Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take a journey into England's past
Take a journey into England's past in this county-by-county guide to the meanings behind the names of our towns and villages. Caroline shows how deciphering place names reveals how generations of our ancestors lived, worked, travelled and worshipped, from Viking invaders and Norman conquerors right up to the Industrial Revolution; and why so many place names have tall...
Published on 12 Oct. 2011 by Country Publications

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Accessible intro to the subject
Don't buy this if you're looking for a comprehensive guide to the etymology of English placenames, but it's a brightly written introduction to the subject. Taggart takes a pretty arbitrary selection from different parts of the country and sketches out some of the more common occurences and gives a little history here, an amusing anecdote there. As a resident of the city...
Published on 23 Jun. 2011 by Duncan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Accessible intro to the subject, 23 Jun. 2011
By 
Duncan (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Book of English Place Names: How Our Towns and Villages Got Their Names (Hardcover)
Don't buy this if you're looking for a comprehensive guide to the etymology of English placenames, but it's a brightly written introduction to the subject. Taggart takes a pretty arbitrary selection from different parts of the country and sketches out some of the more common occurences and gives a little history here, an amusing anecdote there. As a resident of the city of the followers of a dark-age cheiftan called 'Snot', I'd recommend this for a casually interested reader or beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take a journey into England's past, 12 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Book of English Place Names: How Our Towns and Villages Got Their Names (Hardcover)
Take a journey into England's past in this county-by-county guide to the meanings behind the names of our towns and villages. Caroline shows how deciphering place names reveals how generations of our ancestors lived, worked, travelled and worshipped, from Viking invaders and Norman conquerors right up to the Industrial Revolution; and why so many place names have tall tales and ancient legends attached to them. Whether it is Indian Queens (was it really visited by Pocahontas?), Sixpenny Handley (not named after its perceived value), Gatwick which means `farm where goats are kept ("not any more, it's not," comments Caroline), Good Easter or Westward Ho! (the only place name in Britain that ends in an exclamation mark), Caroline uncovers many interesting and informative meanings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book of English Place Names., 5 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Book of English Place Names: How Our Towns and Villages Got Their Names (Hardcover)
Informative and interesting. Quite a history lesson in the origins of the place names! Great fun looking up places of special interest or just looking at random.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, Interesting., 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book. Bought it on hard copy then downloaded a copy to my kindle. I refer to it regularly. Engrossing subject, extremely well written. Love Caroline Taggart's humourous writing style. Makes a fascinating subject even more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glad I've got it, 6 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of English Place Names: How Our Towns and Villages Got Their Names (Hardcover)
It's okay, but very selective in what places are mentioned. I would have expected more places to be included, but I'm still glad I've got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English place names, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reviews indicated this was an introduction and rather elementary. As such it suits me well. Amusing, well-written and adequately informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 20 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of English Place Names: How Our Towns and Villages Got Their Names (Hardcover)
Some useful info in here and great for reference purposes. Some place names could have done with a bit more detail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant Book, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of English Place Names: How Our Towns and Villages Got Their Names (Hardcover)
Does the job what i needed it for - so informative and very easy to read & follow the information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rather generalised, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of English Place Names: How Our Towns and Villages Got Their Names (Hardcover)
Slightly disappointing in that I was expecting something more specific and detailed. There was little on the region where we live, and nothing we did not already know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars English Place Names, 30 May 2011
By 
Mr. Ian A. Mcrae (Chichester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of English Place Names: How Our Towns and Villages Got Their Names (Hardcover)
Informative tome but I was disappointed by the lack of small villages in this book.Perhaps there should be books moretoo a specific areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of English Place Names: How Our Towns and Villages Got Their Names
£8.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews