Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Pressure Cooking!
I remember the hissing, rattling, frightening pressure cooker we had when I was a child which was used for steamed puddings and ham on occasions so although intrigued I was wary of using pressure cookers again. Recently there's been a lot of talk about the new style modern pressure cookers and how quiet they are and how time saving they can be. I learned via Twitter that...
Published on 25 Sep 2012 by Ms A Phelan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good tips on roasting peppers and garlic
Some good tips on roasting peppers and garlic. The chicken and olive recipe is yummy. Dont like rice as a sticky mass so will use ordinary boil method. Some chart guidelines would have been useful for quick checks on timings. Appetzing pictures but sections not as thorough as in hip pressure cooker book and web site.
Published 1 month ago by Heather B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious recipes for all the family, 6 Sep 2012
By 
T. Hewison (Reading, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pressure Cooker Cookbook (Hardcover)
I have so far cooked 3 dishes from here - the tarka dhal, chocolate pots and caponata (albeit without the anchovies) and all have turned out delicious. I love dhal, and I think Catherine's is probably now my favourite version. I am intrigued by the one pot pasta dishes, as that is something I have never even considered before, and the simple instructions to make dishes like hummus or even dulche de leche, show once again what a versatile beast the pressure cooker is.
Catherine eloquently explains how she has arrived at her recipes and guides us on a journey to cook simply, cost-consciously and hopefully deliciously. At a time when people have less and less time to cook the speed of pressure cooking is a welcome surprise.
As a non-meater, my only request would be that Catherine writes a vegetarian version. I can't wait to pre-order it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yip, the damascene road, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pressure Cooker Cookbook (Hardcover)
On the principle of the thing, I thought pressure cookers had gone the way of the coffee percolator. So just the idea that a less garrulous version was now available was fascinating. (Images of granny's pressure cooker, hissing like a primed explosive device outside the back kitchen door, came flooding back.)

Next was how the recipes looked on the page. So many books, so many predictable dishes. But I wanted to cook what I saw in these pages. Enough items were reassuringly familiar (with a pressure cooker twist, it probably goes without saying)and enough things screamed, add me to your repertoire. I was straight out to buy urud dhal and I can see why it is hubby's favourite.

The recipes work too. I haven't found any of those instructional lacunae, where you feel the writer has left it to you to improvise on steps 4,5 and 6. The writer has clearly tested these recipes fully and then managed to properly visualise and convey the process accurately to the reader. That is no mean feat.

So Christmas was sorted for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best pressure cooker cookbook, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pressure Cooker Cookbook (Hardcover)
Very good. I use it nearly every week, Cannot wait to try more recipes. Would recommend to read thoroughly before using the pressure cooker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars forget slow cookers, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pressure Cooker Cookbook (Hardcover)
I am a pressure cooker user from way back50 years!! read a review of this book in the Sunday Telegraph by Bee Nilson and decided to give it a try,as it seemed more up to date.It was a good decision. really useful and some more modern twists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pressure Cooker Cookbook, 26 Nov 2012
By 
Mrs. E. A. Topping (North Shields) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pressure Cooker Cookbook (Hardcover)
A very useful book to have in the kitchen. I have tried many recipes with great success. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take the pressure off YOURSELF!, 5 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs Curzon Tussaud (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pressure Cooker Cookbook (Hardcover)
There must be a case for having a pressure cooker in the kitchen rather than a microwave, as you can do "real cooking" in a pressure cooker rather than just re-heating in the microwave. You lose almost none of the liquid content of a recipe, so stews and casseroles stay very juicy. I was excited at the prospect of the one-pot pasta meals, and have cooked the meatball and pasta recipe, which turned out exactly as expected, and was delicious.I added a drizzle of cream, and chopped parsley before serving.

The cheesecake looked a bit like scrambled eggs on opening the cooker, but it "calmed down" as it cooled and tasted very good. I shall do that again. The wipe-clean cover is a huge improvement on dust jackets, which always look tatty after a few years. There are many many excellent ideas in this book and I am so pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start to pressure cooking, 13 Jun 2014
By 
T. Fraser (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pressure Cooker Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is a really well thought out book with some really delicious ideas and nice clear instructions. Catherine Phipps Indian inspired recipes are especially lovely. She thinks the pressure cooker I have which is a Swiss made Kuhn Rikon one is badly designed because the steam vent is circular but I find it works perfectly and is wonderfully quiet. I have not come across a better introduction to this excellent way of cooking - thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and full of interesting recipes and ideas., 3 Dec 2013
By 
J. Thompson "woolly one" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pressure Cooker Cookbook (Hardcover)
I have two pressure cookers and wanted to do more with them.After hearing an interview on the Food Programme I was tempted to buy this book. I have made three recipes so far from this book and am very impressed. The author knows her subject well and I like the fact the recipes are a bit different to the norm. I hadn't thought of cooking dhal in the pressure cooker before, but it is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cookbook, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pressure Cooker Cookbook (Hardcover)
Good price, some really tasty recipes, ideal for a cold winter's evening meal. One can never have too many cookbooks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, confusing book, 5 Feb 2013
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Pressure Cooker Cookbook (Hardcover)
As a child the pressure cooker was something to be fearful of, perhaps in part due to its angry hissing and funny noises, in part due to this reviewer's mother regaling tales no doubt heard from friends about wayward pressure cookers and the damage they can cause.

Is it any wonder that this reviewer has tended to keep away from this fairly versatile kitchen appliance in subsequent years? It seems that the author had the same type of fears and concerns. Maybe this book will change things for you also?

In essence this squat, compact hardback book has 150 different recipes of all differing types that are designed for the pressure cooker. Cooking rices and pasta within 10 minutes, tenderising cheap cuts of meat in just 20 minutes and flexible cooking without tiresome preparation are all things cited by the book as reasons to embrace the pressure cooker. After reading the excellent introduction and explanation of the whys and whatnots of pressure cooking, this reviewer at least felt a bit more at ease, a bit energised, a bit more open to try (again) this mysterious art.

The recipes are split into fairly logical sections - soups & stocks; starters, snacks & savouries; meat; poultry & game; fish & seafood; beans & pulses; rice, grains & pasta; vegetables; puddings and finally preserves. Each chapter starts with an overview of its own, tailored to pressure cooking. Plain language is used, on the whole, for the various recipes and they are relatively easy to follow, with the caveat that you are having to learn a different way of cooking at the same time.

It would have been nice for each chapter to have had its own index (or the recipes listed in the front index) to aid navigation. A little more internal signposting might make this book a bit more navigable overall. Similarly a simple listing of the estimated preparation time and cooking time would have been a great help here - it is amazing just how many cookbooks tend to ignore the obvious small things that can make a difference. Similarly there is no portion sizing displayed. The photographs, or should it be said the few photographs that accompany the recipes, are very good and embracing but each recipe should really have its own illustration. It is a miniature shop window for the recipe after all and this is no bargain basement book where costs have needed to be cut to the bone.

In some ways this book leaves the reviewer confused. It is a good book, it encourages you to try something new and there will be a lot of benefits once you master it. However it perhaps gives a slightly overly-false impression of just how easy it is, perhaps by virtue of the excellent, but more involved recipes. A few more quick, basic and simple recipes to help get you more experienced would have been in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pressure Cooker Cookbook
The Pressure Cooker Cookbook by Catherine Phipps (Hardcover - 6 Sep 2012)
£15.19
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews