Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great way to celebrate Dickens's 200th !, 4 Feb. 2012
By 
Hospitalnurse (cleveland hts, ohio) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dickens's Victorian London: The Museum of London (Hardcover)
Wow! That is the long and short of it. What a beautiful book and what great photos. The text is well written and very informative. This book is great for both Dickens fans - to see London at the time he lived there - as well as those interested in the history of London. Again, what a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Photography, 13 Jan. 2012
By 
Kieran Mcghee "Mr McGhee" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens's Victorian London: The Museum of London (Hardcover)
I bought this book after visiting the Dicekens Museum in London. The old photographs of areas of London from Dickens' time are brilliant. Recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How we lived then, 27 Feb. 2012
By 
Old Codger "Septuagenarian" (Tiverton, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens's Victorian London: The Museum of London (Hardcover)
If your family were long time Londoners and if you trace your family tree then this book is a must. It is a bonus that many of the people portrayed are named and described plus most of the pictures are sharp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm no great fan of Dickens, but..., 9 May 2014
By 
Mike Watkinson (Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dickens's Victorian London: The Museum of London (Hardcover)
I am a bit of an addict when it comes to looking at old photographs. As you would expect from a book carrying the branding of a major museum, this is impeccably researched & very well-written. It's liberally interspersed with quotes from Dickens' novels; more importantly, for me, it's lavishly illustrated with literally hundreds of Victorian photo's. The book covers all aspects of London life; the landmarks, the slums; the city, the suburbs; people, industry, transport; it's all here. There is nothing I can think of that could have added to it. Lucky me, I picked up my copy in a sale for a mere tenner but, even at full RRP, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as an excellent 5* purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully produced Museum of London book concentrating on what London ..., 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens's Victorian London: The Museum of London (Hardcover)
A beautifully produced Museum of London book concentrating on what London looked like and who lived there from1839-1901. The text is informative and the pictures are first rate, although some have been seen before. A great coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dickens''s Victorian London, 24 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Dickens's Victorian London: The Museum of London (Hardcover)
No wonder there was such a poor survival rate. Excellent historical document though. Will be spending many an itchy scratchy evening reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid photographic collection., 27 Jan. 2013
By 
Inquisio (East Anglia. Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens's Victorian London: The Museum of London (Hardcover)
I like reality silent films, I also like early photographic prints, especially about people, their surroundings and what they got up to. This book delivers on every page a testament to how we lived in the middle of 19th century London. I really cannot fault this book at all, one guesses how colour might have improved the pictures, but somehow, the magic is held here for ever in glorious monochrome/sepia. I was surprised at just how many good photographs are still extant, maybe they have been 'touched up' here and there to retain clarity, but it doesn't detract from the history at all. Things we will never see again, buildings gone now, docks now filled with river, people in all walks of daily life, transport, tranquility, work and so on... a splendid example of decent quality for once !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2012 Book Club Review Dickens's Victorian London, 9 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Dickens's Victorian London: The Museum of London (Hardcover)
As the Wellow Owls Womens Institute (Hampshire) celebrate Charles Dickens's books we purchased "Dickens's Victorian London: The Museum of London". Almost everyone of Dickens's novels refer to places found in these fabulous photographs. If you Love Charles Dickens's books this purchase is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens's Victorian London: The Museum of London (Hardcover)
For people who like this sort of thing.........it's great!Well worth owning.See also "Long Lost London" books by Philip Davies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens's Victorian London: The Museum of London (Hardcover)
The book was as good as I hoped for and the delivery sooner than expected. It is always helpful to have the "Look Inside" label over the top so you can at least get a pretty good idea of the contents, along with the previous reviews of course. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dickens's Victorian London: The Museum of London
Dickens's Victorian London: The Museum of London by Tony Williams (Hardcover - 5 Jan. 2012)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews