Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shriley Hughes - Best Childrens Writer, 7 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: An Evening At Alfie's (Paperback)
As with all books written by Shirley Hughes, this is an excellent book which my 3 year old son really enjoys having read to him time and time and time again and so does dad.

We have all the Alfie, Annie Rose and Olly & Me books and can't recommend them highly enough. Shirley Hughes's writing is funny, endearing with recognisable stories. Her wonderful illustrations are little pieces of art, each and everyone. Nobody can depict the essence of young children the way they are, like Shirley Hughes.

Shirley Hughes's Nursery collection is excellent for under 3 age group.

I would also like to recommend the Katie books (Sunflowers, Mona Lisa & the Impressionists)by James Mayhew. Because of these books my 3 year old son loves going to art galleries to see the actual pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As always, a lovely book., 26 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: An Evening At Alfie's (Paperback)
My daughter (aged 3)loves all the Alfie stories, and is particularly taken with all "drip" and "splash" sound effects in this one. Any Alfie fan will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cleverly written picture book, 23 Feb 2010
By 
April Slocombe (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Evening At Alfie's (Paperback)
I bought this book to add to my Shirley Hughes collection and this is one of the best stories she's ever written and illustated. I like the way things are linked in this book (i.e. the evening in winter, the story of Noah's ark, the burst pipe and Annie Rose crying). Not only does this book have a basic plot (Maureen and her parents dealing with the burst pipe) but it also has a sub-plot (Alfie trying to work out why Annie Rose is crying). This is a must-have book for any Shirley Hughes fan. 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 1 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. E. C. Newcomb "Elaine" (Derbyshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Evening At Alfie's (Paperback)
Shirley Hughes is another lady I highly recommend. This is certainly one of her best ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Evening At Alfie's (Paperback)
My daughters love this book as did I when I was younger. Our friends little girl loved it when they came to stay so we brought them a copy. My eldest daughter now can read it to her little sister and they love the beautiful pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alfie book, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Evening At Alfie's (Paperback)
I have purchased the Shirley Hughes books for many years and particulary love the Alfie series as it reminds me so much of my grandson. He loves them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Evening At Alfie's (Paperback)
This is my 2year olds most loved ok. It is really lovely, very relaxing and enjoyable. Ideal for bed time reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good one, Alfie!, 20 Nov 2011
This review is from: An Evening At Alfie's (Paperback)
A lovely story for children and for the adults reading it to the children. Illustrations contribute well to the story without being too obvious. Suitable for a wide age range from quite young to at least 8 or 9 when they can read it themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Evening at Alfie's, 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: An Evening At Alfie's (Paperback)
This is a lovely book to read to young children. The size enables the reader to display Shirley Hughes' wonderful illustrations and the story can be used to generate simple discussion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
By 
Ms. L. P. Williams (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Evening At Alfie's (Paperback)
GREAT BOOKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Evening At Alfie's
An Evening At Alfie's by Shirley Hughes (Paperback - 5 Aug 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews