily lead into discussion with older children and be a 'story with a happy ending for the little boy' with younger ones.Ideal for study of evacuation during WWII (KS2) - not too long, a 'quick read' out loud. Contrasts in lifestyle/emotions/friendship/bullying are all issues raised. Wonderfully believable characters and delightfully evocative illustrations.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2005
A moving story about a boy who's been evacuated and misses his Mum. The book was really helpful for people studying WWII. It has excellent pictures for young children, that are very detailed and have a magical feel. It shows how evacuees felt in the WWII.
Its a favourite with young children and older children will really relate to it. I think it would be good for people/teachers who want to talk about bullying and many other different issues.
The book is generally the right length but I would suggest reading it in two sittings. Few sentencecs on each page mean that younger children would also enjoy it.
Overall, it is a decent book for a variety of ages.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2009
My 9 year old daughter studied this book at school. She enjoyed it so much that she asked for it for her birthday. Since then she has read it from cover to cover and studies the illustrations as she says they are so real. A fabulous story telling of the evacuation to the country of a London Jewish boy and how a returned soldier befriends him. It is very simple and beautiful and makes the War time come to life for children.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
The concepts, illustrations and historical research within this book are well thought through. One could place themselves in the role of each of the characters and simply see the story for what it is... A timeless explanation of familial relationships, experiences and solutions. Readers should however be aware that the text may require them to provide additional discussion for the younger reader as the content could be misinterpted. Overall, I recommend the book as an excellent educational resource that has the aptitude to be used to explain a wide range of subject matter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2009
This is a really brilliant book to use with children of primary school aged. I am using this story for our World War 2 topic - whereby children look at a historical setting. It is really good for children to compare their lives with lives of children during WW2. The images are really effective.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
This is a really lovely book, with some great illustrations. I'm a teacher and have purchased it to read to my class. It's such a nice story with lots of deduction and inference needed from the children to read a little more into the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
My 5 year old son is interested in WWII and this book was ideal. The book is about a child being evacuated from London to the countryside and the loneliness he experiences being apart from his mother and his father who is away in the army. Great illustrations too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2010
the story is easily accessible for all children, illustrations are beautiful and the content provides lots of chances for discussion with upper key stage 2 children. we used the book as a stimulus for Philosophy for kids and it was very successful and led to some in-depth discussion. It's useful if there is a story synopsis and intended audience age when looking to purchase; I bought this book simply because of subject matter and knowledgeof the author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2010
I am a primary school teacher, teaching a Year 6 class. I've been aware of this book for a long time but thought it was written for younger children. We're studying WW2 at the moment and I have used this book in guided reading lessons. The children have really enjoyed it. There are many issues which are appropriate to Year 6 children at all levels and it has proved to be very popular.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.