Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brill
This book is absolutely fantastic, it shows life like it was, in some ways it's a shame that life isn't like it today, people living close together getting on helping each other in difficult times. It is very well written and very funny, a very good read
Published on 22 July 2012 by J. Staniford

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Matron at Last by Evelyn Prenstis
Yes, I quite enjoyed this book but I wouldn't say it was a favourite of mine, although I have read others of hers.
Published 17 months ago by Evelyn Tomalin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brill, 22 July 2012
By 
J. Staniford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matron at Last (Paperback)
This book is absolutely fantastic, it shows life like it was, in some ways it's a shame that life isn't like it today, people living close together getting on helping each other in difficult times. It is very well written and very funny, a very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Candid and frank this memoir of a Matron is full of wit and sharpness, as to make you laugh and cry and the same time., 26 Oct 2012
This review is from: Matron at Last (Paperback)
Evelyn Prentis is a writer who tells it like it is with such honesty and candor, as to enthrall and fascinate so many readers about her life as a nurse. Matron at Last is her latest work in a series of books, which capture her life as a newly qualified nurse working up the career ladder to more senior roles and eventually Matron. Her story began with her debut release `a nurse in time' about her story as a freshly qualified nurse, alongside the retelling of her trainee years in 1934. `A nurse in action' is an account of her years as a staff-nurse, with the sequel `a nurse and mother' another fantastic edition to add to the collection. Continuing her story during and beyond the Second World War, Evelyn's work spans the majority of her interesting and remarkable career. After working as a nurse for thirty years she then decides to take a full-time Matron post at The Lodge, which was a home for elderly ladies of reduced circumstances. Her job surprisingly differed from that of the stereotypical hospital ward Matron, as her new role allowed her to make a real difference to those patients' lives under her care. The ups and downs of the job are brought to light as Evelyn reminisces about the cold dinners, early mornings following a sleepless night and those unforgettable people (such as Mrs. Peters with her temper and the piano playing Mrs. Harrison). After years of hard work and dedication I am sure that it was both a joy and a delight for the author to recount her years as a Matron, at last!

This is a brilliant book that I found incredibly hard to put down, because it was such fun to read. I found it totally absorbing finding out about her job as a Matron, with her different and wonderful patients and the home's staff. I would recommend this to all those who work within the care and medical industry, whether that is a care or nursing home or a hospital, as I think that you will be hard pressed to find anything more entertaining nor accurately correct `strait from the horses mouth' figuratively speaking. But you do not have to work within a nursing industry to appreciate and enjoy Evelyn's story, as it is one that captivated me right from the very beginning. I am thrilled about the up coming release of `Matron in charge' that is coming soon to a bookstore near you, and whilst I sit here with much anticipation and excitement I shall be rereading this book one more time. If I could give Evelyn Prentis a pat on the back then I would for it is memoirs like this that inspire, fascinate and enthuse many nurses or aspiring nurses today. For it is those real stories that are so important being the ones that tell it as it is, letting the reader glimpse a part of something that is very special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matron At Last - Evelyn Prentis, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matron at Last (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely love reading Evelyn's books, no sooner do I finish one, then I download the next.

I often find myself locked in the story & feel that I'm getting to know all the character s personally.

Only the last of her books to read now, so will have to find yet another author to get to know.

Hope you all enjoy reading these books as much as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matron at Last (Paperback)
very good read - hard to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matron at last, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matron at Last (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book it reminded me of my Tim's as a nurse many years ago, I also had.a quiet giggle at some of the antics the lovely ladies got up to can't wait to read more Evelyn Prentis books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As always a well written story by Evelyn Prentis/, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matron at Last (Paperback)
I have always enjoyed this authors books, they are well written and being a nurse myself, training in the 1960s, I can relate to her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matron at Last (Kindle Edition)
A very good read. Thoroughly enjoyed the tales off the ladies in the lodge and their caring matron. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matron at Last (Kindle Edition)
Easy read, great to loom back at how nursing should be done. Would be a good place for new nursing students to start and get the basics right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Matron at Last by Evelyn Prenstis, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matron at Last (Paperback)
Yes, I quite enjoyed this book but I wouldn't say it was a favourite of mine, although I have read others of hers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matron at Last (Paperback)
very good entertaining read,would recommen bought for my mum whowas anurse in the 50s she loved it,, nice writer.good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Matron at Last
Matron at Last by Evelyn Prentis (Paperback - 19 July 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews