Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Returns to original format.
On the basis of the change in format in the 2012 Guide had reservations about buying 2013 edition unless the format reverted to counties. Having purchased the 2013 edition delighted to say it is back in the original format of categorising pubs by county rather than geographical regions. Still see some excellent pubs not appearing as a main entry presumably because they...
Published 21 months ago by Ballroom39

versus
33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guide Ethos Change
Beware! The ethos of the Good Pub Guide has changed. Now, an outstandingly good pub up to "Main Entry" standard has to pay the Guide to be included as a main entry. Otherwise it is relegated to an "also ran" entry and buried in the "Worth a Visit" section. This means that many excellent pubs are now difficult to locate (as they are not included in the map section)...
Published 20 months ago by Mr. A. E. Radnor


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guide Ethos Change, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. A. E. Radnor (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Pub Guide 2013 (Paperback)
Beware! The ethos of the Good Pub Guide has changed. Now, an outstandingly good pub up to "Main Entry" standard has to pay the Guide to be included as a main entry. Otherwise it is relegated to an "also ran" entry and buried in the "Worth a Visit" section. This means that many excellent pubs are now difficult to locate (as they are not included in the map section) unless you know the name of the village and look for a "*" annotation against the pub name. Therefore the usefulness of the Guide has declined significantly. However, this year the editors have reverted to the old layout of listing by counties, making it much easier to use. Pity about the main entry charge though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This guide has gone downhill, 3 Dec 2012
By 
S. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Pub Guide 2013 (Paperback)
Sadly having bought and used the Good Pub Guide for many, many years I now have to admit that it's no longer worth getting. Instead of just using reports from customers and the editorial members who have visited the pubs, the editors have recently gone over to charging pubs for full entry into the guide. As a consequence there are now many excellent pubs not included because they won't pay up, and some which are not so great who have paid to get their pubs a main entry. This is a sad day for me - I feel that an old friend has chosen the commercial rather than the ethical route, so I won't be buying this guide again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good...but..., 25 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Good Pub Guide 2013 (Paperback)
The Good Pub Guide is just what it says, a good pub guide. I have generally found the appraisals reliable, trustworthy and good. The "but" is as others have said very poor maps and descriptions of where the pubs are. The writers really need to sort this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pubs pay for entry, 31 Mar 2013
By 
Geoffrey Pierson (Churt, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Good Pub Guide 2013 (Paperback)
We still can't be sure that the best pubs are listed because an entry fee has to be paid to the publisher. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A very disappointing pub guide, 18 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Good Pub Guide 2013 (Paperback)
As somebody who likes to visit pubs that serve good honest food, I was very disappointed to see pubs in the guide that I would say are not the best. I always keep an open mind when reading reviews, as everybody has their own interpretation of things - but I have to say I agree with some of the previous reviews of this book, that it is more for pubs to pay for advertising. I was surprised that all the reviews in the book are written by Jo Public and not by a professional critic. I recommend saving yourself some money, and if want to read a review by Jo Public go to Trip Advisor and there will be more than one review on a pub, and its free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Returns to original format., 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Pub Guide 2013 (Paperback)
On the basis of the change in format in the 2012 Guide had reservations about buying 2013 edition unless the format reverted to counties. Having purchased the 2013 edition delighted to say it is back in the original format of categorising pubs by county rather than geographical regions. Still see some excellent pubs not appearing as a main entry presumably because they will not pay for a main entry - which if correct undermines the integrity of the Guide?? Also can we have the coloured maps back please rather than the mono colour maps introduced last year which are difficult to read. If costs are a problem do we really need the very white paper introduced last year on the text pages, bearing in mind the product has a useful 12 months life ??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy a different guide, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Pub Guide 2013 (Paperback)
Not as good as other Pub Guides. Some excellent pubs in our area (Northumberland) with real ales are not mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pubs Now Pay for Main Entry, 26 Nov 2012
By 
P. Puntan (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Pub Guide 2013 (Paperback)
Before taking into account the Pubs in the main section note that the pubs have to pay for a main entry into this guide.

A large number of pubs which I have been to are no longer listed in the main sections and "dumped" into the ad hoc section.

Some of the pubs in the main section are also a bit hit and miss, I don't think they are being as robust in the checking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better as a Book, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Decided to try Kindle version of this excellent guide, but not so effective as the book because the maps are cramped and unreadable on the Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As usual... VERY useful, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Pub Guide 2013 (Paperback)
Already used to winkle out some lovely little stop-over pubs to stay in, so up to the usual standard.
My only gripe is on-going with the publishers and it's a "local" gripe.
They insist on including all Wirral peninsula pubs in with the Lancashire chapter. Historically, the Wirral has NEVER been in Lancashire and, in fact, was a part of Cheshire; all of Wirral areas still have a "CH" postcode. This has caused many people to miss out on excellent pubs in this region. In one case, I recommended a visit to a certain pub on the Wirral to a friend and he could not find the entry in the Guide.... of course it was stuck there in Lancashire for some reason. Inaccuracies like this are irritating.
Also the addition of Latitude/Longitude entries as well as Grid References would be useful.
However, this remains an invaluable volume. I don't leave on a trip without consulting it first and and it always accompanies us on said trips. Keep up the good work Alistair and Fiona.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Pub Guide 2013
The Good Pub Guide 2013 by Fiona Stapley (Paperback - 6 Sep 2012)
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews