Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating story of the real life of a continental pro.
Before the advent of team sky, Cav & Wiggo mania, cycling was a peculiar sport in Britain practised by few and understood by even less, most participants like myself had a Father or other introduction to the sport, very few kids in the late 70's and 80's grew up wanting a road bike, never mind a professional cycling career.

Robert Millar's tour exploits were 5...
Published 14 months ago by gary marshall

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but a little dull.
Having previously read 'the secret race' by Tyler Hamilton I was hungry for more shenanigans from within the peleton so I quickly scooped up Charlie's book. However, although it is informative, insightful and witty in places, I couldn't help but yawn and skip pages due to similarly bleak anecdotes where nothing really exciting happens, there's a lack of truly interesting...
Published 12 months ago by nick johnson


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute belter., 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Domestique: The Real-life Ups and Downs of a Tour Pro (Hardcover)
Loved it from the beginning to the very end. Devastatingly honest and full of character from start to finish. Any cyclist who enjoys the journey more than the destination should buy this book and read it. Chapeau Charly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good back ground info on cycling as a pro, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Domestique: The Real-life Ups and Downs of a Tour Pro (Hardcover)
a very interesting insight into the real life of a pro cyclist, learnt a lot. Just Charly does not seem happy through most of it...well till the end. Very personal book though. Did enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top read, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read a lot of cycling books. This is up there with Rough Ride as a gritty and honest look at life in the peloton. It really does dissect what it is to be a domestique and the rather unique nature of the job. I am struggling to think of a similar role in any other sport. I feel for him, especially his treatment by British cycling after his naive decision to ride for the Italians at the world's. Probably says as much about the lack of understanding of the continental system of riding than it does about him. Top read, wish it were a lot longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 29 July 2013
By 
Mrs E M Spierling (Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book - gives insight into life on the road as a professional cyclist with all of the bumps and scratches!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honest account of top class cyclist life, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book, gets behind the myth of the professional cyclist life and show you what it is like to be just one of the riders in the peleton. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read !, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stunning, real life story of a genuinly talented bike rider. I have nothing but admiration for him telling his story in the way he did.
I hope he writes a follow up, with some of the bits that the lawyers would not allow in this one. A far more entertaining read than B Wiggins My Time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a rare perspective, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love road cycling and the mythology and drama of grand tour racing but this book offered a rare perspective, that of a gregorio workhouse that achieved an early English place in the continental peloton by force of character, adaptability and hard work. This is a view of a career in cycling from a new vantage point - I look forward to his tales of life as a DS in another 10 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Domestique: The Real-life Ups and Downs of a Tour Pro (Hardcover)
A different view of the pro peloton. Really insightful and totally different to other pro cycling books. A great read i would recommend to all who enjoy rider biographies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A different cycling book, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this a really easy read. Very enjoyable but perhaps left me wanting a bit more particularly on his move to Garmin. It would also have been nice to know what it was the lawyers wouldn't let him include!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastique, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Domestique: The Real-life Ups and Downs of a Tour Pro (Hardcover)
Great read whether or not you are a cycling fan. Driven, determined, honest - just couldn't put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Domestique: The Real-life Ups and Downs of a Tour Pro
Domestique: The Real-life Ups and Downs of a Tour Pro by Charly Wegelius (Hardcover - 6 Jun 2013)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews