Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An amazing picture book for those studying children in the war
I recently bought this book to add to my classroom library with a view to looking at the effects of the Second World War on children. Although year 6 children usually consider themselves 'above' picture books; this (along with the equally beautiful Rose Blanche) has to be an exception. this is not a picture book for young children - it is that rare thing; a picture book...
Published on 30 Sep 2008 by E. Heckingbottom

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read for younger children
A moving story about a boy who's been evacuated and misses his Mum. The book was really helpful for people studying WWII. It has excellent pictures for young children, that are very detailed and have a magical feel. It shows how evacuees felt in the WWII.
Its a favourite with young children and older children will really relate to it. I think it would be good for...
Published on 16 Jun 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An amazing picture book for those studying children in the war, 30 Sep 2008
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion and the Unicorn (Paperback)
I recently bought this book to add to my classroom library with a view to looking at the effects of the Second World War on children. Although year 6 children usually consider themselves 'above' picture books; this (along with the equally beautiful Rose Blanche) has to be an exception. this is not a picture book for young children - it is that rare thing; a picture book aimed at 9 year olds and above. (Children younger than that would find the content disturbing and hard to understand.)

The illustrations, typical of Shirley Hughes, are wonderful; and the story line is great, helping to clarify the children's insight into life during the Second World War. The child's emotions are captured well, and the story is very well written. I shall be using it to begin our mini unit on evacuation, and I'm sure it will help the children to understand better what life was like then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shirley Hughes - as good as ever1, 10 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lion and the Unicorn (Paperback)
A children's picture/story book suitable for all juniors. The book can easily lead into discussion with older children and be a 'story with a happy ending for the little boy' with younger ones.Ideal for study of evacuation during WWII (KS2) - not too long, a 'quick read' out loud. Contrasts in lifestyle/emotions/friendship/bullying are all issues raised. Wonderfully believable characters and delightfully evocative illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read for kids of varying ages, 4 Jan 2010
By 
J. M. Reurslag-McIntyre "Joanne" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lion and the Unicorn (Paperback)
This is a beautifully illustrated book which I bought for my 8 year old son. It touches on a range of subjects that remain important for kids of many ages; being the odd one out at school, missing family, and above all the inner strength and braveness inside us all. It also touched on the human tragedy of war without being overly gruesome, which I felt was important as my son loves playing at being a soldier etc and this helped him to see war from a different and more serious perspective. We have had several interesting talks about these and other themes which arise in the book, and I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Sep 2009
By 
Cilla Black "Cilla" (West Midlands, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lion and the Unicorn (Paperback)
This is a really brilliant book to use with children of primary school aged. I am using this story for our World War 2 topic - whereby children look at a historical setting. It is really good for children to compare their lives with lives of children during WW2. The images are really effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read for younger children, 16 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lion and the Unicorn (Paperback)
A moving story about a boy who's been evacuated and misses his Mum. The book was really helpful for people studying WWII. It has excellent pictures for young children, that are very detailed and have a magical feel. It shows how evacuees felt in the WWII.
Its a favourite with young children and older children will really relate to it. I think it would be good for people/teachers who want to talk about bullying and many other different issues.
The book is generally the right length but I would suggest reading it in two sittings. Few sentencecs on each page mean that younger children would also enjoy it.
Overall, it is a decent book for a variety of ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 13 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Lion and the Unicorn (Paperback)
My 9 year old daughter studied this book at school. She enjoyed it so much that she asked for it for her birthday. Since then she has read it from cover to cover and studies the illustrations as she says they are so real. A fabulous story telling of the evacuation to the country of a London Jewish boy and how a returned soldier befriends him. It is very simple and beautiful and makes the War time come to life for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars resources for teaching about world war 2, 23 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion and the Unicorn (Paperback)
the story is easily accessible for all children, illustrations are beautiful and the content provides lots of chances for discussion with upper key stage 2 children. we used the book as a stimulus for Philosophy for kids and it was very successful and led to some in-depth discussion. It's useful if there is a story synopsis and intended audience age when looking to purchase; I bought this book simply because of subject matter and knowledgeof the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 15 Nov 2010
By 
Mrs. Michelle Chippendale (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion and the Unicorn (Paperback)
An excellent story, my year three chn loved it. I used this story and others for the complete unit of stories with historical settings. Lots of resources and activities from it. A very moving story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story, 23 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion and the Unicorn (Paperback)
I am a primary school teacher, teaching a Year 6 class. I've been aware of this book for a long time but thought it was written for younger children. We're studying WW2 at the moment and I have used this book in guided reading lessons. The children have really enjoyed it. There are many issues which are appropriate to Year 6 children at all levels and it has proved to be very popular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lion and the Unicorn, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion and the Unicorn (Paperback)
This is a really lovely book, with some great illustrations. I'm a teacher and have purchased it to read to my class. It's such a nice story with lots of deduction and inference needed from the children to read a little more into the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb411e1ec)

This product

The Lion and the Unicorn
The Lion and the Unicorn by Shirley Hughes (Paperback - 7 Sep 2000)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews