Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating story of the real life of a continental pro.
Before the advent of team sky, Cav & Wiggo mania, cycling was a peculiar sport in Britain practised by few and understood by even less, most participants like myself had a Father or other introduction to the sport, very few kids in the late 70's and 80's grew up wanting a road bike, never mind a professional cycling career.

Robert Millar's tour exploits were 5...
Published 23 months ago by gary marshall

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but a little dull.
Having previously read 'the secret race' by Tyler Hamilton I was hungry for more shenanigans from within the peleton so I quickly scooped up Charlie's book. However, although it is informative, insightful and witty in places, I couldn't help but yawn and skip pages due to similarly bleak anecdotes where nothing really exciting happens, there's a lack of truly interesting...
Published 20 months ago by nick johnson


‹ Previous | 18 9 1014 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars enlightening, inspirational and remarkable, 5 Dec. 2014
I've many autobiographies by professional cyclists but none of them capture life in th peloton from the perspective Charlie had. Having read this book i seem to want to dig that bit harder on training rides and in races, a true inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into the sport. I hope my boys choose something other than professional cycling as a job., 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written, detailed but unburdened by too many facts and dates. Really would have loved it for you to have come up trumps mate. I don't want to ruin it for everyone else, so I'll leave it there. Best of luck to you and your family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A compelling read!, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A subject matter and a story brilliantly told.... a career benchmarked the success of a. team is transferable to so many professions but Wegelius' recognition that his life would be that of a professional domestique was inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty reality of cycling, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good read gives a great insight t to what is really y happen in g in the Pendleton the commeradery and the trials and tribulations of pro cycling. honest and balance
ed view cap a very turbulent period.I. the sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute belter., 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it from the beginning to the very end. Devastatingly honest and full of character from start to finish. Any cyclist who enjoys the journey more than the destination should buy this book and read it. Chapeau Charly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 14 Aug. 2013
By 
KLP "KLP" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present just as Tour de France started. Fascinating insight into how that world works. Much more enjoyable than just reading about the 'stars'. I would recommend this book - and not just to cycling fanatics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read. Perhaps from HIS point of view, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Domestique: The Real-life Ups and Downs of a Tour Pro (Paperback)
Very good read. Perhaps from HIS point of view, but he comes clean with his involvement with the Italians during the world championships. Respect for that, and for the role of the domestique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good back ground info on cycling as a pro, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a very interesting insight into the real life of a pro cyclist, learnt a lot. Just Charly does not seem happy through most of it...well till the end. Very personal book though. Did enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw review in Sunday Times,bought for friend (serious brwnie points) who raved about it,have since read myself and really enjoyed having an insight into the nuts and cogs of modern cycling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but flawed., 26 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. Anthony J. Webb "Spider" (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the better cycling biogs. Much more interesting than the usual string of successes and feeble anecdotes. Could do with better editing and the language cleaning up though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 1014 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Domestique: The Real-life Ups and Downs of a Tour Pro
Domestique: The Real-life Ups and Downs of a Tour Pro by Charly Wegelius (Paperback - 3 April 2014)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews