Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Princess Matilda Comes Home, the modern day African Queen, 25 July 2014
This review is from: The Princess Matilda Comes Home (Hardcover)
The Princess Matilda Comes Home is the second book about a married couple that went to sea with a AA map book and on a wing and a prayer..
Both books are written by Shane, wife of the well known TV and film actor Timothy Spall.

Tim said while he was in hospital suffering leukaemia that if he should better they should get a boat and live every day to the full, this they did when Tim was given the all clear of the distressing illness, they got themselves a dutch barge, a AA map and started a trip around the coast of the UK.

Clear your mind when you start to read this or both books and think of Humphrey Bogart and Katharine Hepburn in the 1951 film The African Queen, the ups and downs of the voyage, the rows, the encouragement, the disputes of captain and mate but most of all the undying love of each other!

I will not spoil your read of this book by telling you how the voyage went up to the time they made it home but I will tempt you with a couple titbits.

Read how Shane when she was a hippy met Fred West the serial killer and lived to tell the tale.
Why Shane is frightened of snakes and ladders but loves scrabble.
What made the gorgeous actress Frances Barber a guest on board laugh when Tim called Shotley Marina on the ships radio.
How when Tim the captain would worry only to be given encouragement and support by the mate Shane.

This book is as good as the first and is a bloody good read and should be on your list of holiday reading.
The way Shane writes draws you into their life afloat and the time when Tim was in hospital.
Tim has just won an award playing the part of Turner the painter and Shane should get an award as her writing paints pictures!

Thank you Shane and Tim for letting us into your life.

PS, Why not follow Shane and Tim on Twitter and Facebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cracking good Read!, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Princess Matilda Comes Home (Hardcover)
This book is every bit as good as the first. Laugh out loud funny at times and always entertaining. Shane has a knack of taking you with her and Tim on the journey as everything is so descriptive, I think she calls it "painting the picture". Would certainly recommend it to all nature lovers, seafarers, and even those who like to keep their feet dry on "terra firma"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have read and really enjoyed Shane's first book and have learned a lot about ..., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Princess Matilda Comes Home (Hardcover)
Have read and really enjoyed Shane's first book and have learned a lot about what's actually involved when two practically inexperienced people set out to sea on an adventure of a lifetime, the dangers, the laughter and all the different people they have met and befriended on their travels. I feel that I am practically there with them and can't wait to continue reading this book as well, I will be sorry when it's finished. However, I can always read the books again and rewatch the DVDs as many other fans do. Bravo! Timothy and Shane for living life to the full.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shane Spall does it again!, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Princess Matilda Comes Home (Hardcover)
Shane Spall is not just the beloved wife of Timothy Spall the brilliant British actor. She is also one of my favourite author's. Why? Well, when I read her books, ... the first was The Voyages of Princess Matilda, and now the sequel The Princess Matilda Comes Home, I find myself reading them ever so slowly. So slowly that it can take me three or four weeks to get to the last chapter. The reason being, that I never want to reach the end of her delicious descriptions of their adventures together on their bespoke barge The Princess Matilda.
Each paragraph has me totally immersed in their experiences, whether it's doing battle with sopping wet ropes, nervously climbing a slimy, rusty ladder, braving an unfriendly sea whilst their home comforts throw themselves to the floor, or those moments when they arrive at their next port of call as the sun sets before them over the now calm, reflective waters that once threatened to tear their floating home apart.
Shane's descriptions of the places they visit, the history, and the people they meet along the way are always captivating, whether they are about a truly thoughtless person treating her as though she was invisible, a heroic bunch of lifeboat men, or the genuinely helpful people that they encountered throughout their journey around the seas of Britain.
Her truth and humour always shine through, and for me, she is the quintessential raconteuse.
Another totally engrossing offering from Shane Spall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Princess Matilda Comes Home (Hardcover)
Well worth the wait for the next installment in the lives of Tim and Shane Spall on board the now legendary Princess Matilda. Shane is an amazing story teller, her ability to thread amusing anecdotes whilst describing the very worst emotions of fear and possible loss of a loved one is extraordinary. I didn't want it too end which for me is the very best recommendation for a great read. I can only hope that this is not the end we want more of her narratives. Thank you very much for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The life of the i***t Mariner..., 10 July 2014
This review is from: The Princess Matilda Comes Home (Hardcover)
More eccentric adventures from the high seas. Funny and moving in equal measure. Brings the voyage right up to date. Loved reading this. Top marks all round!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid follow on from Shane Spall's previous book about ..., 9 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Princess Matilda Comes Home (Hardcover)
A splendid follow on from Shane Spall's previous book about the voyages of The Princess Matilda. You really feel that you are on the boat with Shane and Timothy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovingly written book that not just lets you in ..., 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Princess Matilda Comes Home (Hardcover)
A lovingly written book that not just lets you in to the travels of Mr and Mrs Spall but also lets you in to their lives. Can't wait for the next T.V Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!!!, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the first book and absolutely loved it and the second is the same. I enjoy following the journey of Shane and Tim as they travel from port to port. Shane paints a rich picture of the different places they visit whilst the background of Tim's illness adds a poignancy to this. I hope they take the Princess Matilda on more journeys that I can then read about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
loved reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Princess Matilda Comes Home
The Princess Matilda Comes Home by Shane Spall (Hardcover - 10 July 2014)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews