Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Window
What a versatile book, one which the primary bookshelf should not be without. The life story of a boy is told through the view through his window and follows the changes to his surroundings. Having no text the book is accessible to all age groups and abilities, offering plenty of scope for discussion and inspiration in literacy, PHSE, geography and art work.
The...
Published on 4 Jan. 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fab
My daughter age six and I have had so much out of this book seeing how the world around us changes over time.
Published 10 months ago by samantha storer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Window, 4 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Window Big Book (Paperback)
What a versatile book, one which the primary bookshelf should not be without. The life story of a boy is told through the view through his window and follows the changes to his surroundings. Having no text the book is accessible to all age groups and abilities, offering plenty of scope for discussion and inspiration in literacy, PHSE, geography and art work.
The pictures are interesting in their media as well as content and they almost leap out of the page at you!! Everytime I 'read' this book I am astounded at the number of new things which I discover in the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Window by Jeannie Baker, 17 Sept. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Window (Paperback)
This is a superb book! The illustrations are based on collage and show the view from a bedroom window changing as the room's occupant grows up. Each illustration has many features which can be discussed with a wide age range, starting with very young children through to much older - 11 year olds or beyond. The pages are linked using birthday cards and other features. Outside the window, the environment is gradually spoilt by progress. Despite the fact that there are no words, strong emotions are involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely delightful book!, 11 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Window (Red Fox picture books) (Paperback)
This book was a delight; no words, just pictures, but they say it all! As you progress through the beautifully illustrated pages, you are treated to a rare glimpse of the same view from one window over a period of more than twenty years. The changes that you witness hit you right in the heart! This book appeals to children, teenagers, and adults alike. It is an excellent discussion point, and I have used it as a classroom resource as well as a book for my own pleasure. A beautiful book with a truly poignant message!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Resource & a lovely book..., 31 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Window (Big Book) (Paperback)
I bought this book to use in Geography lessons with my KS2 Y6 (10/11 year old) classes. They loved the illustrations and the amount of oral work it inspired was tremendous. We were looking at change over time and it sparked a lot of discussion about what has happened in their world in their lifetime - just wait until they have been around as long as me. I loved the book and will probably buy others in the series and, if necessary, invent lessons to use then in...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book., 15 Nov. 2011
By 
E. Paterson (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Window (Paperback)
I was really surprised by my classes reaction to this book. They loved it and really had strong opinions about the changes that took place. Really good for humanities in for Year 2-6 and discussing how places change over time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Window (Paperback)
I purchased this book as the one I had was beginning to look a bit tired. It is a beautiful book I have shared with many children, particularly those who are struggling to learn to read. As there are no words to worry about, the child can make up his/her own story and there is so much on each page to talk about. For instance, how do we know the boy's name is Sam? I was introduced to this book over 5 years ago and no matter how many times I have "read" it, there is always something I hadn't noticed before. Watch out for all those cats!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Window on Life & the World, 27 Mar. 2011
By 
Computer Guy (Co. Armagh Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Window (Paperback)
A gorgeous picture book which veritably tells the story -without any written words -about one little boy's life as he grows and changes and equally how the view which he has from his window changes with the passing of time too. A pefect book for sharing with any age of child or adult. A subtle environmental message goes with it. The illustrations are amazing - detail level comparable to "Where's Wally?"

Also purchased "Henry's Quest" ~ our kids and other half enthralled by both books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Window, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Window (Big Book) (Paperback)
Fantastic big book that is suitable to use with Key Stage 2 children. My class loved the pictures and 'saw' something different each time we looked at the pages and discussed what was happening. AS the book did not have a written text the children looked more carefully at the pictures to identify the changes 'through the window' and explain what was happening. Many different issues were raised during discussion which led to some deep thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Provides endless discussion, a beautiful book., 16 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Window (Red Fox picture books) (Paperback)
I used this book in the classroom with Year 1 pupils- (it would have been even better as a Big Book.) The children were enthralled and the geographical and citizenship issues just flowed. I liked it so much that I now have a copy at home which my own children thoroughly enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Window (Paperback)
This book is absolutley delightful. I use it s a teaching tool. It incorporates a lot of prediction, hypothesising and inferencing. Great for thinking skills for all ages. It covers every area of the curriculum, including maths and RE. Many many different ways of looking at the book - children are still finding things which I have not noticed before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Window (Red Fox picture books)
Window (Red Fox picture books) by Jeannie Baker (Paperback - 18 Mar. 1993)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews