Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review - Eating For Two by AK
Once again Annabel Karamel has come up trumps with her new book, Eating For Two. It's filled with mouth-watering recipes, not only for pregnancy, but for beyond and the whole family.

The chicken satay is out of this world, and remarkably easy to make. I'm about to make the Cinnamon Granola to sprinkle over my yoghurt tomorrow.
Published on 17 July 2012 by The Baba Blog

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good recipes but no surprises if you already follow a healthy diet
I bought this book after reading an interview with the writer in The Telegraph. The recipes are good - but not mind blowing - and the advice doesn't really add much more to the conventional pregnancy guidance you get from reading NHS sites or pregnancy books. Naturally healthy eaters might also feel a bit short changed if looking for some radical insights into how to...
Published on 17 July 2012 by Laura French


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review - Eating For Two by AK, 17 July 2012
This review is from: Eating for Two: The complete guide to nutrition during pregnancy and beyond (Hardcover)
Once again Annabel Karamel has come up trumps with her new book, Eating For Two. It's filled with mouth-watering recipes, not only for pregnancy, but for beyond and the whole family.

The chicken satay is out of this world, and remarkably easy to make. I'm about to make the Cinnamon Granola to sprinkle over my yoghurt tomorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book - a must-have for pregnant women!, 16 July 2012
This review is from: Eating for Two: The complete guide to nutrition during pregnancy and beyond (Hardcover)
I was given the book as a gift, and I am so happy with it! What a gorgeous book! The recipes are delightful and simple to make, which is great especially when youre suffering with morning sickness and need quick meals!

It divides the book into the different food groups and has such a range of recipes - from main meals through to light snacks (definitely try the ham and honey mustard quesadillas! sooo good!) what is great is that it doesnt preach about what you should be eating and making you feel guilty for not eating the right foods - its is so varied and even has the most delicious pregnancy friendly tiramisu recipe! it can be hard when pregnant especially if like me youve had ongoing nausea, but these meals aim to help combat that, im now 20weeks and the sickness is subsiding a little!

There is loads of useful advice too in the book spilt into the 3 trimesters and "then there were two" so this is more than just a recipe book. the photographs are mouth watering and the design is simple and clear, meaning you can flick through and decide what you fancy eating quickly!

Overall a must if youre pregnant or planning on getting pregnant! Lovely photographs, beautiful design, delicious recipes and well written with loads of useful information! I would definitely recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, all recipes tried successful so far!, 23 July 2012
This review is from: Eating for Two: The complete guide to nutrition during pregnancy and beyond (Hardcover)
I bought the book because I wanted to cut through the huge amount of information and hysteria about eating when pregnant. It contains some level -headed advice and simple but nutrient rich recipes that are healthy, tasty, filling and easy to make. I particularly like the treats such as banana bread and blueberry American style pancakes that taste naughty but wholesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good recipes but no surprises if you already follow a healthy diet, 17 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eating for Two: The complete guide to nutrition during pregnancy and beyond (Hardcover)
I bought this book after reading an interview with the writer in The Telegraph. The recipes are good - but not mind blowing - and the advice doesn't really add much more to the conventional pregnancy guidance you get from reading NHS sites or pregnancy books. Naturally healthy eaters might also feel a bit short changed if looking for some radical insights into how to make the most of your food during pregnancy. I would cook a lot of these dishes as a matter of course and didn't feel that I learnt much that wasn't about taking a healthy approach to eating in general eg spinach has lots of iron and that low GI is good for diabetes/weight management whether you are pregnant or not. So, the bottom line is that these recipes are tasty and this is a lovely book - but it doesn't reinvent the wheel - particularly for women who are already interested in eating for optimum nutrition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eating for Two: The complete guide to nutrition during pregnancy and beyond (Hardcover)
I bought this at the beginning of my pregnancy and now I am near the end. I tried to look at it a few times bit was not inspired. There is not a lot to learn in this book that I don't already know and the recipes are ok but not tempting enough for me to go to the effort. Would not recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good read if you have no knowledge of nutrition!, 28 July 2012
This review is from: Eating for Two: The complete guide to nutrition during pregnancy and beyond (Hardcover)
I heard the author speaking about this book on a radio show and bought it on the strength of her interview.. Not a good move. There are a few other books available on the subject which have the same information and all of them, including this are only of any use if you have no prior knowledge of nutrition. The recipes are basic and unoriginal but may be handy for days when you're so tired you need a quick meal. Unfortunately less vegetarian recipes than I was expecting. Overall, the author is far more interesting and imparted more information on the subject in her interview than this book contains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eating for Two: The complete guide to nutrition during pregnancy and beyond
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews