Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deciphering Alan Turing
This is an immense book; a staggeringly thorough biography; the author appears to have left no stone unturned in his search for the real man behind the 'enigma'. Alan Turing emerges as a man who was ahead of his time in his ideas of machine intelligence and his understanding of his own sexuality; but one who was paradoxically also 'born too late', for the breadth of his...
Published on 12 May 2010 by Ariadne Tampion

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and boring, packed with irrelevant detail
Having studied a little of Turing's mathematics at university (my PhD thesis was based on Turing machines), I was interested to read more about the man and his scientific work. This book was advertised with such comments as "One of the finest scientific biographies ever written" and "...it is hard to imagine a more thoughtful and warm biography than this one" which led me...
Published 6 months ago by Yossu


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Riviting,, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best book for a while, would be a bit heavy if you dont understand Math, Physics, Psycology and Chemisry. worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Turing: The Enigma (Paperback)
bought to help me do my final year project. has been a good read and will be reading again in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very thorough and informative account., 28 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maybe this goes into more detail than you'd want. But it's easy to skip the mathematics and it does give a convincing portrait of an outstanding and unusual individual. And if you really want to puzzle out how the Enigma machine worked the explanation is fairly clear. A lot of interesting facts about Enigma and the Bombes, and about Bletchley in general. One point: I kept wondering when the transistor came on the scene. The Colossus worked with thousands of valves. Some technical details like that are missing from his account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A story that had to be told to give overdue credit to talented man who helped the Allies win WW2, 18 Oct 2013
By 
Trish. NIBLOCK (Edinburgh Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Turing: The Enigma (Paperback)
The writer describes the life and achievements of one of those rare individuals who was always going to be unique in some way. As a very young child boy his fascination with science and numbers was recognised by a few people including his mother and thank goodness for them. He wasn't completely written off as strange and eccentric as he could so easily have been in a conservative country like Britain especially in those days. He was badly treated by those who should have had the intelligence and maturity to know better. I am grateful to the writer for writing this book which helps to give credit where it was well overdue.

T.Niblock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Turing: The Enigma (of intelligence), 7 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. M. Bryant "melancholiac" (Hull, East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A welcome, humane and sympathetic book written by someone who understands the mathematics. If the maths becomes too deep, you can always skip lightly over it (as I had to). I think Turing was the greatest English genius since Newton and this book by Andrew Hodges does him justice. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable revelations., 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Turing: The Enigma (Paperback)
Excellent account of events of which we new almost nothing at the time.

When Turing's name came up in the early 1960's in Cambridge in a course of Lectures on Mathematical Logic the lecturer (Mr. Steen) just said 'there's a story to be told' but left it at that. Now the story has been told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enigma, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book proved to be an eye-opener for me. There has been so much specul;ation surrounding the life of Alan Turing it was fine to discover the truth at last. A good book with much useful information in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for an overseas friend, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting book, a brilliant man who was sadly born in a time when people were less understanding and unaccepting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Our History (but in the opposite of a nutshell), 24 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. N. B. Hodson "Bruce Hodson" (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished this long book - which was both a biography and a treatise about computers and Turing's part in hatching the things that led to the modern computer (and God knows what else in the future!) Incidentally, also his huge part in our winning the Second World War with his ideas. But, at the same time the book needed breaking into a part that dealt with his life and another part that showed us how he put his ideas into practise - then all the (I found weird - but others of a more intellectual nature would find rewarding) technical way it was worked out. Then each part needed chapters to make it readable from a practical sense. This would allow one to easily skip back to refresh one's mind - which one needed to do a lot. By the way, for this reason, I don't know whether it was a book suitable for a Kindle rather than 'a book in hand'.
Turing, born upper middle class, was a shabbily dressed and living man - but brilliant in his mind on work. This, in the book which is drenched in detail, comes out well - as does his (and his friends as well as Society's) attitude to his homosexuality - which was often frowned upon - or simply not spoken of for years. He was never in the closet but never held a banner - he accepted it all as the fact it was - a memorial, no - testament - to us all. This is a good book, subject to the above, very beneficial to us all - if, perhaps, a hard and heavy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 30 Mar 2010
This review is from: Alan Turing: The Enigma (Paperback)
This is a marvellous book.Turing's life becomes almost Shakespearian ,as if a set of scenes from a world drama in which he is the main character.Hodges manages to combine great psychological perceptiveness with mathematical explanation and expertise so that you feel carrieed along as if in an epic.A great achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alan Turing: The Enigma
Alan Turing: The Enigma by Andrew Hodges (Paperback - 5 Mar 1992)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews