Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good summary of the highs and lows of the career of the greatest cyclist ever
As a good summary of the life of the man voted in a number of polls as one of the best sportspeople ever, this is quite good. All the highs and lows are there, and there is an analysis of what drove The Cannibal, and what made him different to those who have gone before and come after him. While Armstrong may be held high in the eyes of many, it must be remember Merckx...
Published on 10 April 2012 by M. McCann

versus
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Index
How can a biography which is described as definitive be taken seriously when it doesn't have an index. Fotheringham's Half Man Half Bike is much better.
Published on 5 May 2012 by peterw7


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good summary of the highs and lows of the career of the greatest cyclist ever, 10 April 2012
By 
M. McCann "rednotdead1976" (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a good summary of the life of the man voted in a number of polls as one of the best sportspeople ever, this is quite good. All the highs and lows are there, and there is an analysis of what drove The Cannibal, and what made him different to those who have gone before and come after him. While Armstrong may be held high in the eyes of many, it must be remember Merckx was succesful in Classics as well as the Grand Tours, whereas Lance just concentrated on the Tour.
Friebe allows for competing analysis from a range of sources, those who competed against Merckx, those who rode with him and those who reported on his career. Of course it helps to know the background to each of Merckx's interactions with those who have been interviewed- obviously some come with more an an agenda and desire to protect their legacies than others, and the author does well to reflect these, without negatively impacting on the validity of their input.

One voice that is missing is Merckx himself who did not want to collaborate with the book (apart from a brief conversation detailed in the epilogue).Friebe insists this is actually more beneficial, but there is still a void there that is not filled. While a certain amount of revisionism is to be expected, I do feel that Merckx's absence is most clearly felt as Friebe attempts to deal with the controversies that surround Eddy. This is no hiagoraphy but it would be good to see what how these events are now viewed by the man himself with hindsight-to get this however the reader would need to seek out the other works Merckx did collaborate on.

This is generally well put together, although on a small number of occasions I had to re-read sentences a couple of times to get their meaning-some were open to ambiguity which should have been addressed at the editing stage. Overall though I recommend this as a good summary of Merckx's life though I am looking forward to checking out William Fotherington's Half Man, Half Bike, to see how he deals with Merckx.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book written by an enthusiast, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read 'Part man part bike' I thought I would give this one a go...
Lets just say that the author seems to have allowed his enthusiasm for the subject get the better of him. I regularly found myself losing the thread and having to go back and work out what the author was trying to say. This is why I have knocked off a star but is this such a big problem?
The stories are great and go a long way to explaining why Merckx was such a dominant force and what made him so special. I think that anyone who already knows a bit about him and wants to know more will enjoy this book. He is still a bit of an enigma but this book goes some way to explaining the enigma... a must read....
It is worth the effort to read; Daniel's evident enthusiasm makes this book good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddy Merckx: The Cannibal (Paperback)
Bought this as a gift for my brother who is a keen cyclist. He loved it! Would recommend to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cycling King, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddy Merckx: The Cannibal (Paperback)
Excellant read, really enjoyed it and could not put it down. Gives such a brilliant in depth view, on what was the golden age of Belgium, Italian and world cycling. woud recommend to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddy Merckx, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddy Merckx: The Cannibal (Paperback)
Brilliant read for an avid cycling fan so given as a christmas present to another cycling fan who equally enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A detailed, accessible biography., 25 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddy Merckx: The Cannibal (Paperback)
As a relatively recent convert to the sport of road cycling I knew very little about Eddy Merckx. His name was always uttered in admiring tones and this biography seemed like the perfect way to get to know him. Friebe's style of writing I particularly enjoyed. It is highly accessible, very detailed extremely descriptive and emotive. These facets allow 'The Cannibal' to provide fantastic incites into the life of the great man. Although structured chronologically to some extent it doesn't feel like a browse through the archives, remaining fast paced and enjoyable throughout. What I particularly enjoyed about Friebe's take on Merckx was his objectivity and the conclusion that he came to. All in all a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super read, 14 Dec 2012
This review is from: Eddy Merckx: The Cannibal (Paperback)
one of the best cycling books i have read. Far better biography than william fotheringham's account which isn't bad in itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent bio, 27 Nov 2012
By 
G. D. Archer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is the second biography of Merckx i have read this year and i can recommend this book and William Fotheringhams "Half Man Half Bike" to any cycling fans .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, fascinating read, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not even that interested in cycling and only knew a tiny amount about Mercyx....a friend recommended it. This is a brilliant, fascinating insight to a true legend. A great, great book which I struggled to put down. Very very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - like the man himself., 13 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddy Merckx: The Cannibal (Paperback)
A fabulous book about the greatest cyclist to have ever lived. It shows the dominance born out of a fear of failure. It shows the determination and attention to detail that almost all his rivals lacked - although it gives credit to the greats who raced against him. A thoroughly absorbing read from start to finish and a great present for any cyclist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eddy Merckx: The Cannibal
Eddy Merckx: The Cannibal by Daniel Friebe (Paperback - 19 July 2012)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews