Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars69
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 29 May 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
What if Elizabeth I, the Virgin Queen, had a secret illicit daughter from her affair with Tom Seymour? The book follows Elinor de Lacey, known as Nell, in this story. Unknown to her, she is most probably the Queen's daughter. Growing up in the country, eager to learn and well educated, she begs her mother to go to court. Despite her mother's wishes, Nell goes off to court with dreams of education, further learning and debates with like minded people. Unfortunately for red haired Nell, she discovers her hidden past and as the rumours spread around the Tudor court, will her life be safe?

I quite enjoyed this book. A lot of the time there were events that would be quite improbable, but it was a good "what if" story about Elizabeth I and the infamous Thomas Seymour affair. An enjoyable enough read for fans of this genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 April 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
the story line is cleverly wrought and very beleiveable, once i had started the book i was hooked.
as the story progresses the suspense increases, at each turn of the page you anticipate discovery and disaster.
the life at court, the intrigue and almost cut-throat competition for royal favour is palpable, as is the portrayal of Elizabeth as queen with all her insecurities and resulting cruelty and harshness to those she considers her enemies.
The book is written from the perspective of Nell (the queen's possible bastard daughter), from childhood through to young adulthood, and is both charming and captivating as it charts the innocence of youth to the awareness and fears of life at court.
a thoroughly enjoyable book, well written and fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 January 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I love Phillipa Gregory and would suggest that this author would appeal to her fans. I loved this book, based on a rumour and given a life of its own. I believe the author has done a huge amount of research and has done well, although I did notice a couple of historical mistakes, as a Scot I cringed when Elizabeth the first is named as the queen of England, Wales, France and Scotland, not quite right,she was queen of Calais but had no claim on Scotland (in fact the current QE2 is the QE1 of Scotland). The characters are believable and I did shed the odd tear or two, the last third of the book i found almost impossible to put down. I will certainly be ordering up any further books this author writes, as I like her writing style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 January 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Very like Karen Harpers books about this period.This tells a tale of Elizabeth 1 maybe having a child.
Thoroughly enjoyable and fascinating Ms Chase has captured my heart and I find I must read more of her books.
This tells of that child growing up and going to Court when she reaches the age to be able to do so.It has dark moments and you learn that even a slight slip up can cause you to have your head chopped off.
I really could not have read a better book about this period.Very enjoyable and enlightening.
This book was free for review
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
Very interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
What if Elizabeth Tudor had an illegitimate child ? Well this pacy novel takes this theory and runs with it. If you are prepared to suspend disbelief, & let imagination run free this is a corking historical romance/thriller that really satisfys its criteria.
I've read other earlier novels covering the same subject,and this is definately one of the better books on that topic. Very readable indeed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
great : ))))
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
So disappointing.Throwing in some factual content here and there doesn't make this in anyway believable which is a shame as it's a good idea (and even possible) and it could have been done so much better. It felt very Barbara Cartland in some places which is not what I expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
This is a very readable novel and had obviously been well reserched for historical data. The storyline though does beggar belief at times. It is entertaining fiction and worth reading as a light novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
A good story, but not absolutely believable. I accidentally read it a second time with a vague sense I had read it before, but it wasn't until i'd got to the end that i remembered the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.