Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best book out of Afghanistan to date.
This is a tremendous read and it benefits immensely from having a professional author working on the book. The book is well put together and very very impressive and exciting. The book is quiet possible one of the most action packed reads I've had in the last few years and certainly one of the best to come out of the Iraq/Afghan conflicts. My respect goes out to 2 Mercian...
Published on 30 Sep 2010 by A. Cresswell

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insight but repetative
This gives a good insight to the JTAC role. Opens your eyes to the danger the forces face. However it gets very repetitive I started to get bored. The writer makes it sound like he is winning the war single handed.
Published on 2 July 2012 by GBT


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best book out of Afghanistan to date., 30 Sep 2010
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Strike 7/9 (Hardcover)
This is a tremendous read and it benefits immensely from having a professional author working on the book. The book is well put together and very very impressive and exciting. The book is quiet possible one of the most action packed reads I've had in the last few years and certainly one of the best to come out of the Iraq/Afghan conflicts. My respect goes out to 2 Mercian and their JTAC. I remember thinking afterwards that these guys have some of the most incredible luck, (It's strange just how much luck our troops have ... I suspect their incredible training and reflexes has a lot to do with their making their own luck) and they've got balls the size of space hoppers and more courage than even. When you read about some of the Danger Close airstrikes they seem amazingly dangerous and they must scare the guys silly ... however to get a comparison I read another book from the US Soldiers point of view and they won't work and neither will their JTACS when Danger Close is <200m Bare in mind these guys are calling in strikes continuously <100m It's not as if the JTAC stand off miles away and call the strikes in. In some of the cases he was closer to the strikes than the troops and he is always trying to ensure he has a visual on what they are trying to hit. There's a good smattering of typical squaddie humour and language in the book and it certainly served well to bring back a lot of my own memories. Out of all the Iraq/Afghan books out there this has to be one of the best. Read it. You won't regret it and your respect for the troops will go up immensely, if that's at all possible. The one thing I was disappointed to see yet again .... Poor equipment and even worse rules of engagement. (Troops now can't attack even ARMED TALIBAN unless they shoot at the troops first. The morons that come out with these rules should be sent in to the field to find out how ridiculous and dangerous that is. There's a special place in hell for the people that hamstring our troops like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY Recommended!!!, 8 Sep 2010
This review is from: Fire Strike 7/9 (Hardcover)
This book is fantastically written. Since starting the first page, I could not put it down.
Damien Lewis, who is co writter of this book, has written two other very good books on UK Forces in Afghanistan.
Paul 'Bommer' Grahame undoutably saved a great many UK and Allied lives throughout his tour described in this book.
I highly Recommend this book, a real 'Page Turner'!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best war story of the decade, 28 Aug 2010
This review is from: Fire Strike 7/9 (Hardcover)
This book gives you an insight into what to expect in 21st Century Warfare. It has everything you can ever hope for in a book; wit, squaddie humour, suspense and above all an excellent account of a JTACs exploits on Operations. Lets hope there is a sequel to this super humans soldiers memoires.... 10 out of 10 in all accounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible story of life on the ground at the height of the Afghan War, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Strike 7/9 (Kindle Edition)
Unlike so many of these non-fiction accounts of life in the Afghan theatre, I couldn't put this one down for more than 30 minutes. The bravery, courage and sheer intensity of this unparalleled asymmetric conflict was like no other. Also, the terrific cooperation between international forces (the French pilots being the exception) was heartening and returned my faith that a well-oiled machine can get a horrific job done well. The role of the JTAC commanding and coordinating complex air strikes at Danger Close range to crush an illusive and well-trained enemy can not be under estimated and this book outlined in raw but perfect detail just how close we all came to utter disaster or valiant victory. My only regret is that we never will finish this job and the Taliban will shift right in behind our boys exiting the theatre, undoing the work of so many brave souls. They have my deepest gratitude. Great read, well written and heart-thumpingly edited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non stop, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Strike 7/9 (Kindle Edition)
This book reads like a thriller, so fast paced it's hard to put down. Then you remember it's not fiction. The action is described in a way that draws the reader along, almost in real time. Would recommend to anybody who likes their books lively
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account, 7 July 2014
By 
S. Morgan "BlueBird27" (Deepest darkest wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Strike 7/9 (Kindle Edition)
Makes you realise what these leads go through. Very proud to read these accounts. As a Welshman you realise it's good to be British.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superbly gripping read, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Strike 7/9 (Kindle Edition)
What a brilliant account of life on the frontline of Afghanistan. I learnt a massive amount about the world of the JTAC and the power and ferocity that he could deliver in support of the infantry soldier. Bommers first and last thought were for the men he was providing support for and they went through hell!! This was a brilliant book and is one of the best to show what Afghan has been like for our soldiers which rarely was reported.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Strike 7/9 (Kindle Edition)
I felt like I was there with them. Sure glad I read this book. I will know look for another on the same lines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Strike 7/9 (Kindle Edition)
This book tell the personal story of Widow79, in Helmond. The book was co-written with Damien Lewis and between them the two authors have written a well paced and gritty book. Some of the events are similar to those in Damien Lewis's Apache Dawn so I wonder if they are different sides of the same story. I thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must read, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Strike 7/9 (Paperback)
What a great book this is tells the story as it is pulls no punches for any one interested in military history this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fire Strike 7/9
Fire Strike 7/9 by Damien Lewis (Paperback - 9 Jun 2011)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews