Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and Compelling
This book is everything that you yearn for in a biography. Unlike Oscar De La Hoya's American Son, this is not a sanatised PR exercise. It is a frank, honest, account of Sugar Ray's account and a tale of remorse about his failures with drink, drugs and in wedlock.

I found the book to be compelling and very convincing as issues were addressed such as his...
Published on 10 Sep 2012 by pbrennan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars POOR BINDING
THIS BOOK ARRIVED QUICKLY AND IS A GOOD BOOK BUT HAVING TAKEN THIS BOOK ON HOLIDAY TO READ THE PAGES FELL OUT? BINDING REALLY POOR
Published on 27 May 2012 by tina


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars First rate, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An outstanding read from start to finish. Well written, articulate, honest and never, ever dull. To have admired Ray as a boxer was one thing, but to appreciate the duel persona that was behind the smile is something else. Would recommend this to anyone, though be prepared for a couple of late nights as it's nearly impossible to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Fight: My Story (Paperback)
I bought this as I was going to see the great man himself so now it's personally signed to me! It's a fantastic read about a great man and arguably the greatest fighter of all time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sugar Sugar, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You don't need to be a boxing fan to read this book. The book is well written and believable. I couldn't put it down.
What's also great about his story is you will/can remember a lot of his fights and know the characters if you were brought up watching boxing on TV.
It's all about Sugar Ray and boy there are some surprises along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ray Leonard book, 8 Mar 2014
By 
M. PSALTIS - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Fight: My Story (Paperback)
A good read, a warts and all account of 'Sugar Ray's' life. I would reccomend this book to fight fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Fight: My Story (Paperback)
Not much else to say. The best boxing book I've ever read. Brutally honest and thoroughly entertaining. But then again he was always one of favourites growing up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sugar Ray Leonard, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Because I've watched sugar rays fights and I think he' was a brilliant fighter and entertainer fantastic book and price .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Open and honest, 4 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Big Fight: My Story (Paperback)
The boxing star of the eighties, and one of the biggest boxing stars of all time, Sugar Ray Leonard was a poster boy for American boxing in the post-Ali era. From winning gold in the 1976 Olympics to winning numerous world boxing titles, he seemed to have it all. The Sugar Ray Leonard in this book is a complex character. By no means was he infallible - in fact, for much of his adult life, including during much of his boxing career, he was off the rails: a womanising, alcoholic, drug-taking mess. Leonard's story is a warning to many future boxing champions about the perils of fame and the effect it can have on your personal life. The book includes good, in-depth descriptions and opinions about Leonard's key bouts, in particular those against Duran, Hagler and Hearns. That Leonard was a boxing champion despite the travails of his personal life makes his success all the more spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read this, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not all sunshine in his life great boxer not so great man has learnt a hard lesson about life and love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read for boxing fans and none boxing fans, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
so far so good have nt really got to the end yet but a must have for any boxing fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book about a true great of the sport, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I quite enjoyed reading this one. Insight into the life of Ray Leonard and he's honest about the struggles he's had to overcome outside the ring. What a life he has had so far. Must read for any big boxing fans in my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Fight: My Story
The Big Fight: My Story by Sugar Ray Leonard (Paperback - 28 Feb 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews