Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At the court of The Virgin Queen (or was she?)
A thoroughly enjoyable novel which has intrigue , romance and mystery and historical elements.
Seen through the eyes of Elinor de Lacey the newest lady in waiting to Queen Elizabeth I the novel focuses around the tale that Elizabeth had a secret daughter whilst in the care of her stepmother Katherine Parr , and of what supposedly happened after the daughter was taken...
Published on 22 Jan 2012 by BusyReader

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth a look!
This is a well written and intriguing book. Definitely a different take on a Tudor story than I had perhaps expected.....going along the "what if?" scenario......does make you think a bit and could that have happened?? I have to confess that it took me a bit to get into the story and my immediate reaction of no way that just would have happened attitude, then I tried to...
Published on 3 Jan 2012 by Tinksjane


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Virgin Queen's illicit daughter, 29 May 2012
By 
Gemma "Chocolatebox" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Virgin Queen's Daughter (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What if Elizabeth I, the Virgin Queen, had a secret illicit daughter from her affair with Tom Seymour? The book follows Elinor de Lacey, known as Nell, in this story. Unknown to her, she is most probably the Queen's daughter. Growing up in the country, eager to learn and well educated, she begs her mother to go to court. Despite her mother's wishes, Nell goes off to court with dreams of education, further learning and debates with like minded people. Unfortunately for red haired Nell, she discovers her hidden past and as the rumours spread around the Tudor court, will her life be safe?

I quite enjoyed this book. A lot of the time there were events that would be quite improbable, but it was a good "what if" story about Elizabeth I and the infamous Thomas Seymour affair. An enjoyable enough read for fans of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly enjoyable, 3 April 2012
By 
Colliesaluki "Gub" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Virgin Queen's Daughter (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
the story line is cleverly wrought and very beleiveable, once i had started the book i was hooked.
as the story progresses the suspense increases, at each turn of the page you anticipate discovery and disaster.
the life at court, the intrigue and almost cut-throat competition for royal favour is palpable, as is the portrayal of Elizabeth as queen with all her insecurities and resulting cruelty and harshness to those she considers her enemies.
The book is written from the perspective of Nell (the queen's possible bastard daughter), from childhood through to young adulthood, and is both charming and captivating as it charts the innocence of youth to the awareness and fears of life at court.
a thoroughly enjoyable book, well written and fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What if ..........., 27 Jan 2012
By 
catherine "Catherine" (poole, dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Virgin Queen's Daughter (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What if Elizabeth Tudor had an illegitimate child ? Well this pacy novel takes this theory and runs with it. If you are prepared to suspend disbelief, & let imagination run free this is a corking historical romance/thriller that really satisfys its criteria.
I've read other earlier novels covering the same subject,and this is definately one of the better books on that topic. Very readable indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 20 Jan 2012
By 
L. E. Cooper "Lindsey" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Virgin Queen's Daughter (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love reading historical novels and Elizabeth 1 is a favorite, so this slant on her story was compelling and a totally different way of looking at the Tudor period it's worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb.., 16 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Virgin Queen's Daughter (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Tudor England come alive. Not a who-dun-it but *did* they-do-it!

Superb story telling. Perfect for an evening by the fire. Full marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Imagination Runs Riot, 12 Jan 2012
By 
Richard M. Seel (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Virgin Queen's Daughter (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the first book by the author after visiting the Tower of London and she already had a keen interest in all things Tudor!

The Virgin Queen's Daughter is based on speculation that Princess Elizabeth (as she was at the time) had become pregnant whilst living with Lady Katharine Parr, the last of Henry VIII's wives. Katherine had married Sir Thomas Seymour after the death of Henry VIII and accounts of Elizabeth's servants imply that Thomas Seymour attempted to seduce 14 year old Elizabeth.

Chase allows her imagination to develop and writes an intriguing story of what might have taken place. At the beginning of the book, Elizabeth's "daughter" sees Princess Elizabeth whilst she is held in the Tower and determines to find a magic key which will aid Elizabeth's escape. The book is written in the first person and the "daughter" remembers how during her first visit to London aged five, she had to wear headwear which would hide her red hair and its likeness to Elizabeth's hair. The story starts somewhat implausibly in that I could not imagine a five year old as intelligent as Chase allows her to seem.

But the story gathers pace and will enchant Tudor devotees - although the reader has to stay alert as some chapters have a different date and one might become confused. I particularly liked the way Chase highlights the ways in which Queen Elizabeth I is constantly concerned that the crown might be taken from her. The pictures she paints of the Queen, her maids in waiting, the court and the vying for her attention as well as all the lies told by both them and Elizabeth add to the intrigue.

Whether Chase is able to convince the reader that her story is plausible and the Virgin Queen did have a daughter is for the reader to decide. But this is a book which reading groups would probably enjoy and there is a helpful question section at the end to aid their discussion.

Review by Shirleyanne Seel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Virgin Queens Daughter, 7 Jan 2012
By 
A. V. Calvert (Thorne,Doncaster) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Virgin Queen's Daughter (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Very like Karen Harpers books about this period.This tells a tale of Elizabeth 1 maybe having a child.
Thoroughly enjoyable and fascinating Ms Chase has captured my heart and I find I must read more of her books.
This tells of that child growing up and going to Court when she reaches the age to be able to do so.It has dark moments and you learn that even a slight slip up can cause you to have your head chopped off.
I really could not have read a better book about this period.Very enjoyable and enlightening.
This book was free for review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant Historical romance, 27 Dec 2011
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Virgin Queen's Daughter (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I do enjoy historical novels, but I think that after reading Hilary Mantel's Wolf Hall a lot of Elizabethan material will be ruined for me for ever after. Mantel's book is so sweeping, so immersive and so clever it makes everything else that comes after it (in terms of what I am reading rather than publication date) seem like a dowdy cousin. Ella March Chase has obviously done her research here, and writes well enough. She is good at setting the scene in terms of bedding into historical detail that you should know as a reader, but which often jars if those details come from the mouths of the characters, as they are likely to be things that the people of the time would have taken for granted rather than commented on. By making Nell a naive outsider she gives us fresh eyes to see the world of the court with. I found Nell as a person rather unconvincing to be honest. Given that she is a scholar and has a sharp brain I find that she takes too long to adjust to the world at court and makes stupid mistakes I really couldn't imagine her making, but that is my own perception rather than a 'fact'. I also found the whole premise of the book rather shaky, but it was an interesting conceit and the author handles it nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Virgin Queen's Daughter
The Virgin Queen's Daughter by Ella March Chase (Paperback - 19 Jan 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews