Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unique and groundbreaking
This is a remarkable piece of work and it is rather bleak in its implications. Barthes so often touches on the inexplicable and for many his writings are paradoxical and sometimes unapproachable. The key so often is understanding that he stands at a kind of pinnacle of polemics of the last century and many of those philosophical polemics are teasingly obtuse for the great...
Published on 24 Nov 2009 by inch worm

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars camera lucida
neeeded for uni course, quite a heavy read and bit tough to get your head around at first but with 2 or 3 reads starts to become easier to undersatnd.
Published on 9 Feb 2011 by Gem


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unique and groundbreaking, 24 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Camera Lucida: Reflections on Photography (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
This is a remarkable piece of work and it is rather bleak in its implications. Barthes so often touches on the inexplicable and for many his writings are paradoxical and sometimes unapproachable. The key so often is understanding that he stands at a kind of pinnacle of polemics of the last century and many of those philosophical polemics are teasingly obtuse for the great majority of us who have come through mainstream and hopelessly over rational educations. That is not to suggest that Barthes is irrational but that he bravely ventures where many fear to tread in order to question myths that humankind takes as read.

This particular essay ventures into the debate of the death of painting that has been raging since the invention of the camera. Whilst he is not so obvious as to suggest that this is the essence of the debate he defines by implication why the photo can never replace painting. The photo unequivocally represents what it represents. And what it represents is death.That is its bleakness.It always represents the past.There is always something rather spooky about photography for this reason because it allows the return of the dead through realistic and yet at the same time spectral visual evidence i.e.not representation.

It is all too easy to be negatively critical about such a work because it is by no means easy to get a handle on it in one reading but that of course is its strength. There is much that this work could be said to embrace not least the aforesaid debate regarding the death of painting, but in addition the artificial ways in which history is constructed as well as the deconstruction of human myths.

Mythologies (Vintage Classics)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for the intellectual photographer, 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: Camera Lucida: Reflections on Photography (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
If you're into photography, and more than "guy with camera" status, this is a must read. Barthes comments and questions what it means to be a photographer and the outcomes; photographs. Very interesting. This is not a book on how to take a photograph, or even a concise history of the art form. So don't buy it if you want to improve your skill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very French philosophy, 28 May 2011
By 
D. Ayres - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camera Lucida: Reflections on Photography (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
On first reading this book I was drawn to recall the Fawlty Towers episode where the medallion man says "Pretentious, moi?" and I wondered how you would translate that into French. On reflection I think I was a little harsh, there is some deep thought in the book on what photography means. It is just the French way of expression can sound pretentious to English ears.

I will re-read it slowly, with a good dictionary by my side, and cut through the style to get at the basic ideas. I think Barthes does have valid points to make. Photography surrounds us and is taken too much for granted with little thought. For example a video (or music) is embedded in time and you have to follow the creators time frame. Photography on the other hand is outside time, you can look at a photograph in the way you choose for as long as you want, in the same way as a painting. On the other hand photography is an aspect of a moment of reality which existed in the past, unlike a painting which is an artists interpretation of something he saw, imagined or felt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camera Lucida: Reflections on Photography (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
This a great text. Philosophy isn't always this concise and coherent to read. It is a little dated in some of the points it makes, but in the age of social networking I find it humbling to interpret our obsession with the still image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an essential for any student of the photographic., 7 Jan 2013
By 
Thomas (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Camera Lucida: Reflections on Photography (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
this book is at the very core of photographic theory and should be one of the first points of reference for a wide variety of photographic discourses and theoretical standpoints.
it is not an easy read but is very passionately written with a heavy emphasis on 'the photograph by onlooker' rather than what a photographic may think of their own photograph.
if i had to say one thing against this book would be that when Barthes was writing there was a huge void between 'professional' and 'amateur' photography which he draws on throughout, this of course has been smashed quite impressively by the influx of the digital era, but as he wrote htis in the 1970's/80's this was not the case.

even so, this is a must read for all who have an interest in the social and theoretical implications of the photograph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic in the Theory of Photography., 19 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Camera Lucida: Reflections on Photography (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Barthes wrote this book out of urge to discover the real nature of Photography. In the first part of the book he establishes his own system to do that. This system is based on two "cathegories" that Photography contains, studium and punctum. In the second part he wants to come closer to eidos, the nature of Photography. Therefor he takes one of his photographies, showing his mother as a child. Out of his emotions by this photography he builds the theory, often comparing it with another art, Film and sometimes also with Theatre. The book can also be recomended to wider public, not only philosophers, because it is written in a simple, understandable way, but is still opening some major questions regarding its subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camera Lucida: Reflections on Photography (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
A must read book (for photgrapers obvioulsy but not only).
Loved every page, Barthes is an absolute genius. Give it a try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Santa, 19 Jan 2014
This review is from: Camera Lucida: Reflections on Photography (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
My flat mate brought me this as secret Santa it's a really good read I read it on the train home for Christmas if you are studying a photography read this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camera Lucida: Reflections on Photography (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
bought for my husband who is at present studying for a honors degree and needs this for his studies online
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Photography Student Reading, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camera Lucida: Reflections on Photography (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
I bought this in first year of my photography degree because it had been mentioned many times by tutors. Now I am in my third year and still refer to it all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Camera Lucida: Reflections on Photography (Vintage Classics)
Camera Lucida: Reflections on Photography (Vintage Classics) by Roland Barthes (Paperback - 15 July 1993)
5.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews