Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars44
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2011
This is a fantastic overview of modern sea angling. There is good advice from various expert anglers on all aspects of modern sea fishing, particularly from the shore. All facets of the modern approach to sea fishing are discussed here and there are also lots of little tips to make life easier when out there trying to catch. Excellent book, very informative, with good pictures. The author, Alan Yates, really knows his stuff! As this is Fox's Guide to Modern Sea Angling, this particular brand is plugged throughout the book but this is to be expected and can be easily overlooked. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to get in to sea fishing or wants to further their knowledge.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2011
Worth every penny of its price. Well written and everything well explained. There is plenty in there for total beginners right the way up to people like myself with a good few years of fishing behind them.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2011
I would recommend this book to anyone who is serious about fishing. Great also for those learning how to fish.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
It's often hard to get a book on angling that covers basics (bait, tactics, even knots) in a good clear manner. The Sea Angler book "The Sea Angler's Step-by-step Guide to Bait and Rigs" by Mel Russ was perfect, simple and concise, but now long out of print and difficult to get. This book by Fox is a very good succcessor. Brought up to date, but with similar valuable basic information.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
My son in law loved this book. I had read reviews and some had said it was like a catalogue for Fox, but it contains some really practical tips and good, useful photos.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
Very informative and well written. Gives just the right amount of detail for a beginer like myself to start sea fishing
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Bought as a present for a young fishing enthusiast wanting to branch out into sea fishing. Seems to have everything covered from equipment to technique and safety. All the reference to sea fishing you need in one book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
As someone who is retireing soon and would like to take up a new pastime, I .E. sea fishing from the beach, this book is an ideal read excellent descriptions on all aspects of the art, and very good diagrams and photographs.
Recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
I already fly fish but was looking for something which was about sea fishing and principally from the shore. This has been the best book I have found for that purpose. Coverage of rod types and setups is adequate but the real strength of the book for me was in the various rig setups - how to build them and how to use them. Bait is discussed at some length as is the issue of keeping it on the hook while casting. I can't comment on how useful this would be for non-novices, but as a sea fishing beginner this has helped hugely in deciding on rod and reel type and what to attach to the other end as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
Alan Yates, call him Guru or anything else, he explains things so simpley entertaining read so informative
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)