Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling revelation from a brave girl
Not a subject I thought I'd really want to read about, but a friend who'd been particularly shocked by the case persuaded me to buy it. This book is a compelling, revealing and, indeed, a shocking read. A well written story that had me welling up in places, angry, frustrated. Could be a film, if anyone's brave enough.

The story grips you, but it's educational...
Published 9 months ago by William

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars heart breaking book
Very enlightening book about how easy it is for rebelias teenagers to fall into the trap of these evil men. They should have got life. The girl has to live with it for the rest of hers. Poor kid
Published 3 months ago by Eva


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling revelation from a brave girl, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl A: The truth about the Rochdale sex ring by the victim who stopped them (Paperback)
Not a subject I thought I'd really want to read about, but a friend who'd been particularly shocked by the case persuaded me to buy it. This book is a compelling, revealing and, indeed, a shocking read. A well written story that had me welling up in places, angry, frustrated. Could be a film, if anyone's brave enough.

The story grips you, but it's educational too. I thought I knew what "grooming" was... but I didn't. I just knew a dictionary definition of the word. This girl has lived it. I didn't really understand how a middle-class life could end up in such horrors. I didn't understand how a girl could be so ensnared by an evil gang, despite not being locked up or anything. Girl A was 'free' to do as she pleased, but the psychological hold they put on her is clear - and stronger than any chains. Her decisions are perplexing at times... but I think that just illustrates how she was gripped. And what a life some people lead - the offenders must have such a weird outlook on life - can they ever change in prison? And the poor girls. It's a cultural eye-opener - a culture within my own home county. Unfortunately, I understand that it goes on in a lot of people's home counties.

You get the feeling that she could have broken free much earlier, if she'd had any sort of support from the authorities, which also raises emotions. I'll not explain why here.

It's not a spoiler to say that she did break free in the end (it's on the front cover!)... I really hope she can use the convictions to mentally put it all behind her and move on.

I finished the book on Sunday... but it's one of those that stays in your head days later, leading me to write this glowing review now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and brave, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm so glad these vile perpetrators were brought to justice. It's just a shame that this crime is bigger than people think, lessons have been learned but it needs the children to speak out and the authorities to protect them from the moment they report it.
I'm so glad that girl A has moved a step forward in trying to gain a normal lifestyle,I wish her every success and also her daughter.
Very well written and honest.
Every parent should read as it can happen to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One very brave girl, 27 Oct 2013
This review is from: Girl A: The truth about the Rochdale sex ring by the victim who stopped them (Paperback)
A harrowing read, that at times, gets a little repetitive, but overall is very well written.

Girl A is a remarkable young lady who has climbed through some horrendous times during her teenage years. Social Services and the Police Force leave a lot of questions as to why they allowed the events to happen. In today's society, this should never, ever, have got to this stage, and we only know the tip of the problems. Several times, throughout the book, I became very angry at the authorities. These people get paid, and they failed these young women on a massive scale.

Girl A holds my uttermost respect to not only have survived but to be able to help publish this book about her story. I hope the proceeds from sales enhances her and her families life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brave, incredible young woman, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read! A brave young woman put in an impossible position.
Be proud if yourself for staying strong
Inspirational!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make this book into a film.....bravery at its finest., 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thankyou to the young lady who was so brave to share this horrific story.
You have stood up and shown every other person who needs help that there is a light at the end of the tunnel.
You cannot imagine how your story will change the future.
You made me laugh,and you made me cry- it was a privilege to share your story with you.
May you continue to Reach for the Stars ,climb every mountain and now that rainbows shining over you I know your dreams will all come true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes for harrowing reading, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very compelling read that exposes unpleasant truths about modern Britain and how the most poor and poverty stricken amongst white females are it seems, those most open to abuse. This book is a very sad indictment against modern society, I can only hope the police and social services will be more vigilant in future.
As for girl A, I can only feel the utmost compassion for her and the utmost admiration for her bravery in telling her story. I wish her well in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwrenching, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly I would like to send a big hug to Girl A, for finding the strength and courage to tell her awful story. This book actually gave me nightmares! I still live and grew up on a council estate in Heywood, ate at The Balti House (thankfully it has closed now, as has Tasty Bites) and rode around in Eagle Taxis (also recently closed down... wonder why!!!) The sick feeling I get from knowing this could quite easily have been me and g hat at some point I was probably in the same room as these vile creatures, is enough to make me want to wrap my own now teenage daughter in cotton wool and never let her out of my sight. Stay strong sweetheart. You were NEVER to blame! xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have nothing but praise for "Hannah" and the strength she found to not only see justice done but to share her story. In doing so I hope that she is successful in saving many more girls, vulnerable or otherwise from the clutches of evil men. No matter what race they are. An inspiring,tragic and moving account of something which should never have been allowed to happen in this day and age. I wish this young girl and her family all the best for a brighter future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girl A's Story the Final Act as yet to be played out!, 16 Nov 2013
This review is from: Girl A: The truth about the Rochdale sex ring by the victim who stopped them (Paperback)
I have read Girl A: The truth about the Rochdale sex ring by the victim who stopped them by Anonymous (Girl A) (10 Oct 2013).

I have never felt the need to comment upon a product\book item on Amazon being a customer for over a decade but this book left me incensed.

What comes through very clearly in the book is that the Police, CPS, Social Services etc. etc. did not undertake their legal duties & responsibilities to the victims of the paedophile gangs. The body of evidence was there from the outset when the victims first had contact with the various legal bodies and were providing statements & evidence of what was going on in their lives.

Criminal prosecutions need to be brought forward for individuals from the Police, CPS, Social Services etc. etc. for criminal negligence and a dereliction of duty. Sorry does not cut it and we the good people of Britain citizens DO NOT accept their apology & failings from the authorities.

Can we as a community now bring pressure to bear to see individuals from Police, CPS, Social Services stand in the dock and face criminal proceedings for negligence.

Are we going to carry on paying for individuals through our tax system for failing to protect the children from the paedophiles, are we content Police officers will be promoted in the future when he or she failed to take seriously a child evidence that they were a victim of paedophilia gangs, are you content a CPS lawyer will carry on working as a barrister/lawyer earning vast sums of money when their initial decision was not to pursue the allegations in court to bring these paedophiles to justice, are we content that Social Services labelled these children as 'prostitutes' and 'they chose this lifestyle', criminal prosecutions NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars girl A, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book and was disgusted to read how so many vulnerable girls were being groomed in our local area. The police should of taken seriously what girl A had told them. She was let down by the police, social services and the local housing. In this day and age they should know that these things can happen and there should be mire help for these vulnerable girls. I just hope social services, police and the local housing will learn from there mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Girl A: The truth about the Rochdale sex ring by the victim who stopped them
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews