Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the kids, two and five, were laughing their heads off.
Mrs. Hargraves baby wouldn't eat and was growing quite weak until it was suggested by one of the children that they try some avocado pear. Like Popeye and spinach the results are miraculous. Nothing better than when the bullies end up in the park pond. My two and five year old laugh hysterically---even better I could read it again and again.
Published on 4 Sep 2000

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slightly old fashioned, but a good story
We have enjoyed this book, despite the slightly old fashioned language and drawings. The storyline is good though. I would recommend it for anyone struggling with feeding their kids.
Published on 21 Sep 2011 by Katherine Riach


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the kids, two and five, were laughing their heads off., 4 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Avocado Baby (Red Fox Picture Books) (Paperback)
Mrs. Hargraves baby wouldn't eat and was growing quite weak until it was suggested by one of the children that they try some avocado pear. Like Popeye and spinach the results are miraculous. Nothing better than when the bullies end up in the park pond. My two and five year old laugh hysterically---even better I could read it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best children's books EVER., 10 Jan 2001
By A Customer
At the age of 21 with no children, I still had to buy this book! It had me laughing out loud, and I believe it will go on to be a classic like "The Very Hungry Caterpillar". I'm training as a teacher of 3 to 8 year olds next year, and I think this book will be very handy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Ever, 15 Aug 2001
By A Customer
We read this to our 4 year-old and he's still asking for it at age 9! A delightful & memorable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Avocado Baby, 27 April 2008
By 
J. A. Parker (Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avocado Baby (Red Fox Picture Books) (Paperback)
This is just a fantastic book! I remember reading it when I was a little girl and now find myself reading it to the children in my class. A great book to encourage healthy eating - and also as a bit of fun for the children (and you!) Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, buy the Avocado Baby, 8 Dec 2006
By 
My mum would read this book to me when I was very little and I loved it so much. I also really loved avocados :) It's funny, beautifully illustrated and little kids will love it. If there's a larger version available then I would get that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my top 5 books for kids ever, 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avocado Baby (Red Fox Picture Books) (Paperback)
All John Burningham's books are great, but there is something about this that is really special. The illustrations are gorgeous, capturing the expression of a sturdy little baby perfectly. There is something deliciously funny about this baby, and lovely moments where both bullies and burglars get their comeuppance at the hands of Avocado Baby. It is the perfect length for a bedtime story. It is also a good gift for older siblings with a new baby in the family. If you enjoy this then read some more of Burningham's books. He is a genius. We also love Courtney and of course Mr Gumpy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 12 Nov 2010
By 
Ms. D. Nichols "D Giggles" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avocado Baby (Red Fox Picture Books) (Paperback)
I purchased this book for a school project for my 7 year old son. He loves the story, as does my 4 year old daughter.
Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 21 April 2010
By 
Ac Ribbon-miles (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avocado Baby (Red Fox Picture Books) (Paperback)
This was my sister's favourite book when we were children and so when I realised it was still available I had to get a copy for my little girl. It didn't disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fussy eaters!, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avocado Baby (Red Fox Picture Books) (Paperback)
Super little book to encourage any parents, probably most parents, with a child who is difficult to feed. You are not alone!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So pleased this is still available, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avocado Baby (Red Fox Picture Books) (Paperback)
Avocado Baby is one of our all time favorites! with nieces and nephews coming along now we wanted to share John Burningham stories with them and found Avocado Baby was still available. This story is so funny. Thank you for keeping this book available!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Avocado Baby (Red Fox Picture Books)
Avocado Baby (Red Fox Picture Books) by John Burningham (Paperback - 16 Jun 1994)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews