Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant yarn from the master of Occult fiction.
When an old friend asks the Duc de Richleau to look into how Nazi U Boats seem to know exactly where and when supply convoys in the Atlantic will be he discovers that evil occult forces are at work. The Duc and his companions discover that a Voodoo adept from Haiti is travelling on the Astral Plane to gain information regarding the convoys. Now the Duc and his friends...
Published on 23 April 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange Confict -BLACK MAGIC
I enjoyed the book very much. I have read it before and it was a pleasure to read it all over again. Wheately really knows how to capture the readers imagination
Published 3 months ago by margurite


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant yarn from the master of Occult fiction., 23 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Strange Conflict (Hardcover)
When an old friend asks the Duc de Richleau to look into how Nazi U Boats seem to know exactly where and when supply convoys in the Atlantic will be he discovers that evil occult forces are at work. The Duc and his companions discover that a Voodoo adept from Haiti is travelling on the Astral Plane to gain information regarding the convoys. Now the Duc and his friends must confront their powerful foe not only on the Physical Plane but on the Astral as well. The Duc must also pit his wits against the "Great God Pan" after he is summoned by voodoo ritual. Brilliant !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange Conflict, 18 Dec 2003
By 
This review is from: Strange Conflict (A black magic story) (Paperback)
I first read the haunting of Toby Jugg and felt I it was sensational.
Theh I read strange conflict and I think it is wonderful
I've not read any other of Dennis Wheatley's books but I believe it'll be almost perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmeric, 23 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Strange Conflict (Audio Cassette)
Hear the master's mesmeric tones as he melodiously recites. Fantastic detail into how to put yourself on the Astral plane, and how Hitler really thought. You'll never look a zombie in the face again. Top stuff. You can't beat D.W..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story with fascinating detail., 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My parents were both Dennis Wheatley fans so I was brought up surrounded by his books. I found the "Black Magic" ones particularly fascinating and think this one s second only to "The Devil Rides Out" in my opinion his best.

This book is full of fascinating detail about Haitian voodoo practices and the submarine war in the Atlantic during WW2. Wheatley has a good knowledge of both - his service in British intelligence during WW2 clearly helps - and his style is precise and detailed. It might be considered a bit old fashioned today but he can spin a ripping yarn! Naturally, good triumphs over evil, but there's plenty of supernatural shenanigans before that happens!

A good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The famous five are back again........., 30 Nov 2013
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
in this brilliant story of espionage and Voodoo set during the Second World War.

The Admiralty are completely stymied.........how is that secret information sent to the Atlantic convoys, is being sent to the Nazis? Over a Dinner with Sir Pellinore, de Richleau tries to explain that the spy maybe someone on the Astral Plane. Sir Pellinore laughs it off until de Richleau shows him a feat of White Magic. Sir Pellinore is a touch more ready to believe the Duke now.

So it is up to the Duke to go onto the Astral Plane and watch over the 'bags' of information that are sent to the Convoys. He eventually strikes lucky and comes across a rather nasty entity on the Astral Plane. This information is relayed to Sir Pellinore and of course to Richard, MarieLou, Simon and Rex. Before England for Haiti they are asked to take a young mute girl with them called Phillipa. She is to be dropped off supposedly in her home country of Jamaica.

The next step is to fly to Haiti where de Richleau has traced the entity to. They charter a plane but just as they are approaching Haiti, an unnatural storm starts up and Rex has to ditch the plane into the sea. There they remain marooned to broil in the blazing sun. Eventually they are rescued by a man called Dr. Saturday and taken to his house to recover from their ordeal. Rex, Simon and Richard are not with them.

Once there, de Richleau and Marie Lou immediately clear one of their bedrooms to make a pentacle. They dare not sleep because they could be attacked on the Astral Plane.

From here the story gets rather gruesome and all five of them are lucky to get away with their lives let alone their souls intact.

This was a new book to me as I had only ever read the more well known ones like The Satanist, To the Devil a Daughter and The Devil rides Out.

Wheatley has one thing wrong though.........the God Pan is not evil. He is a nature Deity and only does good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strange Conflict (Hardcover)
Terribly dated now but I loved it when I was a teenager ages ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wheatly masterpiece, 7 July 2014
By 
David Flynn (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story of voodooism and black magic. Could Hitler use the Astral Plane to further his ambitions? Can the Duc win and save Britian? Brilliantly written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Strange Confict -BLACK MAGIC, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the book very much. I have read it before and it was a pleasure to read it all over again. Wheately really knows how to capture the readers imagination
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Typical Wheatley, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like Dennis Wheatleys black magic books, you'll love this one. A little dated and quite non-PC, but that was the the attitude when it was written. That aside, the usual "black magic crew" are all there, The Duke, Simon, Richard, Marie Lou and Rex, all battling the Nazis on the astral plane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Books I have Loved., 22 Feb 2014
By 
Fm Oshea "Frances O'Shea" (Kent, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read Dennis Wheatley first during the 60's And Loved his books. This book 'Strange Conflict 'was amongst my many favourites. Re-reading the entire collection has been a great pleasure. Imaginative writing soundly based on his personnel expirences during both world wars. He is probably best known for his tales of the occult , as in 'The Devil Rides Out 'always a favourite , 'The Ka of Gifford Hilary' great story . They Found Atlantis' another great adventure.I am about to settle down on a rainy Saturday afternoon with a cup of tea with biscuits ! And my choice of the day is The Golden Spaniard a tale of tthe Spanish Revolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strange Conflict (A black magic story)
Strange Conflict (A black magic story) by D WHEATLEY (Paperback - 1 Dec 1981)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews