Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent! Just what I expect from Alexander Kent, 24 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Signal-Close Action! (Paperback)
Once again, I really enjoyed this Alexander Kent book about the Bolitho family. I have read the whole series (23 books to date) and I can truly say, these are the most exiting sea adventures ever written. It follows a very compelling story of the ups and downs of the harsh life which was endured during this time period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Signal Close Action, 27 Mar 2008
This review is from: Signal Close Action (Paperback)
So far, this is my favourite book in the Richard Bolitho series. In it, his friendship with Thomas Herrisk is tested to the limit, but not found wanting. It also sees Bolitho taught a lesson in not always accepted others at face value. Exploring all of the frustrations and hardships of the navy at war and those brave souls that kept our ships alive and fighting. An excellent adventure which, I hope, others will enjoy as much as I did. Happy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like all of Alexander Kents books, they are good relaxing read, and hard to put them donw when you start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written series, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical Alexander Kent " Bolitho " novel every book in the series has kept me enthralled. I struggle to put them down until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Decision, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bolitho's determination to succeed and how to make decisions that would and did hurt the people h e cared for_- his crew excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Serena (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always kent makes the story rip along at a great pace, but with characters given enough time t ok be fleshed out so that by the end you feel each victory or death. Bolitho now being in command of an entire squadron of ships brings the series to a new chapter in the fortunes of the sea officer, with challenges not faced before as a captain but also a growing maturity to the character. A great start to bolitho the flag officer instead of the young captain we are used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet again another great adventure for Bolitho, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Traffic (Kiruna, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
KK, well here's another Bolitho story I have just finished in my attempt to read the whole series. In this one Bolitho, recently promoted to Commodore is put in charge of a small squadron of ships ordered to patrol the Mediterranean, watching what the Spanish and French navies are up to. You'd think that after having written so many book sin this series that they would get a bit samey and dull, but this is not the case with the Bolitho stories; they just keep getting better and better. I find it vary interesting to read how Bolitho works in each of the ranks he is progressing through from young midshipman to his current rank of Commodore. Now he also has to deal with a Flag Captain that is not coming up to scratch and a replacement who is too keen to do things his own way. Thrilling and a delight to read. I am looking forward to reading the next instalment in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hugh C, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alexander Kent is continuing to give so much reading pleasure with the Bolitho stories to make me want to get to his next adventure quickly and involve myself in it. Most enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars always keep some action close, and you feel you can really see the story for real, 16 July 2013
to write about this time in our history although its fiction ,still brings it to life,colourful characters come to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RICHARD BOLITHO BOOKS., 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Signal Close Action (Paperback)
The books I have read so far have been brilliant, can't wait to start this one. Would recommend these to everyone who likes naval tales
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Signal-Close Action!
Signal-Close Action! by Alexander Kent (Paperback - Aug 1976)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews