Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous to read, gorgeous to eat!
I was seduced when I first flicked through the book. The food is photographed to look truly scrumptious. And then I cooked from it and it was truly scrumptious.

There are chapters on starters, pasta and rice, fish & shellfish, meat and poultry, vegetarian mains, vegetable side dishes, and desserts. Many of the recipes are syn free or very low syn (including...
Published on 13 April 2011 by Isobel Stark

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Not much every day food in here at all, with a family of 6 to feed the choice is limiting
Published 5 months ago by helen Price


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous to read, gorgeous to eat!, 13 April 2011
By 
Isobel Stark "Issy Gark" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slimming World's Everyday Italian: Over 120 fresh, healthy and delicious recipes (Hardcover)
I was seduced when I first flicked through the book. The food is photographed to look truly scrumptious. And then I cooked from it and it was truly scrumptious.

There are chapters on starters, pasta and rice, fish & shellfish, meat and poultry, vegetarian mains, vegetable side dishes, and desserts. Many of the recipes are syn free or very low syn (including the desserts!), so I'm not really sure what the previous reviewer was complaining about. If you can have 10-15 syns per day, why not use 1 or 2 for a delicious main course. In many cases for the pasta the syns were due to parmesan, so just use your A choice if you are that worried :)

My favourite recipes so far are the grilled courgettes (simple, quick, yummy), spinach with sultanas and pine nuts, roasted vine tomatoes, bacon wrapped monkfish with rosemary rosties, leek risotto and the parma ham wrapped duck breast. I've always cooked Italian dishes since living as an au pair in Italy in my teens but too often British Italian cook books concentrate on pasta and rice and don't include many of the meat and vegetable dishes the Italians are so good at. This book does not fall into that trap.

My only negative comment would be about the Osso Bucco recipe which says to remove the bone marrow from the veal shanks before cooking. What is the point? If you want to eat Osso Bucco, then go the whole hog. The bone marrow is the best bit of the dish! Otherwise I couldn't complain about the flavours of the recipes: light and fresh or deep and hearty depending on the dish. Fans of Italian food won' be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such tasty food that you could easily forget you are on a diet, 7 Oct. 2011
By 
D. Jones (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slimming World's Everyday Italian: Over 120 fresh, healthy and delicious recipes (Hardcover)
Length:: 3:18 Mins

This book is well worth getting if you love Italian food and you are following the Slimming World eating plan.

The recipes are easy to follow and the ones I have tried have been very tasty - no one in the family realised that they were eating something from the Slimming World book.

Many of the recipes have a full page glossy photograph which is great inspiration to get you to try the dish. However not all recipes had a photograph and I have found that those have been the ones I have been less likely to cook.

It is split into sensible sections with a good range of menus in each section:
Soups and starters
Salads and snacks
Pasta and risottos
Fish and shellfish
Meat and poultry
Vegetarian
Sides and accompaniments
Desserts

The recipes are easy to follow and timings have generally been accurate. Many of the recipes are syn free especially if you are on the extra easy plan. Yes some of the richer meals and most of the deserts need to have the syns counted but I don't see that is a problem as you are allowed up to 15 syns a day - just count them into your allowance.

If you don't know anything about Slimming World but fancy this book there is enough information at the beginning of it to help get you started. It explains the difference between the three different plans, free foods and syns. Even if you aren't bothered about losing weight the recipes in the book are so tasty that it can hold its own as an Italian recipe book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent easy recipes, 7 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slimming World's Everyday Italian: Over 120 fresh, healthy and delicious recipes (Hardcover)
not longed joined slimming world and love italian cooking and food. Some wonderful easy to follow recipes would recommed this book. Hubbie who also loves Italian can't get over how tasty the food is and virtually syn free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab recipes!, 30 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slimming World's Everyday Italian: Over 120 fresh, healthy and delicious recipes (Hardcover)
Wonderful book and very, very encouraging to this new member of Slimming World - nice easy recipes and gives all details of Extra Easy, Original and Green.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good recipes whether you want to lose weight or not!, 17 Feb. 2013
By 
S. Hugg (Stamford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slimming World's Everyday Italian: Over 120 fresh, healthy and delicious recipes (Hardcover)
A colleague showed this to another colleague who was trying to lose weight and I bought it because I liked the look of the recipes. I have really enjoyed cooking quite a few of the dishes (I am a veggie which is a bit limiting but have actually adapted some of them). I have loads of recipe books but think this one is excellent even though I tend to ignore all the stuff about syns and weight loss and use a good dash of olive oil, rather than the spray of low fat oil - oh, and two of us usually eat the meal for four but, having said that, neither of us has become fat as a result so they must be doing something right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful, 13 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: Slimming World's Everyday Italian: Over 120 fresh, healthy and delicious recipes (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book, well written, easy to understand with lots of pictures, a real must for anyone looking to lose weight with the whole of the family, without missing out on great food
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bella, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slimming World's Everyday Italian: Over 120 fresh, healthy and delicious recipes (Hardcover)
Great Italian Cookbook whether you are trying to or not. Tasty, easy to cook receipes. Book not available from slimming world any more so very pleased to have found one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quality good with lots of yummy receipes, even for veggies!, 24 April 2014
This review is from: Slimming World's Everyday Italian: Over 120 fresh, healthy and delicious recipes (Hardcover)
The book itself is hardwearing and of good quality. There's a good selection of receipes and even a good number of veggie ones for those of us that don't like meat. i cook from this book at least once a week and love the number of low syn receipes available.

My particular favorites include the yummy pesto, pasta; and the worth the effort italian torta, yummy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing recipes and a must to buy., 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slimming World's Everyday Italian: Over 120 fresh, healthy and delicious recipes (Hardcover)
This book is well worth getting if you love Italian food and you are following the Slimming World eating plan. I have not longed joined Slimming World and love Italian cooking and food. Some wonderful easy to follow recipes would recommend this book. Wonderful book and very, very encouraging to this new member of Slimming World.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Italian Eats!, 25 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slimming World's Everyday Italian: Over 120 fresh, healthy and delicious recipes (Hardcover)
Lots of delicious, easy to prepare recipes in this book. Well worth buying and has helped me vary what I can serve for friends and family whilst helping me eat healthily!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slimming World's Everyday Italian: Over 120 fresh, healthy and delicious recipes
£14.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews