Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The facinating real-life story of Atlantic City
I've been enjoying the Boardwalk Empire TV series that has been shown on Sky Atlantic and I picked up this book in order to find out a little more about the real-life events that inspired the hit show. I'm glad I did. This is a great little potted history of the sleeze, crime and corruption for which Atlantic City is famous. The TV show is pretty much inspired by a...
Published on 27 Mar 2011 by Christy2002

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Society and corruption
Good account of how crime and racketeering can thrive within society if communities feel they are benefiting with scant regard to moral principles. Cynical manipulation of the political system and the totally unacceptable face of capitalism. No significant connection to the TV programme although the links with real life characters such as the Commodore and Nucky are...
Published 6 months ago by Llanddwyn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The facinating real-life story of Atlantic City, 27 Mar 2011
I've been enjoying the Boardwalk Empire TV series that has been shown on Sky Atlantic and I picked up this book in order to find out a little more about the real-life events that inspired the hit show. I'm glad I did. This is a great little potted history of the sleeze, crime and corruption for which Atlantic City is famous. The TV show is pretty much inspired by a couple of chapters of this book but the TV people have taken quite a bit of artistic license with the characters including changing names and roles. The fluent writing style of this book keeps you turning the pages and I raced through this book which is anything but a dry history of organised crime. People looking for a novelisation of the hit show may be a little disappointed but as in many cases, the truth is actually more interesting than fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 4 Mar 2011
Really interesting book, i watched the complete series on Sky and then searched for more information on the characters involved. Found this book to be a real insight into that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my mum on a recommendation from a colleague and she raved about this book! She loved the TV series but is also a great fan of social and political history which this book apparently has in spades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intereting history, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great companion book for the TV series. There are no spoilers so go ahead and read it. It's the factual account of Nuky Thompson and several others in the early 1900s as they played with politics and gangs in Atlantic City, New Jersey. It's a good read, but gets a but dry at times. There are photographs, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the TV series, 26 Dec 2013
By 
Paul W. Burns (Armidale, NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire: The Birth, High Times and the Corruption of Atlantic City (Paperback)
Anybody expecting this excellent regional history to be like the TV series will be disappointed. Probably only 2 pages out of the book were an inspiration for the series. Nevertheless it is detailed account of the rise, fall and rise of Atlantic City and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the series., 4 Mar 2013
By 
A. Arnold (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My understanding of the series is it was based on fact and here is the fact. Extremely interesting. Enough to send me online to read more. To get an understanding of the times and places. Nucky was real. Though not as portrayed as the charactor in the series. Some names and dates have been changed to protect the innocen. Ha...the innocent were few and far between. It gives an excellent insight as to how the Mob were able to use corruption to further their "business".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Society and corruption, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire: The Birth, High Times and the Corruption of Atlantic City (Paperback)
Good account of how crime and racketeering can thrive within society if communities feel they are benefiting with scant regard to moral principles. Cynical manipulation of the political system and the totally unacceptable face of capitalism. No significant connection to the TV programme although the links with real life characters such as the Commodore and Nucky are identified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like the TV series!, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire: The Birth, High Times and the Corruption of Atlantic City (Paperback)
The cover is very misleading. If you are a fan of the show - don't expect the book to be anything like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boardwalk to short, 29 Sep 2013
By 
angel gabriel (S. Wales England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't sure what to expect. I have watched everything that has been on the TV and can't wait for it to return. On the other hand if there are any more books I won't be getting them. I was very disappointed, I like to be able to compare book to adaption...not happening in this case I even had a problem with the names in the book other than Nookie. It was one of the most expensive I had ever bought for my ebook not to mention it only has an average amount of pages. Would I recommend well if I hadn't/don't watch the series on TV why not cos you know no better, otherwise don't bother !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Broadwalk Empire Hardback, 20 May 2011
By 
K. Pembridge "Moonraker" (Wiltshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have watched the excellent production of this series on television, this excellent hardcover book is a must. Its a good read and gives you so much information on the background of the making of the Broadwalk Walk series. Buy it NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boardwalk Empire: The Birth, High Times and the Corruption of Atlantic City
6.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews