Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, again!
Had a little trouble getting into this one as the overall tone changed a bit. That said, once the action started to begin and the story ''matured' I enjoyed it. The pace picks up in the third section and the formula continues much as it has in the other books of the series.
To some degree the finales have become similar but then the heroes have a set of abilities...
Published 6 months ago by blindluck

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars weakest of a great series
Im loving this series but this is the weakest so far, lets hope for a reaturn to form for book 5
Published 3 months ago by dipstar74


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, again!, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had a little trouble getting into this one as the overall tone changed a bit. That said, once the action started to begin and the story ''matured' I enjoyed it. The pace picks up in the third section and the formula continues much as it has in the other books of the series.
To some degree the finales have become similar but then the heroes have a set of abilities that in someway dictate this. All in all another good heroes vs undead outing.
Please remember to read the books before this first as the story continues!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay it was somewhat derivative but I enjoyed it. As much as most of the series is St George & Stealth heavy, some focus on some of the less celebrated characters would be nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heroes???, 3 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Ex-Purgatory (Ex Heroes 4) (Paperback)
I enjoyed these books in audio format good for long drives but now I'm afraid he's just "borrowed" too much from Heroes the seminal 2006 series which i see being relaunched soon. Pull up your socks sir we geeks are onto you start mixing genres and you have to be careful nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent continuation of the series, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've got two young kids. Normal pattern is download a book and read it in 5 minute chunks when I get a chance. I read this in 3 hours straight. Worthy #4, looking forward to#5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heroic, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with the other books in the series the author delivers a smart,exciting and at times funny series of events for our much loved heroes to overcome.
I for one hope that we get to return to the mount and share some more adventures with the gang....roll on book 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yay another ex book, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book, a must for anyone who is a fan of the zombie genre or the superhero genre. More please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Ex novels get better and better with each consecutive novel. No spoilers but as the Ex universe grows there is more scope for larger stories with more characters. This novels takes a slightly different approach to the previous ones and that is a good thing as it keeps the story fresh and better yet keeps the reading guessing as to what is going to happen next.
Can't wait for Ex 5 to be released and surely by now someone must be looking at this series as a possible movie or even tv series?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars weakest of a great series, 24 July 2014
By 
dipstar74 (chelmsford, essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Im loving this series but this is the weakest so far, lets hope for a reaturn to form for book 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another ex heroes masterpiece from PC, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Little that can be said without spoilers but peter clines keeps you guessing right to the end, looking forward to episode 5 already
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flat Novel, Let Down Further By Flat Narration, 6 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Ex-Purgatory (Ex-Heroes) (MP3 CD)
A book in the Science fiction genre can easily get wrapped up inside itself if it not careful e.g. a dream on top of a vision, set in a future alternative world. Juggling all these concepts and creating a novel that is entertaining and at least in some way believable is not easy. This is proven in Peter Clines' `Ex-Purgatory', the fourth outing in the Ex series. Our heroes are used to being surrounded by the undead, but at the start of this novel they wake up in their old lives. What is a dream and what is a reality?

`Ex-Purgatory' is a slow burn of a book as Clines never reveals his cards too quickly. As someone who has not read the earlier books in the series I was unaware of the characters as they were introduced one by one. Fans will not have the same problem as me; why are we following a janitor around? However, they too may be a little put out by the pacing. The first half of the book is almost an awakening. George Bailey works as a handyman on a campus, but after meeting a strange student he starts to wonder if he has super strength. Over the next couple of hundred pages, he slowly realises that he may have links to someone called St George.

This part of `Ex-Purgatory' may be slow, but is well written. Clines jumps between George's seeing real life and one that is an apocalyptic future. Some of the best scenes are when an ordinary situation morphs into a horrific one, only to jump back again. Clines has a great way of writing zombie attacks, the way that their teeth crumble on super hard skin means that the fights are far more interesting than your average man versus deadite story.

Where I felt the story began to unravel coincided with the unravelling of the character's reality. I will not go into detail as it will spoil the plot. All I can say is that reality sits on top of reality too many times. You get the uneasy feeling that `it was all a dream' comes into play. The issue with this narrative mechanic is that you feel cheated as what happens does not really count. Coupled with this is the fact that the `twist' was visible from only a few chapters in. Clines gives too many clues to what is happening; making it obvious for any genre fan (and if you are planning to read a book about superheroes and zombies, my guess is you are a fan of genre books!)

`Ex-Purgatory' is not all bad. The action sequences are excellent and there is a lot of fun to be had, certainly at the start, as George and Co. jump from normality into a hellish alternative world. Fans of the series will get a lot from seeing the superheroes of earlier books as their alter egos. People new to the series don't miss out too much either as the reveals later in the book will come as more of a surprise.

I reviewed the unabridged audiobook version of `Ex-Purgatory' from Audible, narrated by Jay Snyder. Although the writing came through, at times the narration itself was a little deadpan for my taste; the characters rarely had the emotion the words suggested. Snyder was not always distinctive enough with the different characters, in particular the female roles. Earlier audio versions of the `Ex Series' have had a cast of several voice actors; I think this would have worked better in the scenes where dialogue bounced back and forth. Reviewed originally for bookbag.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ex-Purgatory (Ex Heroes 4)
Ex-Purgatory (Ex Heroes 4) by Peter Clines (Paperback - 16 Jan 2014)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews