Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous menus, great cocktails
I bought this book having loved Simon's TV series as he is so passionate about food and drink. The book exceeded my expectations - it is absolutely fantastic.
Published 8 months ago by Judith Gordon-Nichols

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too basic and thin on content
I am a big fan of Simon Hopkinson and I have always found his books entertaining to read and packed with useful recipes. I bought this book- admittedly without looking at it first - for my cousin's 60th birthday present confident that it would live up to Hopkinson's previous high standards. How wrong I was. Far too basic and thin on content. I'm sorry, to take a whole...
Published 9 months ago by sallypike


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous menus, great cocktails, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon Hopkinson Cooks (Hardcover)
I bought this book having loved Simon's TV series as he is so passionate about food and drink. The book exceeded my expectations - it is absolutely fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too basic and thin on content, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon Hopkinson Cooks (Hardcover)
I am a big fan of Simon Hopkinson and I have always found his books entertaining to read and packed with useful recipes. I bought this book- admittedly without looking at it first - for my cousin's 60th birthday present confident that it would live up to Hopkinson's previous high standards. How wrong I was. Far too basic and thin on content. I'm sorry, to take a whole page for steamed potatoes, another for watercress salad [put watercress in bowl and dress with olive and lemon juice, I joke not], buttered sprouts [put in pan and boil] I could go on made me feel very short-changed. Simon, I suggest you find a new publisher they have certainly short-changed you with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed TV series .., 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon Hopkinson Cooks (Hardcover)
really enjoyed the TV series. Very much like the way it is set out in menu's as it makes life very easy. I have already made one whole menu and cocktail - which went down very well with guests
Would have liked some tips on parts that you can cook ahead as some of the recipes are quite time intensive (that maybe because I am not a very efficient cook)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good But, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon Hopkinson Cooks (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book as are all of his other books, my only complaint is many of the recipes are available free online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon Hopkinson Cooks (Hardcover)
I really enjoy Simon on television so was a bit disappointed that there was very few recipes in this book. By that I mean compared to other books. On telly he always does things that he makes sound very simple and this book was a bit fancier than his normal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cookery Book, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon Hopkinson Cooks (Hardcover)
Excellent book, nicely and interestingly presented and fun to read and to cook from. Recipes work well from clear instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon Hopkinson Cooks (Hardcover)
The book is excellent. Images and the lovely stories that go with each recipe add to the enjoyment. I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simon's usual well planned recipe book., 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon Hopkinson Cooks (Hardcover)
Interesting approach. Only for serious dedicated cooks with plenty of time and commitment to planning full menu. Not a book to dip into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best cookery book, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon Hopkinson Cooks (Hardcover)
I love the format and the addition of cocktails for each menu? His writing is witty and the recipes universally delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a go-to cookbook, 12 Jan 2014
By 
M. Rance (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hopkinson's instructions are clear and easy to follow. Lot's of great ideas in every menu that eventually lead to learning more skills and making your own menus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simon Hopkinson Cooks
Simon Hopkinson Cooks by Simon Hopkinson (Hardcover - 19 Sep 2013)
9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews