Customer Reviews


579 Reviews
5 star:
 (247)
4 star:
 (131)
3 star:
 (122)
2 star:
 (40)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


228 of 238 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a go!
This has been serialised in the Daily Mail all week (11th Feb) so I've been following it with interest and ordered the book so I can get more information and follow it properly. The points I really like are that on the 2 'diet' days there is no starving yourself and you can still eat a good variety of foods. On the non-diet days it doesn't mean you can eat anything and...
Published on 15 Feb. 2013 by Bizimum

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High protein 2 days a week, Mediterranean diet 5, might suit some people, but is the medical evidence good enough?
I must admit to being surprised when this book was published. I had just finished looking at the studies into diets that Michelle Harvie and others have completed (during my research for The Weight Issue). Although her findings were interesting, her trial of this diet only lasted 4 months and just 115 women were studied.
I was sure that she would not expect these...
Published 7 months ago by Dr A E Oates


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

228 of 238 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a go!, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 2-Day Diet: Diet Two Days a Week. Eat Normally for Five. (Paperback)
This has been serialised in the Daily Mail all week (11th Feb) so I've been following it with interest and ordered the book so I can get more information and follow it properly. The points I really like are that on the 2 'diet' days there is no starving yourself and you can still eat a good variety of foods. On the non-diet days it doesn't mean you can eat anything and everything you want, just try to adopt a more sensible approach to the treats - there are delicious pudding receipes to try too. The fact the diet is only 2 days per week means I'm more likely to stick with it in the long term and hopefully keep the weight off permanently which is something we'd all like to happen. There's lots of common sense advice in here too - there's no magic wand solution and you do need to do some exercise. It also says that just a 5% reduction in weight can result in a drop of 40% of the chances of you getting breast cancer so facts like that are a real inspiration to try it. Obviously I've only been doing it for the week, but I have to say I found the 2 diet days easy to manage and I'm certainly not feeling starving or that I'm depriving myself. I'm a real 'foodie' so if I can do it anyone can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 2-Day Diet: Diet Two Days a Week. Eat Normally for Five. (Paperback)
very clear how to folllow the diet. i followed it for 2 weeks and lost half a stone after losing 3 lb from following weightwatchers for 9 months!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2-Day Diet, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 2-Day Diet: Diet Two Days a Week. Eat Normally for Five. (Paperback)
Just into 3 weeks on the diet but have found a diet (or rather a new way of eating for life) that I can follow and stick to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High protein 2 days a week, Mediterranean diet 5, might suit some people, but is the medical evidence good enough?, 30 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The 2-Day Diet: Diet Two Days a Week. Eat Normally for Five. (Paperback)
I must admit to being surprised when this book was published. I had just finished looking at the studies into diets that Michelle Harvie and others have completed (during my research for The Weight Issue). Although her findings were interesting, her trial of this diet only lasted 4 months and just 115 women were studied.
I was sure that she would not expect these results to be widely extrapolated to be useful for the whole of the overweight population, without further detailed study.
In particular, these findings only relate to women who were selected from those with a high risk of breast cancer (not representative of the general population). The amounts of weight lost do not seem radically different to that on other diets generally.

The premise of this diet book is that you eat 2 days a week of a diet that has a high protein content, and the rest of the week you follow a Mediterranean diet. There don't seem to be any controlled clinical trials of any decent length of time (1-2 years) of people on this diet, to see if weight loss is maintained

As far as the medical evidence is concerned - any conclusion on the effectiveness of this sort of diet for weight loss can only be speculative at this time. It may work for some people, but it is also possible that it could have an adverse effect on health. The 2 high protein days are of particular worry - a study by Prof Lagiou (Harvard School of Public Health) found that, over time, an increase in protein by 10% in the diet was significantly associated with increased risk of heart or circulatory disease.

I am also slightly concerned that parts of this book might be misleading. It is well established from studies of twins and adopted people, that weight is one of the strongest inherited traits we have. Within the population, 50-70% of the difference in weight of individuals is due to genetic influences. Yet this book gives the impression that only 1.5% of our weight variation is genetic. I think, from the reference that is given, this is from a paper where the authors were trying to find the genes that were associated with obesity. As I understand it, they found only 1.5%, but my reading of this is that they were disappointed that they couldn't pinpoint the cause of the inherited tendency to weight gain - not that it didn't exist.

I suspect that many people who try this sort of regime might end up modifying it, so it ends up less rigid, and more of "I'll eat a bit less 2 days a week". Studies have shown that the best diet for long term weight loss for the individual, is one that suits them personally, and their lifestyle. The person who may find this diet helpful might be someone who can cope with being hungry 2 days a week. A review of the medical evidence associated with this diet, intermittent fasting, and other diets is included in the book The Weight Issue.The Weight Issue: -It's your genes plus modern living. How to make an individual weight loss plan based on medical evidence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says.........., 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 2-Day Diet: Diet Two Days a Week. Eat Normally for Five. (Paperback)
This has certainly worked for me and have lost 12lbs in just over 3 weeks
I haven't felt ravenous like on some diets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comparison with Michael Mosley's Fast diet, 12 May 2013
By 
J Hutch (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The 2-Day Diet: Diet Two Days a Week. Eat Normally for Five. (Paperback)
For both Dr Harvie's 2 day diet and Dr Mosley's Fast diet you restrict your diet considerably for 2 days each week whilst you eat more freely for the remaining 5 days. This is great news psychologically; you don't continually feel you are depriving yourself, and the 2 restricted days can feel like a positive challenge that can be done. Essentially this should make the diets easier to stick to for longer than that achieved with normal 7 day a week diets.
The two restricted days on MM's 'Fast' diet may be tougher at first than those on Dr H's diet since on the Fast diet you should restrict yourself to 500 kcal per day (if you are a women & 600 for men) but roughly 1000 kcals if you are following this other diet. However, on Dr H's diet you are encouraged to do the 2 restricted days back to back, whereas there is a gap between fast days on the Fast diet. I found it hard going for the first 4 restricted days on the Fast diet but eventually your appetite reduces and it gets easier. The great news is that appetites seems to be reprogrammed on both diets. Both books give you examples and advice on what you can eat during these days but Dr H's diet is much more prescriptive, tabling how much of each type of food to eat depending on your weight without the need for you to calorie count. It also means that, apart from a substantial reduction in carbohydrates, you are getting a healthy diet, whereas this may not necessarily be the case with the Fast diet if you chose your 500/600 kcals unwisely. Purchasing the paperback rather than the electronic copies is advisable so it's easier to refer to different parts of the book.
Dr Harvie's 2 day diet is also quiet prescriptive on the 5 other days of the week; it tables the amounts recommended by food groups which vary depending on your age, sex and weight. Conversely you are allowed to eat whatever you want on the Fast diet 5 days a week. Great news if you like to spoil yourself, but if you get carried away eating a lot more than the average recommended intake of 2000/2500 kcal a per day then you are unlikely to loose much weight.
I know people who are following the Fast diet and some following Dr Harvie's diet and both groups are loosing weight at a nice steady rate. Both diets aim to loose fat in particular from the waist and aim to increase insulin sensitivity, thereby reducing your risk of developing diabetes as well as other chronic diseases like heart disease and cancer which are linked to abdominal adiposity ( and its various adverse mechanisms). Dr Harvie and Professor Howell are health researchers and have solid research evidence that they have undertaken on their 2 day diet. Dr Mosley on the other hand has based his Fasting diet on research evidence of intermittent fasting diets of other researchers, e.g Dr Harvie's, but as yet does not have direct research evidence to support his diet specifically. Personally I think either diet will be beneficial, and I'm keen for research to be done on MM's Fasting diet; I suspect men and people who have never dieted before might be more likely to follow this diet.
Dr Mosley's Fasting diet book is quicker and easier to read, easier to follow, whereas Dr Harvie's has a lot more information, more advice, more case studies and is perhaps more convincing because of it, if you need convincing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must get started, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 2-Day Diet: Diet Two Days a Week. Eat Normally for Five. (Paperback)
good book - all makes sense, easy to follow can't think of any reason not to follow this diet - would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tiny writing, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 2-Day Diet: Diet Two Days a Week. Eat Normally for Five. (Paperback)
Not a bad book which a good introduction to the concept and background of the diet. However there were a couple of things that made the book quite difficult to read for me.

I can understand the idea behind the diet and I have done the 5:2 diet before, but there seems to be a considerable amount of mathematics required to do this book. Its not based on calories per day but on amount of portions of different foods you need to eat to fulfil your nutritional requirements. I am sure when I have the time to sit down with a calculator it will all come together, but right now I don't.

Also, the writing on the charts is tiny. I am very glad I didn't get the Kindle version as it would have been impossible to read, but its pretty difficult in the book version, especially for those of us not blessed with falcon-like vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should do this., 6 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 2-Day Diet: Diet Two Days a Week. Eat Normally for Five. (Paperback)
A very informative read. For the first time in my life I learnt about food composition, portion control and satisfying eating.
The book is well written, with good, easy to make recipes which after trying them shows how accurate the book is. I have tried for many years to loose weight constructively: at 73 this is the first time I have achieved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works, but it's hard work!, 22 Oct. 2014
By 
Amazonian "Badger" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 2-Day Diet: Diet Two Days a Week. Eat Normally for Five. (Paperback)
I bought this for my wife who has tried most of the popular diets and was looking for something different. She has real difficulty losing weight, being short, post-menopausal and largely inactive. Simply reducing the calories doesn't seem to work for her so she was interested in this "new" system, especially as it was developed by a medical team and was for improvement in certain key health areas, not simply for losing weight per se.

The good news is that it works for her if she follows it - an average loss of a pound a week is very good for her. The bad news is that it is easily the most complicated diet either of us has ever seen. It requires a lot of careful reading, a lot of consultation with the book (what to eat and what not), certainly in the early days, and a lot of careful forward planning. Moreover, it is a complete nonsense to describe the diet as "Diet two days and eat normally for five". The reality is that you diet strictly for two days and eat healthily (i.e. very carefully) for the other five. Don't think you're going to diet for two days and eat as you would normally have eaten before.

In case you're feeling put off by now, I repeat it does work and it does get easier once you get into it. Moreover, the authors promise very real health benefits if you stick to it as a diet for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 2-Day Diet: Diet Two Days a Week. Eat Normally for Five.
The 2-Day Diet: Diet Two Days a Week. Eat Normally for Five. by Tony Howell (Paperback - 14 Feb. 2013)
£10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews