Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on an excellent manager
Excellent book on an excellent manager. Ignore the clown above who obviously hates united.
Published 3 months ago by Colin G.

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save £11 and Google 'Louis Van Gaal'
As a Man Utd fan I was keen to gain a deeper insight into our new manager and I jumped at the first opportunity to read a book about the new boss. It was clear after around a third of the book that the author had capitalised on the opportunity of providing such a book for people like me.

In fairness the book provides a fairly detailed history about LVG and...
Published 2 months ago by Lewis Huxley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on an excellent manager, 31 July 2014
This review is from: Louis van Gaal: The Biography (Hardcover)
Excellent book on an excellent manager. Ignore the clown above who obviously hates united.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save £11 and Google 'Louis Van Gaal', 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louis van Gaal: The Biography (Hardcover)
As a Man Utd fan I was keen to gain a deeper insight into our new manager and I jumped at the first opportunity to read a book about the new boss. It was clear after around a third of the book that the author had capitalised on the opportunity of providing such a book for people like me.

In fairness the book provides a fairly detailed history about LVG and highlighted his playing career well, something I was not aware of. The writing is of a good standard and you rarely get the impression that you are reading the work of somebody writing outside of their mother tongue.

However, the whole project struck me as quite lazy and has been done for quick financial gain/recognition. There are less than 40 pages on his hugely successful stint at Ajax, 11 pages on his three seasons at Barcelona (which I'm sure were not without incident) yet there are over 60 pages written about his stay at Bayern Munich which lasted less than two years. For some reason he has also planted a 5 page chapter entitled 'Van Gaal and God' which looks to give us an indication of his level of religiosity without actually concluding either way. I may be wrong but it appeared as if a religious man was trying to ensure that we were reminded that religion should be seen as a hugely important factor in an individual's personality and therefore decided to wedge such a pointless chapter into his book. After all I didn't see a chapter on his political views or any of his other lifestyle choices which could be seen as equally important or inane, depending on your point of view, as an indicator of his make-up.

It smacked of a lack of research with only a smattering of interviews carried out for the purposes of the book. In fact you could argue that the last two thirds of the book, covering the past twelve years, coincide with the dawn of the Google search engine's contents. The first third of the book (50+ years of his life) do not. This is also illustrated by the long drawn out quotes that Meijer includes. When reading the final few chapters it was difficult to find more than two or three sentences per page that were Meijer's own.

It is unfortunate that the majority of the book is exemplified by this since the final chapter actually provides an extremely thoughtful and balanced view of Van Gaal overall which shows that Meijer empathises well with such a turbulent character in spite of the many negative opinions that could contest this.

Overall I left with a better impression of Van Gaal but I wouldn't recommend buying it at full price. I think Meijer missed a great opportunity to deliver an excellently researched and interesting biography on Van Gaal like we have seen from Guillem Balague on Pep Guardiola or, from an alternative sport, David Maraniss' biography of Vince Lombardi. Van Gaal is clearly a complicated and hugely interesting subject that would be worthy of such efforts in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and I love Maarten Meijers writing style, 31 July 2014
This review is from: Louis van Gaal: The Biography (Hardcover)
though I'm not a footbal fan, the book is highly recommendable as a biography, and I love Maarten Meijers writing style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of vital information on the man, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First disclaimer I am not a Manchester Utd fan. I wanted to know about Van Gaals persona, and whether he is as disagreeable as people who have worked under. For me, a wonderful coach of footballers especially the understanding of the youth structure. Possibly was born five to ten years too late to see how football should accept his views. He is more shankly than mourn oh. Good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't pull any punches or kicks!, 28 Aug 2014
This review is from: Louis van Gaal: The Biography (Hardcover)
When a team goes through the world cup without being defeated (except for penalty kicks!) and still doesn't make the final but plays as a cooperative team more than all of the teams, you have to look more closely at the coach. Here he is, in this special book, that doesn't pull its punches but also gives credit where it is due!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
This review is from: Louis van Gaal: The Biography (Hardcover)
It is a good book even if you are not crazy about footbol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louis van Gaal: The Biography (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband.He has enjoyed the book very much.Highly recommend to amy one.Louis Van Gaal is an extremley forthright person.Jolly good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight to the managerial life of LGV, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louis van Gaal: The Biography (Hardcover)
Great insight to the managerial life of LGV. I look forward to the follow up after he has finished the restoration project at united.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great insight into one of the World finest Coaches, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Great Look at New United manager Louis Van Gaal, the author goes into great detail to explain , the very enigma that is van gaal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 31 July 2014
very good book on a very good manager. ignore the person 2 boxes below me cuase that means he hates man utd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Louis van Gaal: The Biography
Louis van Gaal: The Biography by Maarten Meijer (Hardcover - 24 July 2014)
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews