Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How do you do?
The title of this book is a bit misleading: much of the thought on display here is highly sophisticated. Not brutal or simple.

At one point, for example, the book asks the reasonable question "How do you make densely populated areas pleasant?"

The accompanying photograph is a lavvy pan. Ye ye but loads of very un-brutal and non-simple thought went...
Published 4 months ago by Gerry O'D

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brutally simple, simply.
This book looks really good, and seems to aim at making us aware of the profound thinking behind everyday things around us, things that we might take for granted. All go back to great brilliant thinking. There's something poetic in this that I can appreciate. Still ever so often the examples in this book ends up something like this: think about the London underground...
Published on 26 Mar 2012 by J. Carl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BRUTAL SIMPLICITY OF THOUGHT, 17 April 2012
By 
Colin Reeve "colreeve" (nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this hard back book some what disappointing it did not give me what I was expecting I guess I was hoping for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal Simplicity of Thought, 6 Mar 2012
This is a rare book and a wonderful achievement. It has much for a thinking person to enjoy, learn from and practise. It is a short book. It has an excellent, short Introduction in praise of simplicity. The rest of the book illustrates how simple pictures and a few incisive words can convey ideas and change how people act. The pictures and the minimal text demonstrate the merit and effect of simplicity. To do this takes skill.

The book started as a training manual for Saatchi employees. Its principles have informed the phenomenal success of Saatchi over 40 years. Its mantra is on its back cover. 'It's easier to complicate than simplify. Simple ideas enter the brain quicker and stay there longer. Brutal simplicity of thought is therefore a painful necessity.'

If you recognise the virtue of hard thinking, simplicity and pictures, get this book. It encourages anyone of like mind to contribute to future editions. But keep it simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed!, 28 Jan 2012
Expecting more than a set of pictures with random, unrelated & rather trivial comments to each. OK, so the idea is one of simplicity, so perhaps pictures & a few comments are that, but I can find this sort of comment all over the Internet. Expect a book to at least give a couple of days of reading- this rates with the Sun or Mirror as a 5 minute wonder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quirky book, 17 Jan 2012
I got it as a gift for a quirky friend and he loved it. it's a simple book showing simple examples of how simple ideas influence our everyday lives. i found it interesting myself. there is not a lot of text but it does provoke some thinking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Stocking Filler, 2 Dec 2011
By 
Nikki Cochrane (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book after visiting the London Design Festival at the V&A. I found this book thought provoking and educational and ended up buying 2 more copies for Christmas presents. It's perfect for all ages and there is a brutal simplicity of thought website where you can upload your own ideas for the 2nd Edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5,000 years of ingenuity in one book!, 1 Dec 2011
This book is not just a collection of mankind's clever thinking, it's a manifesto - a way for us all to see things more clearly. And possibly, make a change.
Buy it. Be inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully simple, 10 Dec 2011
By 
Clarke (Linlithgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Teabags were an accident! Who knew?

I spent an hour skipping through this delightful little book. And I enjoyed every minute of it.

It's a great example of how hard work leads to simplicity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Goodbuy, 13 Feb 2012
---------God made the world in seven days.
Lord Saatchi wrote this book in seven days.
Think about it. No, really think about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brutal Simplicity of Thought: How It Changed the World
Brutal Simplicity of Thought: How It Changed the World by Lord Saatchi (Hardcover - 5 Sep 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews