Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chortle-on-a-tram
Well, I wasn't sure whether this book was going to be my thing or not but I was hooked after the first couple of pages. I laughed out loud and chortled my way through my tram-bound commute to a coroners inquest - perhaps inappropriately, in retrospect.

Great stuff and I thoroughly recommend it to cricket fans and cricket casual acquaintances alike!
Published 4 months ago by Poke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A promise not fulfilled
As an expectation, what could be better - a comedian writing about cricket? Should be funny, with lots of inside information about what happens on an England cricket tour. To some extent the latter is fulfilled, but not to a satisfying extent. And there are no hilariously funny parts; it is funny only if you enjoy spending the entire book cringing for the writer in his...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. D. R. Goodman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A jolly good read, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like cricket you will love this, makes you wish you had become a journo if this tour is a guide!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really captured cricket in India, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fibber in the Heat (Paperback)
my husband loved the book it made him laugh and having been to India to watch cricket he could so identify with what Miles was saying very well written seeing the funnier side of cricket more please Miles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thoroughly enjoyed this book. Although it does help to be a cricket fan, I think anyone who enjoys a laugh should fine this amusing. Well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly funny., 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fibber in the Heat (Paperback)
Made me laugh out loud again and again - and I don't even like cricket. Miles Jupp is a comic genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for those who dream of a life watching cricket., 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I, like Miles, have often wondered what it must be like to follow my heroes around the world. This book brilliantly captures life 'On the road' with the press corp, funny, touching and full of cricket this is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fibber in the Heat (Paperback)
Probably helps if you understand cricket (which fortunately I do) - very funny, a real page turner, couldn't wait to see how it all panned out. Left me wanting more - that's praise and a criticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Miles and cricket you will like this book, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very English, the affectionate descriptions of India and its people chime with other books I have read by people who have spent time there. Journos, players of both nationalities (current and ex) mainly appear to be a decent bunch and the author clearly looks back on these events with fondness. I found the book very entertaining if a little slow to get gong, several genuine laugh out loud moments including (I am ashamed to say) probably the funniest description of an episode of diarrhoea ever written.... It does help, I am sure, if you are a cricket fan and possibly also if you enjoy scatological humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A promise not fulfilled, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an expectation, what could be better - a comedian writing about cricket? Should be funny, with lots of inside information about what happens on an England cricket tour. To some extent the latter is fulfilled, but not to a satisfying extent. And there are no hilariously funny parts; it is funny only if you enjoy spending the entire book cringing for the writer in his embarrassing situation of trying to make his way in a setting in which he doesn't belong. You feel for him as he tries to gain acceptance from a posse of journalists, but all the while you wait for the breakthrough moment, and it never comes. Some people come out of it well - the generosity of Botham in rescuing him in a very embarrassing situation, the charm of David Gower, both proving that it is possible to be great at sport and also genuinely decent people. Ultimately, however, the book is an expectation that is never quite fulfilled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good laugh, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fibber in the Heat (Paperback)
Read about this in the Telegraph and bought it for my husband. He thought it was great and laughed out loud quite a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Jupply, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Miles Jupp has written a brilliant account of his adventures as a would be journalist following the English cricket tour of India. His encounters with the press corps and his heroes like David Gower and Nasser Hussain make very amusing reading and give you a good insight into the everyday workings of a cricket journalist. His accounts of trying to fit into the competitive gang of the press are both extremely funny and rather awkward like a new boy at school. His account of his long running battle to obtain a valid press pass is enough reason to buy this book alone. I am like Miles a great cricket fan and this is one of the best books I have read conveying the love of the game and telling a very good story both funny and poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fibber in the Heat
Fibber in the Heat by Miles Jupp (Paperback - 6 Jun 2013)
6.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews