Customer Reviews


785 Reviews
5 star:
 (415)
4 star:
 (137)
3 star:
 (80)
2 star:
 (52)
1 star:
 (101)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


291 of 308 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for women under 30
...which I'm not, you understand. I've a decade on Caitin and grew up with the feminist debate raging about mine ears. For a while now I've been sighing heavily at how it seemed to have fallen off the cultural radar - no one seemed to be talking about it any more, let alone calling themselves a feminist. And now here's Ms Moran, putting the debate about what it means to...
Published on 14 Aug 2011 by Sarah Rayner

versus
489 of 533 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Started well...................
I'm giving this book 3 stars as an average based on the fact that at the beginning I thought I would be giving it 5 but by the end I wanted to give it just 1.

My girlfriend has been asking me to read this book for a while (for the record I am male but like to think I am as liberal as they come). Eventually I acquiesced and started reading with few expectations...
Published on 30 July 2011 by Al


‹ Previous | 1 279 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

291 of 308 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for women under 30, 14 Aug 2011
This review is from: How To Be a Woman (Paperback)
...which I'm not, you understand. I've a decade on Caitin and grew up with the feminist debate raging about mine ears. For a while now I've been sighing heavily at how it seemed to have fallen off the cultural radar - no one seemed to be talking about it any more, let alone calling themselves a feminist. And now here's Ms Moran, putting the debate about what it means to be a woman in the 21st century not just back on the agenda, but in the non-fiction top 10. Hoo-blooming-ray! Look, there's heaps about this book that's annoying. The incessant CAPITAL LETTERS. The surfeit of screamers. Initially I felt like I was being shouted at, that the jokes weren't all funny, and this was a memoir masquerading as polemic. But unlike other reviewers who thought it petered out, I warmed to How to Be a Woman hugely. The writing seemed to calm down, become less personal, more thoughtful. So by the end I was converted. I've just been to buy a copy for my teenage goddaughter. She told me her ambition was to 'get married and go to parties' (presumably not in that order). So I hiked her by her beautiful long hair to the nearest bookshop and thrust a copy into her perfectly manicured hand. 'Read this,' I said. 'It's funny'. She may not agree with all or even any of it. But I think she's much more likely to actually read it than Germaine Greer or Simone de Beauvoir, and if it makes her think - just a bit - then I'll be pleased. And if she gains just a smidge more ambition, I'll be cockahoop. So if you've never read a book on feminism, read this one. And if you've read a few, read it too. It's contemporary, strident and wise. You'll also have a laugh, and crikey, there are a lot worse ways to spend your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


489 of 533 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Started well..................., 30 July 2011
This review is from: How To Be a Woman (Paperback)
I'm giving this book 3 stars as an average based on the fact that at the beginning I thought I would be giving it 5 but by the end I wanted to give it just 1.

My girlfriend has been asking me to read this book for a while (for the record I am male but like to think I am as liberal as they come). Eventually I acquiesced and started reading with few expectations (I had never heard of Caitlin Moran before I picked this up). I thought the prologue was great. It was genuinely funny (even made me laugh out loud a couple of times which almost never happens), well written, and engaging. The next few chapters were just good, though I felt like it could have done with some ruthless editing of the bits that weren't quite so funny or poignant to make it great. But towards the middle of the book things started to go downhill, pretty steeply.

One of the problems with the book is that the author talks as if everything is black or white, gloriously righteous or disgustingly evil. In the beginning when she is talking about obvious things (woman should have the same opportunities as men, etc..) this is fine. It's when she gets into more debatable arguments (strip clubs= evil, burlesque shows + pole dancing lessons= fantastic), even about things that I agree on (e.g. pro-choice, aethiesm) that this starts to grate. She treats the idea that any opinion other than her own could have any validity with contempt and doesn't really put forward any cogent arguments for her reasoning (but basically devolves into semi-coherent rants over and over again- and this is coming from someone who actually agrees with the broad points she is making!!).

She talks in sweeping generalizations and sometimes contradicts herself. More and more so as it goes on the book reads as if it has been written in a rush and never re-read or edited. When I started reading I was actually thinking the author is someone I would love to have round for dinner to have a conversation with, by the end of the book that idea seems more like an opportunity I'd run a mile from because I envision she would not let anyone else get a word in edgeways, shout down any opposing opinions and to be honest, I'm not sure she's actually a very nice person.

Something I also came to realize through the course of the book is although I think MOST of her opinions are right, it comes across as if she doesn't think they are right because she's sat down and tried to think things through objectively. It's because things have pissed her off or got in her way and so she has come up with arguments (and not necessarily well thought out ones) to justify the way she already feels.

Would also like to point out that making a joke about a child covered in napalm is never funny, particuarly when you are trying to take the moral high ground. And also that I have never read anything about Oprah's arse but quite lot about China's growing economy, if it's the other way round for the author and it pisses her off so much perhaps she should stop buying Grazia and Heat and perpetuating the culture of criticizing the appearance of successful women she claims to be so against.

Essentially I really enjoyed this book when I started it but by the time I finished I was so irritated it took me an hour and a half to get to sleep last night :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


113 of 126 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If this is modern feminism, I despair for humanity, 20 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Be a Woman (Paperback)
I was deeply, deeply unimpressed by this book. I think the main problem is it continually being touted as 'the next wave of feminism' or as some kind of modern feminist keystone, rather than what it actually is: a rather unexciting memoir interspersed with lots of "I am right listen to me CAPS LOCK" rants. If I'd expected the latter, maybe I wouldn't have felt so totally let down. Honestly, the only reason I finished the darn thing was so I could write a fully informed review explaining how much I disliked it, and why.

Firstly, the structure of the book is haphazard at best. It starts off fairly well, but once Moran moves from a fairly straightforward autobiographical account of her childhood, any sort of attempt at structure falls to pieces. It's a pretty disorganised bunch of vaguely-related anecdotes and angry rants. To be fair, it's probably quite difficult to write a part-autobiography-part-faux-feminist-manifesto and keep a good structure, and maybe I could have overlooked it if the content was good. But it wasn't.

I hate the way Moran presents her opinions. (Note: I don't necessarily hate the opinions themselves., but the presentation drives me crazy.) It's full of contradictions and dogma. She likes to tell you exactly what is ok, and exactly what is not. There isn't much middle ground. Just because HER wedding was a disaster and a waste of money, she tells you NOT to have a wedding. Right. It couldn't possibly be that her wedding didn't suit her and her husband's personal taste and needs, it is the case that weddings are stupid and you shouldn't have one. Strip clubs are WRONG. Burlesque is RIGHT. Katie Price is WRONG. Lady Gaga is RIGHT. Heels are WRONG. Leopard print is RIGHT.

... You get the idea. She contradicts herself constantly (eg. kids make you into a super human and once you're a mum you are better than Obama/don't feel the pressure to have kids) and it is incredibly frustrating.

However, what I hate even more is the extent of her dedication to social justice. She rants for pages and pages about the pressures put on women - and I sincerely believe she does care - but then in the next instant, will write off entire groups of people with shocking generalisations. She makes a disparaging comment about men running around pretending to be goblins on World of Warcraft - thanks, Moran. Because only MEN play video games, and it's ok to poke fun at the losers who do that, right? But god forbid you mention the glass ceiling and she'll explode. For someone so concerned with social equality, she is far too ready to write off other groups of people and judge them in the same way she's asking people not to judge women. It hacks me off.

Which brings me on nicely to the constant pop culture references she feels obliged to throw in as often as possible. A lot of the time, her references are solid, and she at least knows something about what she's referencing, but then it comes to video games, or manga (she calls Gaga a 'manga cartoon'), and she is embarrassingly uninformed - it feels like she's just chucking in the references like "HEY I KNOW SOME STUFF." It's fine that she doesn't know anything about some things - just stop pretending to. Stop writing about them. And worst of all, stop disparaging them.

She writes to shock, without actually being particularly shocking. When she does shock, it's in an offensive way - the Napalm joke obviously offended a lot of other people, myself included. Why did she think that was ok? How is that consistent with her philosophy? Again, it felt like she was just throwing in a reference to say "hey look I know about a famous photograph".

The chapter about her abortion was frustrating, and I wanted to like it - as she does say, it's not something often talked about, and I would have been interested for her to actually address the stigma. Instead, she implies that there is more stigma attached to being a mother aborting than a teenager aborting. It's like she's trying to big up her own circumstance - that just isn't true, at all. She dismisses one method of abortion as something that "everyone says" just "freaks you out", which really angered me. I'm not asking her to be a source of accurate medical information, but to just dismiss one legitimate method that many women go through just off-hand, without having actually experienced it - it seemed kind of irresponsible, to me. I just think a little research would have gone a long way. When it comes to the description of her abortion - as with childbirth - she seems to enjoy fear-mongering. Again, that might genuinely be her experience, but I think she gets carried away in making it sound like poor little Caitlin enduring all these terrible things - when SO MANY people go through this, she's hardly special. Too much drama. Then, she dismisses out of hand anyone who dares to feel upset after an abortion, because PROPER feminists wouldn't. Like her (unsurprisingly.)

It all boils down to Moran being RIGHT, about everything. Which leads to an awful lot of sweeping statements about incredibly complicated ethical (and occasionally religious) issues - which deserve thorough consideration and carefully constructed arguments. Moran doesn't do this. Instead, she capitalises angrily and yells about her opinions.

Moran's mostly right about the problems with modern society. They need to be addressed. What we really need isn't more dogma, but the opening up of a platform to discuss them. I don't think Moran's book does that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


363 of 411 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Banal and unoriginal, 29 July 2011
This review is from: How To Be a Woman (Paperback)
I bought this book on a whim, having read a couple of rather mixed reviews. In that context, I was anticipating something entertaining and mildly stimulating. I was not expecting Isiah Berlin. But even against those less-than-demanding criteria, this book disappoints hugely.

Caitlin Moran entered journalism as a teenager, after winning competitions in national broadsheets including The Observer and The Times. Tellingly, these are omitted from this largely autobiographical book, which instead has her entering journalism at 16 when she went to work for Melody Maker. No doubt this version of history is more consistent with the edgy rise from working class obscurity she seeks to portray. I'm three years younger than Moran, and used to read her columns in my parents' copy of the Times, until I left home at 18, switched my allegiance to The Guardian, and lost track of her. So it was a strange experience to pick up this book and discover that, in terms of her attitudes and prose style, she seems to have become frozen in time as that precocious 16 year old - a kind of journalistic Dorian Gray. But what was endearing in a teenager is utterly infuriating - and oddly jarring- in a mature woman. The language is relentlessly mannered, with copious use of capitals and outdated slang from the 90s. This I could forgive if the book contained a single original idea, but the content is as banal, derivative and vacuous as the prose.

Take the chapter where she bemoans the lack of suitable female role models, and bizarrely juxtaposes Philip Roth with Demi Moore, Kim Cattrall and Madonna. This is simply baffling- comparing not so much apples and oranges as apples and donkeys. I don't even think she's trying to make the arguably valid but hardly original point that male writers tend towards the magisterial, zeitgeist-defining, century-spanning 'great novel', whereas women writers have tended to excel more at the (less esteemed) minute examination of the interior, domestic life. If she were, she might have found Margaret Attwood, Helen Simpson, or Anne Tyler more illuminating comparators than Moore et al. But by this stage you have started to form the impression that Moran's vision is entirely bounded by the confines of her media existence- a suspicion confirmed when you reach the Acknowledgements section and realise that, family aside, you recognise a good half of these names from the narrow world of broadsheet and TV journalism.

Ultimately, this is not a book about feminism at all- it's a not terribly interesting memoir with a spurious theme bolted on. Moran wants to validate her own preferences (burlesque clubs but not strip joints; Lady Gaga but not Katie Price), but she does not have the creativity or intellectual ability of, say, Camille Paglia, to do so convincingly. And speaking of Paglia, here's a funny thing. Only one feminist writer/thinker is namechecked in the entire book- Germaine Greer. If you are purporting to write a book about modern feminism, I'm not sure whether that speaks to arrogance, ignorance, or extreme laziness, but it's hardly impressive.

It could be argued that this book has some utility if it introduces WAG-obsessed young female readers of celebrity gossip magazines to a semblance of feminist ideas, in a language they'll readily identify with. But as a commentary on modern feminism for the mature, intelligent woman, it's a dead loss. If that's what you're looking for, give this a miss and try Natasha Walter, Maureen Dowd or Barbara Ehrenreich instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Jeremy Clarkson of Feminism, 2 Jan 2013
This review is from: How To Be a Woman (Paperback)
A book about feminism for people who don't like books. Or feminism. Or thinking.
Started well and it does throw up some interesting ideas but rapidly degenerates into a shouty, bombastic diatribe that can't even maintain a consistent train of thought. Why didn't the editor point out the glaring inconsistencies and the illogical conclusions? Did anybody actually read the manuscript before it was sent to the printers? I couldn't work out if the way in which ideas are slung haphazardly onto the page in the second half of the book is indicative of laziness or blatant contempt for the reader. The arrogance demonstrated by the title indicates that it's most likely the latter. And while I can appreciate Ms Moran's desire to be approachable and reach a wide audience the fact that she refers to only one book throughout (and manages to misquote it)means it's unlikely that she was ever going to be accused of the kind of elitism and academic posturing that would render her work too challenging for a mainstream audience.
It would be easy to dismiss this book as a lightweight piece of fluff but, astoundingly, Ms Moran is being touted as a beacon of modern feminism on the strength of this piece of flabby, self-absorbed bluster.
I got my copy as a Christmas present. Don't bother buying a new copy; second hand book stores will have plenty of copies in stock quite soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


146 of 166 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How to be a self-indulgent, tasteless child., 25 Aug 2011
This review is from: How To Be a Woman (Paperback)
Adverse effect of Kindles, they make it easy to purchase things you wouldn't dream of buying otherwise. I have long suspected that Caitlin Moran is a bit over-hyped. Her columns are sometimes funny, sometimes a pointless stream of conciousness, written while hungover (as she is happy to admit).
This book is an ill-conceived hybrid of the type of bare-all confessional that too many female journalists indulge in these days, and childish feminist drivel that a first-year student might burble while necking bottles of alcopop in the college bar. Hardcore pornography is demeaning to women, apparently. Who knew? She mistakes crudity for humour (if you want genuinely funny toilet humour, read "the Tent, the Bucket and Me"),and contradicts herself frequently- sexy lingerie is an essential, no, wait, big knickers are good and men don't care what you wear.
The unedited, under-informed and over-sharing style, which relies on capital letters to make her points, is of the kind you would expect in a teenage girl's diary. And I suspect herein is the issue. As she proudly tells us, a few times, she was employed as a journalist at 16. So Ms Moran has retained the writing style, and maturity, that served her so well back in the day. Her pronouncement that she is better than Barack Obama, because she is a mother, suggests that she takes the supermarket slogan "Because mums are heroes", a bit too literally. Michelle Obama might make the claim to be better than Barack, but not someone whose main contribution to society is a column about celebrities.
Lastly, and worst, she chooses to compare the imagined horror of a 10 year old boy seeing a bra, to the horror of the naked girl in the photo taken of children running from the My Lai massacre. At least, that's who I assume she meant when she blithely referenced "that Vietnamese kid covered in napalm". Beyond unfunny and tasteless, it smacked of ignorance and immaturity. Which, given what she tells us of her life, shouldn't be too surprising. How to be a woman? I think not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Damn the Patriarchy!, 27 Oct 2014
This review is from: How To Be a Woman (Paperback)
I went into this book with very mixed opinions. On the one hand, I had my dad’s birthday present from his work and got told to buy him some books, and maybe one for myself, I had heard a lot of about Catlin Moran’s book from other feminist friends, and was on the fence as to whether to buy it. So I did…and it sat on my shelf for a good few months. The reason why is what follows:

There was an internet twitter incident not long ago, where Moran tweeted a comment about young adult literature, which was thoroughly slammed by Patrick Ness and other authors. She essentially made a comment that there are no gritty or “mature” themes within YA literature. This made me feel quite annoyed by her. So as you can see, I put the book off because I was so on the fence about whether I actually wanted to read any more of her opinion.

However, I finally picked this book up, and I’m glad I did. For one thing it certainly lessened my dislike of her. The thing about memoirs and such, and even articles and reviews, is that you need to remember it is one person’s personal opinion, and just because it is their opinion, does not mean it is right or wrong indefinitely and that they are saying “yes this is what you should all believe”. It is just a case of “Well this is what I believe or think about this”.

This book follows Caitlin’s journey through being a young girl in a cramped household, to going through puberty, learning what the hell periods are, how the work place is for women and all “the patriarchal bulls***” which happens along the way. My god, I spent my train journeys laughing while I read this book- in a good way, I mean!

The only other book like this I have read so far, is Tina Fey’s “Bossypants”, another great feminist memoir which had me in fits of laughter. So much of it is true, and actually quite disturbing, when you consider how females are treated in our society. But there were times when I was reading certain topics and I actually had genuine “oh thank god I’m not the only one who thinks that!”, ranging from what women are told to do to their bodies mainly to be considered “not lazy” followed by how women are supposed to react to aging, in terms of dying hair and worrying about wrinkle lines.

Just this year, the BBC ruled that women presenters of their children’s programming should not be allowed to wear red lipstick as it is considered “too sexy”. You almost never see women presenters who have grey hair or who appear to be over the age of around 40…whereas there are men presenting on the BBC who effectively look like dinosaurs in comparison.

Just…yes. Good. It does have some flaws and some statements that I don’t personally agree with, that is fine. But for the most part, I have a lot of feelings about this book which go along the lines of “read it, laugh, possibly cry, and damn the patriarchy!”

“Batman doesn’t have to put up with this s***–why should we?”

**the link to the article I mentioned:[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memoirs of the woman who is considered a symbol of modern literary feminism, 5 Mar 2014
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How To Be a Woman (Paperback)
‘How To Be a Woman’ written by Caitlin Moran is a memoir book in whose company you will (for the most part) have a good time, certainly many times it will make you laugh, and if you are a woman or even arguing for the rights of women, there is a good chance that it will become a reference to which you will sometimes refer.

Caitlin Moran is a published author since the age of 16 and she has been writing columns for The Times since 1992, mainly on culture topics. Among other awards she received, Moran was acknowledged as Columnist of the Year, Critic of the Year and Interviewer of the Year. She is often used as symbol of feminism writing but unlike some similar authors, Moran’s texts regardless of the seriousness of the issues she is speaking about are rich in humor.

Moran grew up in family of eight children where she was the oldest child; together with her sisters and brothers she lived not in excessive abundance that she later compared to Hunger Games what heavily influenced on her life attitudes and events that have marked the rest of her life – Moran revealed that she left home as soon as she was able to that, at the age of 18.

She did not go to school regularly and had been officially home educated from the age of 11; later she admitted that all of the kids in their family didn’t receive proper formal education from their parents during childhood, though it was unusual to hear that the local government allowed their parents to do everything they want with their children education because they were "the only hippies in Wolverhampton".

Given that she had a lot of free time, and obvious talent that could not remain hidden, Moran received her first literary contest award when she was 13 years old. That was only the beginning of her awards for which she deserved job position as a journalist for Melody Maker, the weekly music publication, at the age of 16. Year later she started working on TV where she became host of music show hosting many artists that were new on the scene such as Blur and Manic Street Preachers.

Her memoirs ‘How To Be a Woman’ in which she recounted her life not so long in duration, but rich in events in an interesting and humorous way, became internationally successful and it was translated in numerous languages. Moran is good story teller, especially when in a convincing and detailed manner is telling about her childhood, in many times managing to make reader smile. Despite their family poverty, she despised the idea of being pitied, what she successful avoided even when she was a child writing her diary.

She opened each of her chapters with some event from her life that explains creation of her particular feminist belief and then discusses the issue by inviting the reader to consider her arguments. Some of topics she speaks about, such as decision to have an abortion, are very good and manage to enter deep and well in subject, especially when she includes her own experiences. On the other hand Moran many times goes into generalizations when she speaks about particular subjects, dividing men and women in order to emphasize some point that makes her book for some parts somehow superficial. Also (which is probably a concession to younger generations) she uses the language that is these days encountered on the Internet, full of abbreviations and caps lock which does not seem the most appropriate for book format.

Still, ‘How To Be a Woman’ will be a book easy to read, for the most part interesting and funny, and is likely to appeal especially to women who consider themselves the distinct feminists. For others in the end it might seem that the author in some ways just scratched the surface and that the radicalism of attitudes cannot be equated with full knowledge of the subject matter on which the story is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 86 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I want to go back in time and NOT buy this book., 16 Aug 2011
This review is from: How To Be a Woman (Paperback)
I'm a bookworm. I keep every book that I read, and I dread moving house due to the sheer numbers of them that I own.

So it takes a lot for me to take a brand new book to the charity shop - but with this one, I made an exception. How to Be a Woman was recommended to me by a close friend who loved it, and so I bought it on Amazon straight away. It's done nothing but annoy me and make me roll my eyes since. Feminism? Really? Since when did feminism consist of laboured jokes and childish capital letters? I knew hardly anything about Caitlin Moran prior to picking this up, and now I feel like all I need to know is that she doesn't seem to have grown up as a writer since 17.

I really can't stress enough how disappointed I was. Never before have I actually felt like I've thrown money away on a book.

Clearly a lot of people love it, I suppose it's just one of those books that divides people, the above is obviously just my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A warning: very disappointing book!, 27 Feb 2012
This review is from: How To Be a Woman (Paperback)
I had fairly average expectations of this book from the beginning, having recieved mixed reviews. The most disappointing part was probably the fact that it seemed to have potential; the first few chapters did really make me laugh, and were full of interesting anecdotes. However, the book quickly became an uncomfortable read. One particular thing (that I'm not certain has been commented on?) is the excessive Nazi jokes. This may seem like no big deal, but it was unnecessary for the topic, and the frequent Hitler/Nazi references were off-putting at best.

Another issue was the 14th chapter on 'role models'. This chapter seemed hugely out of place, largely based on opinion, and not especially related to the author. The chapter was just odd, and didn't quite fit with the rest of the book. The author just doesn't seem to have made up her mind whether the book is serious or funny - the constant jokes and humourous tone at the beginning keeps the book light, while still dealing with some important issues, while some of the later chapters are really serious, and completely change the book's tone.

On top of this, the author leaves no room for argument. She states her opinion as if it is fact, while often her opinions came across as a little skewed, and sometimes offensive. As I've said, I was only so disappointed by this book because the beginning set a higher standard than the way in which it ended. The ending was unsatisfying, and did not truly conclude the content of the book, in my opinion. And a purely structural point: much of this book was just a rant. Not really a well-structured novel, but more a stream-of-conciousness style (and not in a good way).

Not only did I not enjoy this book, but afterwards felt regretful for having read it. Really, really disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 279 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How To Be a Woman
How To Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran (Paperback - 1 Mar 2012)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews