Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Read.
There are books that grip you from page 1, this is one of them. Jim the decorator from Wandsworth, if that is your F******G name, goes under cover, he live,s and breath,s the part he is playing, or is he? The book takes you deep into the world of the football hooligan. Jim live,s on his whit,s and quick thinking to survive. When you read the book you are always thinking...
Published 3 months ago by poshtrucker

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Running with guys who knew the guys in the firm
In the saturated hoolie book market one which links the infamous Millwall Bushwhackers and an undercover police operation should make for a rollercoaster of a read. Unfortunately this book is duller than a whack on the head with a Millwall brick.

The reason for this is that contrary to the blurb the author didn't infiltrate Millwalls main firm. He "infiltrated"...
Published 11 months ago by Banna Strand


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Running with guys who knew the guys in the firm, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running with the Firm (Hardcover)
In the saturated hoolie book market one which links the infamous Millwall Bushwhackers and an undercover police operation should make for a rollercoaster of a read. Unfortunately this book is duller than a whack on the head with a Millwall brick.

The reason for this is that contrary to the blurb the author didn't infiltrate Millwalls main firm. He "infiltrated" guys who were, at best, on the periphery of the scene. Consequently this slim book is hugely padded out with tedious descriptions of Met "office politics",the authors lovelife , countless run of the mill conversations in South London boozers, and trips to games where nothing happens !

The fact that the two year operation ended with no arrests shows , that like the time spent reading this book, it was a wasted exercise. The authors assertion that after the operation ended he has continued to attend Millwall matches over the subsequent twenty five years stretches the tales credibility even further. Its naïve to believe that he would have been able to continue to turn up at the Den / new Den if he had infiltrated the clubs hooligan element to the extent he suggests.

Most tellingly the book contains a prominent disclaimer that names, places, dates, sequences or the details of events have been changed. Cynics might suggest that this gave the author carte blanche to make up whatever he wanted and avoid any consequences?

I cant believe that this book would be of interest to any current serving police officers, except perhaps the fraud squad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Read., 1 Sep 2014
This review is from: Running with the Firm (Paperback)
There are books that grip you from page 1, this is one of them. Jim the decorator from Wandsworth, if that is your F******G name, goes under cover, he live,s and breath,s the part he is playing, or is he? The book takes you deep into the world of the football hooligan. Jim live,s on his whit,s and quick thinking to survive. When you read the book you are always thinking how is he getting away with this lie. I could not put the book down at times, but had to as I had to go back to work, as soon as I was on a break back to the book I went. I don,t read books twice, but this one I will read again. The chapter I'm OLD BILL, well all I can say is, you have to read it to find out. The langue used is straight off the terrace,s and the street. Jim takes no prisoner,s he tell,s it as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting good service, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running with the Firm (Hardcover)
A interesting book which told you alot about how dangerous this mans job.Trying to infiltrate one of the most notorious firms of that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant couldn't put it down ! Read in only a couple of days whilst on holiday ,as a football fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comment., 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running with the Firm (Hardcover)
This book is brilliant.I like these sort of books.But this one is especially good.
Perfect condition.Highly recommended.
I am also a Millwall fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating story from an intriguing author, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running with the Firm (Paperback)
A really good read and got through it in a day as was pretty hard to put down. Some of the stories sound almost incredulous but that said, I have no reason to believe they didn't happen and I'm pretty sure that far worse was going on in other operations.

Having read the book, I watched I.D. for the first time. There are plenty of crossovers but as is often the case, the book is on a totally different level and I would recommend it above the film without a doubt.

James Bannon tells a fascinating story. I'm glad he left the Met Police though! He's a far better author and actor. Not sure if he does 'an evening with' type tours but if he does, I'll be there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gained a fascinating interest in the storey and it's characters., 27 Aug 2014
This review is from: Running with the Firm (Hardcover)
A very good book, well written and interesting throughout, you get a real sense of authenticity, as the book does not become fat fetched or unbelievable in any way. I believe football fans will gain a good repot with the protagonist throughout, and find the other characters in the book very intriguing. One fault I could pick is that of the relationship between James and his partner, at times, goes round in circles. The ending may be a bit of an anticlimax but that is one of the things I find genuine about the book, it didn't sacrifice the authenticity of the storey by manifesting a 'big blowout'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jim is a painter and decorator from Wandsworth London who's passion is Millwall FC, along with his mate Chris they both infiltrate the hooligan element of Millwall gaining acceptance among fellow hooligans but Jim and Chris aren't who they say they are intact they are undercover coppers who's mission was to infiltrate and build up enough evidence to convict the leaders of the hooligan firms.

James Bannon wrote the screen play of what went on to become the movie I.D but since the films anniversary he set upon writing this book to tell the REAL story of the operation.

This is a really addictive book that acts like an emotional roller coaster as Jim gets drawn into the operation more and more, at time this is funny and sad as Jim struggles with the consequences of the operations actions as he starts to build up friendships with the people he's trying to convict.

I really wanted to HATE this book but I can honestly say that it's brilliant and I for one will definitely be reading this again.

This is being made into a film shortly and providing the movie follows the book I certainly an anticipating its release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It would make a good film....oh wait!!!!, 26 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not quite running with the firm more of a casual jog with some lads from the pub. I.D was a great film (back then) and although I'm sure "infiltrating" hooligans is a scary part of the job sadly the book didn't read like this. There is a lot of build up for nothing and there is no mention of any serious trouble. The love story (if you can call it that) was pointless and there really isn't anything to it, a pretty girl says hello to you, hardly Mills and Boon. With all due respect the author seems to get more credibility because it was Millwall and he's living off their reputation.

I bought the book because I was fed up of all the same hooligan books that do the rounds. If knocking about with lads that like beer, watching football and get a little bit rowdy makes you an undercover policeman then most of us who read this will qualify. I read it on holiday which is just as well otherwise I may have given up. This is deffo a book for the new breed of Stone Island wearing Danny Dyer type kids you see knocking around chip shops outside grounds these days. if you have the time get the book if you don't watch the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Running with the Firm, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the film ID, and after hearing James on the Colin Murray Show I knew I had to read this book. It didn't disappoint at times I did laugh out loud as I'd read passages that I'd forgotten about from the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Running with the Firm
Running with the Firm by James Bannon (Hardcover - 15 Aug 2013)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews