Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming! A celebration of birds and perfect gift book.
This is a beautiful little book that perfectly captures and brings alive the characters of 52 of our most familiar feathered friends through quirky, creative but very well-observed watercolours accompanied by amusingly written paragraphs celebrating the antics and habits of our garden birds.

Please be aware that this is not intended to be an identification...
Published on 14 April 2012 by jennywren

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Very good book
Published 15 days ago by Carlos Blake


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming! A celebration of birds and perfect gift book., 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Garden Birds (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful little book that perfectly captures and brings alive the characters of 52 of our most familiar feathered friends through quirky, creative but very well-observed watercolours accompanied by amusingly written paragraphs celebrating the antics and habits of our garden birds.

Please be aware that this is not intended to be an identification guide or a technical bird book - it is more of a loving creative tribute written and painted by an artist / bird enthusiast who is clearly enchanted by the everyday encounters with birds as much as the less usual sightings, and wants to share these little birdy moments that brighten up everyday life. It's not a long read, but isn't meant to be - it began life as a weekly highlight on a blog before being collected for publishing, however once read it continues to be a book to dip into at any time and enjoy the little snapshots of bird characters. Although pocket-sized, it's a perfect art coffee table book too, my copy has pride of place!

All in all, it's a lovely gift book for anyone who is into illustration, nature, birds, art or any of Matt Sewell's other work, and will hopefully delight and amuse non-birdy-aware people as much as those who are more ornithologically inclined. I also hope that it'll get people noticing the everyday birds around them more and that can only be a good thing for their conservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful illustrations and captions., 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Garden Birds (Hardcover)
Beautiful, endearing unpretentious and charming. I love this book and am grateful that Matt Sewell's 'Bird of the week' water colours have been presented in this delightful book. A great gift for young and old alike and no in depth knowledge of ornithology required, just a love of art, nature and a sense of appreciation of 'our' garden birds. This will be a lasting feature on my coffee table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This year's default birthday pressie!, 12 July 2012
This review is from: Our Garden Birds (Hardcover)
This book is lovely. Beautiful illustrations and sweet, quirky descriptions of each bird. I bought it for my husband for his birthday (he loves the normal, not extraordinary birds that are abundant in our garden) and he comes back to the book over and over. I've now bought it several times as it makes a great pressie for just about anyone.

My request is that the illustrations be available as prints or posters - they'd do really well I'm positive.

I'm sure I'll be back to buy more!

Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Artist Matt Sewell depicts our garden birds in his own unique style, 4 April 2012
This review is from: Our Garden Birds (Hardcover)
Artist Matt Sewell is also an avid ornithologist, and here he delineates our garden birds in his own unique style. His vibrant, almost childlike watercolours are accompanied by his distinctive pen-portraits, where the house sparrow is "as British as chip butties", the linnet is "as cute as your first crush", and the jackdaw is "often seen swaggering about like he's carrying a couple of radiators".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely charming!, 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Garden Birds (Hardcover)
An absolutely charming book that makes beginner bird spotting lots of fun! It is absolutely adored by my god daughter who received it for christmas - with a bird table it makes a great present :)

The watercolour pictures have encouraged her to try her hand at painting the birds that she sees. All in all, great book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must buy for bird lovers!, 2 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Our Garden Birds (Hardcover)
Our Garden Birds is a beautiful book full of wonderfully stylized illustrations and unique observations, it's set to be a real classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Read!, 14 April 2012
This review is from: Our Garden Birds (Hardcover)
This book is a vibrant and cheerful look at the birds that make our garden special. Bright, beautiful illustrations coupled with captions provides the reader with a very sweet, honest interpretation of some of the author's favourite British bird species, perfect for those who are new to ornithology. Sewell's relaxed and unassuming voice within the book is refreshing, as from the first page any fears that refined knowledge is required in order to enjoy these lovely creatures are banished. It is true to say that this book should be understood as a piece of art, making the world of birds accessible to everyone in a gentle and humorous way. I treasure my copy - it is a rare treat to read a book such as this one. Sewell helps us to see that each bird can have a personality, which shines through regardless of the fact or figure attached to them, and allows us to all relish in being surrounded by these little personalities when we are next in our garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something to Tweet about, 29 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Our Garden Birds (Hardcover)
Bought two copies of this book (one a gift, the other for me), it's so sweet.

Not only are the illustrations delightful, but each bird's quirky characteristics have been described to a tee by the artist.

Worth noting that you can receive signed and drawn in copies from his website shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful book, 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Garden Birds (Hardcover)
Heirloom quality illustrations - buy this book for keeping and being delighted by annually. Bought for my neice - hopeful to go in her 'to keep' box as she moves through life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a delight!, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Garden Birds (Hardcover)
What a delight this little book is for anyone who loves birds. The illustrations are so pertinant as they seem to capture the character of the bird as well as being significantly accurate so that you can identify the bird easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Our Garden Birds
Our Garden Birds by Matt Sewell (Hardcover - 5 April 2012)
£7.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews