Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating story of the real life of a continental pro.
Before the advent of team sky, Cav & Wiggo mania, cycling was a peculiar sport in Britain practised by few and understood by even less, most participants like myself had a Father or other introduction to the sport, very few kids in the late 70's and 80's grew up wanting a road bike, never mind a professional cycling career.

Robert Millar's tour exploits were 5...
Published 21 months ago by gary marshall

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but a little dull.
Having previously read 'the secret race' by Tyler Hamilton I was hungry for more shenanigans from within the peleton so I quickly scooped up Charlie's book. However, although it is informative, insightful and witty in places, I couldn't help but yawn and skip pages due to similarly bleak anecdotes where nothing really exciting happens, there's a lack of truly interesting...
Published 18 months ago by nick johnson


‹ Previous | 16 7 814 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read that follows the career of one of the pelotons unsung heroes! It follows the tried and tested recipe of most of the other pro riders life stories and gives a good insight into Wegelius's own rise to the top of his gain.
I particularly liked his explanation that led to his and Tom Southams actions at the 2005 World Champs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cycling's more than just about the big names, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great insight to a sport I know littler about. Makes you realise cycling is about more than just te big names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark sinister bitter tales, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really interesting insight in to how Charly Wegelius felt about his professional career. It's an honest account of what it was like to be pro rider and domestique. From the dirty hotel rooms to the ludicrous managers no detail of his hardship is left untold.
Somehow though, although I really enjoyed the book, my lasting feeling is one of bitterness. Charly Wegelius seems angry, annoyed and fed up through most of the stories. The lack of passion or enjoyment in the descriptions of cycling is heart breaking. In a few stories the motivation of money and the way cycling is turned in to a soulless job makes him seem bitter and cold. My sense is that when writing the book and deciding on a tone Wegelius and Southam firmly disregarded the rose tinted glasses.
However for me I think it may have gone too far. Wegelius seems almost like a worker ant, pragmatic and cynical as a domestique, devoid of feelings beyond those of a mercenary looking to make a quick dollar. He may be a lovely bloke but at the end of this book I don't like him or the unglamorous dark under belly of the peleton he reveals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome read from a different aspect.., 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a great read and from a completely different aspect... No drugs, no prima donnas, and no fairytale ending! just an interesting read.. thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous read, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written book that gives a real insight into one of the toughest sports in the world. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars None, 6 Aug. 2013
a good book that hums along at a good pace, nice view of the pro peloton and how his views changed. worth a read if you are interested in the real subtleties of a bike race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top read, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read a lot of cycling books. This is up there with Rough Ride as a gritty and honest look at life in the peloton. It really does dissect what it is to be a domestique and the rather unique nature of the job. I am struggling to think of a similar role in any other sport. I feel for him, especially his treatment by British cycling after his naive decision to ride for the Italians at the world's. Probably says as much about the lack of understanding of the continental system of riding than it does about him. Top read, wish it were a lot longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 29 July 2013
By 
Mrs E M Spierling (Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book - gives insight into life on the road as a professional cyclist with all of the bumps and scratches!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honest account of top class cyclist life, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book, gets behind the myth of the professional cyclist life and show you what it is like to be just one of the riders in the peleton. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read !, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stunning, real life story of a genuinly talented bike rider. I have nothing but admiration for him telling his story in the way he did.
I hope he writes a follow up, with some of the bits that the lawyers would not allow in this one. A far more entertaining read than B Wiggins My Time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 814 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Domestique: The Real-life Ups and Downs of a Tour Pro
Domestique: The Real-life Ups and Downs of a Tour Pro by Charly Wegelius (Hardcover - 6 Jun. 2013)
£19.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews