Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of the Victoria Cross
Forgotten Voices of the Victoria Cross by Roderick Bailey, is one of the finest books
about Victoria Cross recipients published in the last five years.
Based on interviews held at the Imperial War Museum, some sixty-odd recipients are
dealt with in either eye-witness accounts of the VC deed, accounts by the recipients themselves,
or by men who knew the...
Published on 29 Oct 2010 by V. R. S. Tambling

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misses the intended target by a very wide margin.
I enjoy military history and, like so many similar-minded people, enjoy reading about heroism in all its forms. The Victoria Cross is possibly the most famous of all medals for valour and takes precedence over all other British honours and awards to the extent that the post-nominal letters ‘VC’ would appear before even the highest orders of Knighthood...
Published 7 months ago by Ned Middleton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of the Victoria Cross, 29 Oct 2010
By 
V. R. S. Tambling (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Forgotten Voices of the Victoria Cross by Roderick Bailey, is one of the finest books
about Victoria Cross recipients published in the last five years.
Based on interviews held at the Imperial War Museum, some sixty-odd recipients are
dealt with in either eye-witness accounts of the VC deed, accounts by the recipients themselves,
or by men who knew the recipient.
The period covered dates from the First World War up to the Korean War, and the illustrations are
excellent.
As a researcher who has been interested in the Victoria Cross for well over thirty years,I
strongly recommend this book to all - even those with just a passing interest.
for me, it was a great revelation of 'the man behind the medal.'
Roderick Bailey has done an excellent job, and after reading the book, I felt very humbled
by what I had read.
Highly recommended.

Vic. Tambling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misses the intended target by a very wide margin., 31 Dec 2013
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of the Victoria Cross (Paperback)
I enjoy military history and, like so many similar-minded people, enjoy reading about heroism in all its forms. The Victoria Cross is possibly the most famous of all medals for valour and takes precedence over all other British honours and awards to the extent that the post-nominal letters ‘VC’ would appear before even the highest orders of Knighthood. Formally established in January 1856, the first medal was actually awarded for an action in 1854. The most recent award (to date) being in 2013. Altogether, 1,354 people have been awarded the VC with three of these having earned the medal twice. Eight recipients, however, later forfeited their medal after being convicted of various crimes. Nevertheless, each of those 1,357 instances of individual heroism has all the ingredients for an engrossing short story in its own right.

This is a work of collusion between the author and the Imperial War Museum (IWM) which seeks to create a different emphasis from anything which may have gone before on the same subject. This is achieved by reproducing the personal accounts of a select number of VC recipients – as penned at the time or shortly thereafter, instead of repeating their actual citation and adding whatever additional information may be available. There appears to be no set format for those accounts which are included which include VC actions from WW1, Russia 1919, WW2 and Korea only.

These personal accounts, however, - as I say, written at the time, do not do justice to each man’s specific deed of bravery. When required to write whatever reports and accounts after the event, people are usually far too modest and will not, therefore, provide the reader with a blow-by-blow account of what truly happened. In short, therefore, we have a book on a subject which should fire the imagination of every reader but instead lacks that required qualities of zest, gravitas and even imagination which are central to the subject. Qualities which, I suspect, were held in great abundance by each person who had that famous medal pinned to his chest.

Of course, those deeds which have been selected did occur and are ‘always’ worth reading about because each was so exceptional. My own personal disappointments at seeing certain famous events almost glossed over and others conspicuous by their absence is, of course, irrelevant but it does add to my overall disappointment.

In summary, I would suggest this work misses the target at which it was aimed by a very wide margin and, given the subject matter, that is hard to achieve!

NM
British Army major (Retired)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of the Victoria Cross (Paperback)
As with all true accounts of the horrors of war, the Victoria Cross is fascinating, there are many amazing stories of self sacrifice and
bravery in this book, it's value in the face of adversity is the example it has for future generations.
A must for all students of war and thegreat heritage we have before us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Mr M.R.Watkinson (Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of the Victoria Cross (Paperback)
I'm going to go against the flow here. This book is one of a series based on the Sound Archive of the Imperial War Museum; recorded interviews with people who have lived through various conflicts from the 20th Century onwards. The archive was begun in 1972 with the purpose of recording testimony from those who lived through WWI which means, unfortunately, it misses the earliest conflict of the 20thC, the Boer War. In the introduction, the author admits that, despite the fact that over 600 VCs were awarded in WWI; more than half the total awarded to date & more than 3 times as many as in WWII; most of the accounts featured come from the latter conflict, simply because there are more such recordings in the archive.

As the series, as a whole, claims to focus on conflicts of the 20thC, I can't help feeling that the premise could have been stretched for this one book. Using not only recorded but written recollections of VC winners would have allowed a more representative selection of awards to have been examined. It also, surely, would have allowed the book to have taken in the whole of 20thC & included the Boer War, where some 81 VCs were awarded. That's enough of a disappointment to cost 1*.

A fault present throughout this series is cheap production on the part of Random House. As with others in it, the book is reasonably well illustrated, but the publisher couldn't be bothered to use decent paper for the photo's; they are printed on exactly the same paper as the text. Contrary to the opinion of another reviewer, I find the pictures are therefore of rather variable quality; sometimes OK, all too often decidedly not. Finally, I was also disappointed to find that many of the passages for the WWI VCs I had already read in Forgotten Voices of the Great War. I presume that I will find many of the WWII accounts in the books focusing on that conflict. I work in the publishing industry. I find it difficult to believe that there was no editor-in-chief, or simply a single editor for the series (Jake Lingwood seems to be mentioned a lot in various Acknowledgements) who might have better advised the various authors & cut down on repetition. On top of that, there are a few too many passages that seem to bear little relation to the VC winners they purport to be about. Taken together, those are enough to cost the book another star, in my opinion.

This is a decent, interesting read. I do not regard a 3* review as a bad review, and it is not my intention to suggest this is a bad book. It's simply that it could have been better. If you buy it as a standalone, it's perhaps worth 4*; my criticism about repetition won't apply for a start. On the other hand, there's an 8-pack of the series available, which is how I got this. If you can get this as part of that (I paid 10 for mine), you will certainly get terrific value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy tribute to true heroes, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of the Victoria Cross (Paperback)
Many of us (me included) are often guilty of over using the word "Hero".
Many service men and women often go unrecognised but these Vicoria Cross winners are the ultimate heroes.
I met Johnson Beharry VC once. Like many VC winners he was so modest too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravest of the brave, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of the Victoria Cross (Paperback)
Gives us an insight to an era that ordinary men and women suffered for our country in wartime. Recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of the Victoria Cross (Paperback)
Brilliantly written, gives a real sense of the horror of WW!. Arrived well packaged and sooner than expected. Great all round service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VC so good, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anything to do with the Victoria Cross has to be good. This doesn't disappoint. Very interesting read and informative too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my husband as he enjoys war books. He enjoyed reading it and found it informative and an inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heros;Lest We Forget., 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An historical look at the men who risked everything for us.Often in their words or that of their peers.They diserve not to be forgotten.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forgotten Voices of the Victoria Cross
Forgotten Voices of the Victoria Cross by The Imperial War Museum (Paperback - 13 Oct 2011)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews