Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read
I picked this up when I was on the last day of a summer Holiday and finished it a few hours later. I just kept turning the page again and again.
I would recommend this to any one interested in conspiracy theory thrillers.
The last hundred pages or so, aren't the best, but they're not bad. I just felt that the ending was a little bit rushed.
See...
Published on 8 Feb 2006 by Cath

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This reveiw contains NO SPOILERS!! Honest.
I am turning into quite a big fan of theologically based thrillers (thank you Dan Brown), and the plot of The Genesis Code seemed right up my street.
The book is around 40 chapters long and the first 34 are superb, on a par at least with that of Dan Brown's Angels & Demons, or The Da Vinci Code. The book has such a superbly written sinister feel to it; to compare it...
Published on 7 Jan 2004 by d m may


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read, 8 Feb 2006
I picked this up when I was on the last day of a summer Holiday and finished it a few hours later. I just kept turning the page again and again.
I would recommend this to any one interested in conspiracy theory thrillers.
The last hundred pages or so, aren't the best, but they're not bad. I just felt that the ending was a little bit rushed.
See if you can guess the ending. I didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This reveiw contains NO SPOILERS!! Honest., 7 Jan 2004
By 
d m may (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Genesis Code (Paperback)
I am turning into quite a big fan of theologically based thrillers (thank you Dan Brown), and the plot of The Genesis Code seemed right up my street.
The book is around 40 chapters long and the first 34 are superb, on a par at least with that of Dan Brown's Angels & Demons, or The Da Vinci Code. The book has such a superbly written sinister feel to it; to compare it to a film it would be Se7en.
Joe Lassiter is the hero of the book, a likeable man who sometimes seems out of his depth, but displays great resourcefulness. He is a Private Investigator and his sister and nephew have been savagely murdered for no apparent reason. Perfect. What happens for the next 34 chapters is gripping stuff: dark and sinister goings on, and the unwrapping of some grisly and corrupt shenanigans. That's all I'm saying...
The last couple of chapters go off the boil a bit - the book loses the sinister feel and becomes a bit of a critique of the tabloid media (!). At the final couple of scenes it picks up again, though.
The thing that let The Genesis Code down is the ending: it's all wrapped up just a little too neatly. It is a good ending, no question: a neat little twist happens, and the story plays out very smoothly. However, this is in contrast to the savagery of the first 34 chapters; like I said earlier, it goes off the boil a bit.
Overall the book is believable, some say a little far-fetched (which is fair), there are enough loose ends which finish the book with a touch of suspense, although perhaps Case does not explore these enough? There is only ONE BIT which disappointed me, though (and again, no spoilers here): Lassiter is given *something* very integral to the solution to the story half way through, and he keeps on "forgetting" about it until the last scene. You'll know what I mean if/when you read it.
Which I hope you do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thriller as it should be: a page turner for 500 pages, 11 Aug 2006
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Wow, what a book! I could not put it down. This is a real page turner. The plot is excellent, one is drawn into the story with page one. The characters are well created and the whole plot develops in a fascinating, fast-moving way. Religion and medical development - a great theme as a background. The religious dimension is not as strong as in more recent thrillers but I found this more appealing. This is a real thriller and no pseudo-religious book.

It was a real pleasure reading it!!! Till the very last the tension is kept.

The authors - John Case is just a nom de plume (and an awful one one might add) - have written an amazing book which I can only recommended.

One last comment: why does every thriller have to be compared and judged by the Da Vinci Code? There is no need for this and the Da Vinci Code - as good as it is - is not the ultimate reference. These authors can easily hold their own among the major writers of thrillers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read, Read...READ!!!, 16 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Genesis Code (Paperback)
This book demands your total and undivided attention from the first page. The Genesis Code snakes its way through the physical, the metaphysical and the increasing eventuality of the possible.
In his novel, John Case challenges not only the very soul of Christianity but also the essence of the origins of the human race, and how science has unlocked it's ancient secrets. The main character, Lassister a high-flying Private Eye, tasks himself to find the killer of his sister and her young nephew.
His journey takes him from his descreet contacts in Washington to a dark and ominous sect in Europe. All over the world people, women and children, are being murdered - but for what reason? A confession in a remote Italian village church ignites a fire of controversy that has the potential of turning what we commonly accept into ashes. Fast behind are people willing to do anything to put the fire firmly out.
The Genesis Code is one BIG andrenlin rush and I advise anyone with a strong constitution to read it...before it's too late! M E Murphy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the genesis code by john case, 15 Dec 2004
By 
This review is from: The Genesis Code (Paperback)
This book is one of the best if not the best book I have read for a long time, it's one of those you just can't put down and if you do can't wait to pick it back up again! I loved this book from the beginning to the end, it's cleverly written with an original plot and detail.
I take my hat off to the author and thank him for a wonderful and thought provoking book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'The Genesis Code' John Case., 12 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Genesis Code (Paperback)
This is an excellent, thought provoking thriller which challenges many current scientific trends. The advance of genetic engineering, fertility treatments and experimental cloning has been accelerated in recent years, and Case does not seem comfortable with this progress.
There are also questions raised about the Catholic church and it's reliance upon relics and 'miracles' as a main focus. Despite this, and the consistent dark tone of the narrative, the book reaches a very satisfactory and hopeful conclusion. I read this book by chance, but I am now a dedicated follower of his novels. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, original idea for a book, 7 May 2002
This review is from: The Genesis Code (Paperback)
A brilliant fertility specialist is murdered in Italy, and so 1 by 1 are his patients, but why?
A P.I. sets out to discover why his sister was one such victim, and why the deaths were so brutal.
One of the best openings to a book i've read for a while, during a confession a Priest is given a secret so vital he travels to Rome and awaits an audience with one of the most senior clergy, panic and worry written on his face, how will the church deal with it.
The strength of the book is it's originality in dealing with the Catholic Church and the developments of science, in this case biology and the thought that....maybe, possibly this might actually happen!
The weakness is the super-human escapades of the central character for the latter half of the story and the introduction of a superstar actress on the run, which just didn't ring true.
Overall I would recommend, it's a story with originality, with a little twist at the end which will make you smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing adventure, 11 Aug 2005
This review is from: The Genesis Code (Paperback)
Well written and engaging, this religious-cum-murder-cum-detective mystery is intriguing and compulsive right up until the last few pages, when it unfortunately becomes rather rushed and obvious. Which is a disappointment really, and hence why it only gets 4 stars. Still worth a read, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 24 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Genesis Code (Paperback)
This book is an amazing story from a first time novelist. The gripping start keeps you hooked right from page one. The twists and turns in the pot keep you guessing the secret right up to the end of a book. I regularly found myself up half the night as I kept wanting to read more. Try it - Youll like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what if...?, 7 Sep 2004
By 
hawaii_bear (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Genesis Code (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed this John Case novel. In fact I read 200 pages in one go because I couldn't put it down!
The character is a bit of a 'superman' but that doesnt take anything away from awesome storyline.
If it was read a few years ago you would have dismissed it as 'unrealistic' but with technology the way it is, you find yourself asking 'what if'? hmmmm..?
Have ordered other JC novels...will let you know if they are as good as The Genesis Code'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Genesis Code
The Genesis Code by John Case (Paperback - 6 Aug 1998)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews