Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A working class man reaches the dizzy heights of stardom
Written in a language that anyone can understand. Michael Caine dispels the untruths that have been written about him. He lays on the line his heart felt life story from his acting "debut" at the age of three right up to the the "discovery" of his half brother David. It will leave the reader laughing out loud and at times holding back the tears. His account spans an era...
Published on 5 Oct. 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Came by snail mail
Book fine but came after it was required for a Father's Day present. I will have to keep it for a Xmas present now. It was supposed to be in stock and it was only after I'd finished with the order that it was shown as coming after it was required. Very disappointed as this is the first time this has happened on Amazon.
Published on 7 Aug. 2011 by superpamuk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Caine, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved reading Michael's autobiography (his life). Once I started I just couldn't
stop reading his life story. His humble beginning from the Elephant and Castle,
to great success which has been recognised throughout his film career. Michael escaped the poverty that surrounded his upbringing. I was impressed
by his devoted and caring parents who worked hard. Michael had many times
over rewarded his mother which was greatly deserved.
Read this book, Michael Caine is a brilliant actor and is a legend of all times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great way to get to know the man not the film star,Im a big Zulu fan and Michael Cain along side Stanley Baker were so good, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
shows you what a star like him had to go through to make it.Just shows in life you get out what you put in,with a chunk of luck to of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I was disapointed all he talked about was my great friends naming names all the time, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's It All About? (Paperback)
I was disapointed all he talked about was my great friends naming names all the time, it started off not bad but I got bored very quickly,a shame as we both come from the Elephant & I used to see him now & again, stick to films your very good at that & leave the writing alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 30 Oct. 2011
This review is from: What's It All About? (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this autobiography and agree with the other favourable reviews. I usually have difficulty completing long books but not this one, a great read from start to finish. Recommended to anyone who has seen and enjoyed any Michael Caine film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just great!, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's It All About? (Paperback)
although this was no whodunnit mystery,you just couldnt leave it.
i suggest it to all movie goers.
Michael Caine is undoubtedly one of the most interesting ,and talented actors and this book proves he is a talented story teller as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loving this book!, 21 Jan. 2011
This review is from: What's It All About? (Paperback)
Laugh out loud funny with superb annecdotes of people as diverse as prince Phillip to Charles Manson.
Caine writes with self deprecating humour that endears like no book I've read in years. Love it! Love it! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 15 Feb. 2011
This review is from: What's It All About? (Paperback)
There is no side to this man, he tells it how it is and he is brilliant with it.It was funny and sad but both completely in context (even the swear words!!!).
One of the best biographys I have read in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, very funny., 3 Dec. 2010
This review is from: What's It All About? (Paperback)
My husband and I had already read this book and bought a second for a relation. Would highly recommend that you read this. You can't put it down until you have read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 1 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's It All About? (Paperback)
Caine's autobiography is very funny and a very quick read! Out of all his books, this is my favourite. Good if you're looking for something light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 25 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book .well written and it was lovely to see how someone from a poor background could
make it to the top .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What's It All About?
What's It All About? by Michael Caine (Paperback - 1 July 1993)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews