Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars102
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2013
Thoroughly recommend to any novice asian cook. Good easy recipes although some ingredients are hard to source. I loved it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
I would be surprised if your first thought, when you think of Gok Wan, is of food. The stylist is best known for his style show, How to Look Good Naked, which makes an effort to limit body shaming and celebrate positive body image. But he was inspired to write a cookbook, Gok's Wok, making meals he remembered from his childhood - quick, easy and authentic Chinese food like his father used to make.

The book involves a wide variety of Chinese and South Asian food recipes - everything from light salads to quick and easy meals, all the way to more complicated ethnic foods. The one complaint I had about this book is that since the recipes are very much authentic, some of the ingredients are more difficult to find in ordinary grocery stores. But if you're able to find a decent Chinese supply shop (or to note that international ingredients are becoming more standard in larger grocery stores), these are definitely quick and delicious meals.

I'd really recommend this cookbook to anyone who is looking to learn more about Chinese or South Asian cooking or looking for more healthy recipes - steamed vegetables and brown rice can get old fairly quickly! It was also really lovely to be influenced by someone who has actual knowledge of authentic Chinese food - something which is often missing from British Chinese cookbooks.
review image
22 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Brilliant. This is another delightful book from planet Gok. All the recipes I've tried have been quick, easy and really delicious.

Gok says of his Thai Green Curry, "..it may not be 100 per cent authentic, but it is 100 per cent delicious". This seems to apply across the board to many of his recipes which are largely Asian fusion. What is also a real delight is that you can pick up most of the stuff from the supermarket on the way home and cook it straight away. No long marinading and no obscure ingredients.

In addition, the book is beautifully styled. Even the dreaded salt, fat and calorie quantities are presented in the style of a chinese seal - very attractive.

The only drawback is that the number of people the recipes are meant to feed is clearly aimed at supermodels. Ordinary mortals will want to eat much more but that is because everything is so tasty.

Oh, and if you bought this book hoping to cook the Shanghai Chicken and Spring Greens, Malaysian-style Prawn and Crab Soup and Spicy Beef Thai Noodles Gok-style mentioned in the publisher's synopsis you might be a tad disappointed. These recipes aren't in it - maybe they'll be in his next.

Apart from that well done Gok - mission accomplished. Five stars all round.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
I bought this on the basis of the reviews given to Gok's earlier books. I have made a couple of the recipes and they are fantastic. My husband said that the Sweet Potato and Brazil Nut Curry was the best thing that I'd ever cooked, and I have to agree it was good. Recommended.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
I just love this guy ... his TV cooking show is just fabulous dahhhhhhhhrlingggggggg! The book is a great reference fo those who like teh idea of knocking up quick, tasty and often healthy Chinese dishes in the kitchen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
An excellent book for simple Chinese cooking. I really enjoyed trying a few of the recipes and they didn't have the complexity of some cookery books. Would recommend to anyone interested in starting to cook Chinese food.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
Gok's refreshing, no nonsense style is like a breath of fresh air. Inspires you to cook like an honorary Chinese chef and gives you the courage to tweak recipes to personal taste.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
I only received this cookbook a couple of weeks ago, but already I've made loads of recipes from it. There are loads that look exciting. The recipes actually have a lot less ingredients than most Asian recipes and I've had to buy very few new store cupboard ingredients. For someone watching their weight, this book is ideal as it lists the calories per serving and tries to make more traditional recipes a little less calorific. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
this item was bought as part of a collection of Christmas present. The person l bought it for is delighted with it.
prompt delivery by due date very good service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
Seen his programme couldn't wait to get his cook book they looked tasty, can't wait to start cooking and tasting the food myself, thank you A1 seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)