Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frothy but engaging seasonal romance
Like some of the other reviewers, I adore a book or a film set at Christmas and I've enjoyed Scarlett Bailey's other books (all set at Christmas time), so I was already looking forward to reading this when I won a copy in a competition. The cover is lovely and very appealing for a cosy read when it's miserable & cold outside.
As for the story, I loved it and was...
Published 17 months ago by Northern Mummy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the typos
This was a pleasant enough read - entertaining with some funny moments and good description. However, the typos in the Kindle version of the book were annoying and interfered with the flow of reading. This leaves me to wonder whether the paperback version is full of errors too, but I doubt it. This is the 2nd Kindle book in about as many months which looks like it's a...
Published 15 months ago by Rose M


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 512 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is such a good read. It's constantly entertaining, gripping, slightly emotional and happy all in one! Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just for christmas, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant.couldn't put it down really hope there is a,follow up telling us what happens to everyone in the next few years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A little predictable but still a very good read. This is my first read by Scarlett Baily and she does not disappoint, can't wait to read more from her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total escapism, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very festive. Made me laugh out loud and cry too. Relaxed writing style. Cosy and more ish! Give us more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Festive read with a strong, independent leading lady :-) xXx, 9 Nov. 2013
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Christmas wouldn't be complete without a book by Scarlett Bailey! This is by far my favourite cover of hers it is a perfect winter setting with its ice blues and the extra touch of glitter just adds that little bit of Glitz that will catch your eye on the shelves making it impossible to walk past without a copy falling into your basket!

Heartbroken Alex needs to get away from her life as she knows it so she can finally be herself. After a hidden secret comes to light and to top it off the love of her life is about to marry someone else. She takes a job miles away in the village of Poldore, but will running away from her problems be enough or will everything catch up with her eventually?

Bouy the smelly old dog was the star of this book! I am not a big dog fan but he is a wonderful addition to a great set of characters although with his antics I have to say I don't think the front cover is any real resemblance as I could never see this strong willed dog being put on a lead! There are a real quirky mix of characters in this book and Alex is an independent, tomboy character, she has grown up without a female role model around so she has had no guidance when it comes to any kind of women's problems or fashion sense so she is quite unlike our usual chick lit female leads, and I loved her for this. Alex finds a friend in Lucy who also has her fair share of problems but the friendship that grows between the two of them feels very real.

What makes this such a perfect winter read is it isn't too challenging, and the warm friendliness of the village folk makes this such a cosy read. The time scale of the book is set around Christmas time and there are some Christmas features too so this is a great book to get you in the Christmas spirit.

One thing you can always count on with Scarlett Baileys books is that there will be a troubled romance, and this book doesn't disappoint. There was also some light humour which was a great touch to the storyline and there were also some great little twists which to me were an added bonus to a great book. This is an enjoyable light read that you will fly through in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Christmas read., 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just For Christmas (Paperback)
This book was everything I was hoping for - an easy, mushy Christmas read.
I usually read Trisha Ashley and Jill Mansell, but I wanted something Christmas-y and cheap and I get nervous getting chick-lit by a different author because I worry that I won't like their writing style and will get bored. However I really enjoyed this one. There were a few little parts where I skim-read or just skipped because I wasn't as interested in going as far into the main character as the author was, but it was easy to read, had some good characters and gave me the chick-lit fix that I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and Suprising!, 22 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Just For Christmas (Paperback)
I picked this book up purely because I liked the look of the cover! Yes I am one of those people!
Anyway it was a very easy read and I was done within two days. The main character Alex is one I think that most women can relate to in more than one way but my favourite character had to be Bouy the dog. Alex inherits the dog and he becomes her saviour in more ways than one! She starts a new job and meets a mysterious new man. This story has everything Love, Comedy , Family and everyone's favourite time Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable!!, 22 Oct. 2014
By 
Julie Boon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just For Christmas (Paperback)
I have had this book on my bookshelf for a while but thought I would read it as one of my first Christmas reads of the season, not realising it was about the same characters as in Two Weddings and a Baby! But I still read it and love the characters, especially Sue! and Buoy the dog is so funny with his ways! I really enjoyed this book and read it really quickly as found it quite "unputdownable!. Would thoroughly recommend it and hopefully everyone else will read it in the right order!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've read in a long time, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant, easy read book...couldn't put it down once I started to read....have downloaded another Scarlett Bailey book straight away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perfect Christmas novel!, 7 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Just For Christmas (Paperback)
Just For Christmas introduces us to Alex Munro, who in the opening chapters of the novel, has just rocked up in the Cornish town of Poldore, after two different events caused her to leave her home town in Scotland. In Poldore, she finds that she's the first ever woman harbour master, much to the consternation of some of the villagers. She finds herself with a new dog companion, and a very sexy but filled-with-attitude neighbour in the shape of Ruan. She's also invited to participate in the Christmas pageant and there's only one thing Alex knows for sure - this is going to be a Christmas to remember, one way or another.

I really enjoyed Just For Christmas. The warmth that everyone in the town (or village? I don't know...) shows Alex even though she's a newbie is amazing! Also possibly overwhelming if you don't like that sorta stuff, but it's really sweet. I like towns like that where they're friendly no matter what (well, unless you're mean, obviously). Poldore sounded like a fantastic place to live, I'm not even joking, I just want to pack up and leave Tenerife for Cornwall. All the characters were so lovely and warm, I loved Alex immediately; she's a tomboy after my own heart - it makes such a change to meet a character who doesn't care how she looks. Ruan, despite his gruffness, was wonderful, too, I knew there was a soft centre in there somewhere and I wanted to go and live in his lighthouse. How cool would that be? To LIVE in a LIGHTHOUSE?!? Amazing.

Just For Christmas is the perfect Christmas read, and Scarlett Bailey has knocked it out of the park again. She's such a talented storyteller, she manages to inject such warmth into her novels that you feel like you're part of the book and I fell head over heels for Buoy. Any dog in any novel will always take my heart, but Buoy was super special, always looking out for Alex and coming to her rescue on more than one occasion. That's a pretty darn special dog. Just For Christmas is wonderful, Scarlett/Rowan has done it again and it's made me want to move to Cornwall and be part of life there because it just sounds like the most idyllic town ever, and I REALLY want to live in a lighthouse. That is my new dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 512 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just For Christmas
Just For Christmas by Scarlett Bailey (Paperback - 7 Nov. 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews