Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy for Xmas present
12 year old nephew loves Dynamo, does lots of card tricks himself so thought he might enjoy this bio, thoug did worry it may be a bit old for him. However he has already finished it and loved it!!
Published on 13 Jan. 2013 by JanMarie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read! Basically the book is about how he ...
Verdict: A good read! Basically the book is about how he first developed his interest in magic, and how his career as a magician has developed to the point where he is now, and it has not been easy. However, if you are expecting him to explain how he walks on water, or walks down the face of a skyscraper like a human gecko, you will be disappointed. How many...
Published 2 months ago by Mike Wort


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy for Xmas present, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing Is Impossible: The Real-Life Adventures of a Street Magician (Hardcover)
12 year old nephew loves Dynamo, does lots of card tricks himself so thought he might enjoy this bio, thoug did worry it may be a bit old for him. However he has already finished it and loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing Is Impossible: The Real-Life Adventures of a Street Magician (Hardcover)
Very good.Very interesting. Dynamo is down to earth, and quite funny. I am only half way through the book, but loving every minute of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing Is Impossible: The Real-Life Adventures of a Street Magician (Hardcover)
I brought this book for a friend and she really liked it! Lots of pictures of good quality in there as well :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dynamo – Nothing is Impossible | Review, 19 May 2014
By 
Nothing is Impossible is the autobiography of a Bradford lad called Stephen Frayne, a guy who was badly bullied as a kid and who managed to turn it in to something positive. You might have heard of him – he captured the world’s attention as Dynamo, the ‘Magician Impossible‘ who gained notoriety for a variety of high-profile stunts including his stint walking on the waters of the Thames.

Now, I don’t know how much help Dynamo had when writing this, but I’ll admit that the whole thing is very well written with no obvious mistakes and extraordinary insight in to the magician’s mind. Whilst he doesn’t reveal the secrets behind his magic, that’s not what you want to hear anyway – if you knew how he did his tricks, it would ruin them!

However, you do learn why he does the magic that he does, and it’s fascinating to see how his troubled childhood in Bradford helped to shape the man that he became. He also covers his early career, and it’s particularly interesting to see how the Prince’s Trust helped him to get to where he is today.

My copy holds a little extra significance – it’s signed by the man himself, as part of an offer that he posted through his Facebook page where you could get your copy signed if you pre-ordered it before the book’s launch. I would’ve pre-ordered it anyway – he’s a fascinating man, and you should leap at the chance to find out a bit more about what makes him tick.

Celebrity autobiographies are usually vacuous and faintly depressing, and they reek of ghost-writing and a lack of talent – here, Dynamo rewards the Dynamites, his dedicated followers, with something a little different. A little special. A little magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A troubled soul...., 22 Nov. 2013
Dynamo is one of Britain's greatest entertainers and therefore it was with immense pleasure that I heard a few months ago that he was publishing his autobiography in view of the rich and impressive career he has had so far (and hopefully this will continue for many years to come!). And Dynamo the man emerges from this book very much like his tv persona portrayals: honest, truthful and moreover, wonderfully human.

The course of his life, from his childhood to the present, is pretty comprehensive and we get a nice balance of his experiences from both his personal and professional life, along with numerous interesting and amusing anecdotes. For those following the history of British theatre, this is a treasure trove of information regarding his time with the Marlowe Society at Cambridge, the Birmingham Rep, the National Theatre, the Old Vic/Prospect Theatre Company and of course, his highly successful tenure at the Royal Shakespeare Company in the early 1980s and after. Sadly, all this isn't indexed and one has to navigate via the chapter titles which of course is more than possible but not so convenient.

As mentioned by other reviewers though, a lack of proofreading and factual errors sometimes mar one's enjoyment of this otherwise very lovely book. As this is a collaborative effort between Dynamo and Derren Brown (or to be more precise, the inside cover states that this is an 'as told to' book...it would have perhaps been better to explicitly state this on the front cover, or even in HarperCollins' press release/book description), it is rather difficult to know who (along with the proofreaders) is responsible for this.

It was disconcerting, for example, to see Shakespeare's 'Benedick' after having been spelt in the correct way for a great many pages suddenly spelt 'Benedict' - though this happened only once - in the following chapter. With regard to Christine Edzard's film 'The Fool' in which Dynamo plays two roles, Frederick is the name of the clerk and not the name of the speculator who is named Sir John. In Chapter 13, 'The Passport Prince', it is stated that about thirty years into his acting career, Dynamo's passport was discovered to have an Israeli visa whereupon he was hastily issued with a new passport to enable him to survive immigration in Cairo. In fact, this story was related in Peter Lewis's book, 'The Facts about a Theatre Company: Featuring the Prospect Company' (G. Whizzard Publications, 1978) which described the Prospect Company's 1977 tour when this took place. So therefore it was not about thirty but about twenty years into his career. But seeing that Dynamo has played hundreds of roles in his long career, he can be forgiven for the occasional slip of memory. However, it can't be denied that it was extremely troubling to see a section of Lewis's book being used (pages 188-189 in 'As Luck Would Have It' read almost the same as pages 25-26 in 'The Facts...') without proper attribution. It also speaks, and I hate to say it, of laziness on the part of the writer and like one reviewer mentioned before me, Sir Derek deserves so much better than that.

Had this been proofread, and more importantly, thoroughly read through by those familiar with Dynamo's career and the numerous roles he's done, these errors might have easily been avoided. These problems aside however, there is still much to enjoy in this memoir and fans will learn a good deal about this great man as well as his craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy read but, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy read but if you watched the tv show then most of his story is in that . but a nice read and a nice guy with a nice story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing Is Impossible: The Real-Life Adventures of a Street Magician (Hardcover)
It was a very good, interesting and very inspirational. I think it was good value and totally worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than i thought, 29 Sept. 2013
By 
Ms. B. Kelly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ive been fascinated by dynamo I think he is clever at what he does
so I was intrigued about his life, his life hasn't been easy with illness and being bullied,
he has crohns disease and I do to so I know how he felt.
overall a good read I would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing Is Impossible: The Real-Life Adventures of a Street Magician (Hardcover)
I didn't buy this book for myself but as a present for someone who is a fan. I have watched a couple of his programmes and find him a compulsive view. I understand from the person who I bought the book is that this an enjoyable read and an insight into the man and his background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing Is Impossible: The Real-Life Adventures of a Street Magician (Hardcover)
Arrived fast and its a great read starts telling you about Dynamo himself which is great as like me i was unaware of how he started and the problems were ahead for him .. Great story ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nothing Is Impossible: The Real-Life Adventures of a Street Magician
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews