Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A stone that breathed was Eunice, as she had always been"
"A judgement in stone" is the story of a crime, and the reasons behind it. All that happens is in direct relation to a secret, Eunice Parchman's secret.
Eunice, the housekeeper of the Coverdale family, seems to be merely a dull woman with an insipid personality. She is cold and quite solemn, but not violent, at least she doesn't seem to be. However, events would...
Published on 29 April 2005 by M. B. Alcat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre
Hard going
Published 2 months ago by andrew rodger


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent British crime writing, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Officer Dibble (Zummerzet) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Judgement In Stone (Paperback)
The premise of the story is well set out in other reviews. This is my first Rendell novel although I have read some Barbara Vine stuff. This is excellent and she has gone up higher in my estimation. Some other reviewers do not give full credit to her dry wit having Eunice and Joan dressed, 'like standard issue prison warderesses' and her description of the local Church zealots who, 'were delivering the Epistle....to famine-stricken people too weak to resist'.

For me, the descent into 'madness' by Joan was a slightly false note and, with hindsight, the modus operandi does take a bit of believing. Once again we were in Ms Rendell's comfort zone of an upper/middle class Suffolk family, rural, white, all super educated but this is still top class British crime writing and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ruth Rendall we know the murderer and why from the start, yet this book is gripping, 10 Sep 2011
By 
C. Bannister (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story itself is fairly short only 220 pages long with relatively short chapters designed to keep the pages turning at a fast rate.

Ruth Rendall starts this book with the words 'Eunice Parchman killed the Coverdale family because she could not read or write.' giving the reader the murderer, the victims and the motive straight away, but this book kept me gripped as the story of Eunices early life, her work for the Coverdales and her friendship with Joan Smith, a zealot and wife of the village postmaster.

Ruth Rendall gives us sharp observations about not only Eunice but the Coverdale family headed by George, a pompous managing director and his younger wife Jaqueline, who prefers meeting with friends and having her hair done, to keeping on top of the cleaning at the manor house they lived in Lowfield Hall.

This is a stand alone story, not one of the Wexford mysteries and show cases her psychologically based stories very convincingly. The setting of a small village in England in the early 70's fuelled by gossip in the local shop and the pub, The Blue Boar, all add to the bewiderment when the family is slayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un-putdownable, slick and superbly written!, 7 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Judgement In Stone (Paperback)
This is one of the best Ruth Rendell books I've read. She deals with so many themes here; illiteracy, religion, family life and the dark side of human nature, all tightly wound up in an exciting whydunit! This book is a must for anyone who enjoys well-written literature with humorous and effective authorial intervention. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, gripping read, 5 April 2008
By 
This review is from: A Judgement In Stone (Paperback)
My first read of a Ruth Rendell book, having previously read most of Susan Hill's novels. I loved it. I picked up the book again having got half-way through it and then couldn't put it down for the next few hours -I just had to finish it. She really gives you a feel for the characters and their lives, together with a gripping storyline. I am now looking for my next RR read on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insight is insight, 19 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A Judgement in Stone (Hardcover)
Only a very very talented writer could trace the road from iliteracy to murder. Can ignorance, the lack of education lead someone to comit crime? The story is indeed like a "sentence", a black cloud over our heads, our time, our society. I take it mainly like a metaphor about this times of comtempt we are living. A great book, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 29 Dec 2009
By 
hiljean (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Judgement In Stone (Paperback)
Probably the best Ruth Rendell crime book I've read. Gripping and entirely convincing, it is unusual in that you know from the opening line the identities of both the murderer and the victims. You are also told why the crime was committed, but it is not until the closing chapters that you understand how it came to happen. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars david1947, 9 Mar 2014
excellent very clever and different storyline my first ruth rendell book but definetely not the last her attention to detail was first class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an excellent read, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Normal,well written Ruth Rendell stuff, A little annoying on the class front, very us and them, but an unusual idea well expressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ruth Rendell at her best, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Carefully plotted and starts slowly, soon building to a page turning pace. We get to understand the characters, and it certainly made me think. Gets the imagination going to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Am Hoogwerf - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Judgement In Stone (Paperback)
I bough,t this as a gift at the request of the recipient, she loves this author and hope she likes it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Judgement In Stone
A Judgement In Stone by Ruth Rendell (Paperback - 21 April 1994)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews