Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent slow burner
I had never read a Jane Casey novel before, so decided to give this a go and was glad I did. It's a British detective story in which the central theme is the hunt for a killer who is burning his victims. The story is told mainly from two viewpoints: Maeve Kerrigan, a Detective Constable, and Louise, the friend of one of the victims. Each character tells her story in the...
Published on 17 Feb 2011 by Phil Robertshaw

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, but no real shocks.
Met officer Maeve becomes involved in a murder investigation when she spots signs that the latest victim of a serial killer doesn't display the hallmarks of the previous attacks. And so she sets off on the trail of the real assailant of Rebecca, a seemingly successful Oxford graduate and PR-career women, but real-life blackmailer and drug addict.

The book is...
Published on 30 Dec 2010 by RM/TM


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent slow burner, 17 Feb 2011
By 
Phil Robertshaw (North Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Burning: (Maeve Kerrigan 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I had never read a Jane Casey novel before, so decided to give this a go and was glad I did. It's a British detective story in which the central theme is the hunt for a killer who is burning his victims. The story is told mainly from two viewpoints: Maeve Kerrigan, a Detective Constable, and Louise, the friend of one of the victims. Each character tells her story in the first person and the story flips back between the two, clearly indicating at the start of the relevant chapter who is telling the tale.

It takes some time to get going, but The Burning is a highly enjoyable story with interesting characters. Aspects of it reminded me of Ruth Rendell's style of writing, but Jane Casey is finding a voice of her own and it will be interesting to see how she develops as an author. While this novel is not necessarily a breakneck speed, rapid page-turning kind of thriller, it is nevertheless a very easy read with a likeable protagonist. I would certainly read more by this author and have no hesitation in recommending The Burning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great winter read, 20 Dec 2010
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Burning: (Maeve Kerrigan 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am not a reviewer whose intention is ever to spoil the enjoyment of anybody reading what I am reviewing so I will have to keep this fairly generic since (not a spoiler alert) any reader of contemporary crime fiction e.g. McDermid, Cornwell, Reichs et al will probably "get " this fairly early on but don't let that spoil the enjoyment of this very involving novel

Second novels, like second albums, have a notoriety for being difficult to get right
Jane Casey burst onto the thriller genre scene with her first book The Missing which was an intriguing addition to the genre and was probably her own acid test as a writer to see if she could maintain her own mythology i.e. brain to page and back again.
Reading reviews of this first book it is quite clear that she passed all the tests for credibility, readability etc.

This new book is a degree grimmer and Casey also skirts dangerously a genre that has been so plundered by a great number of better known writers. Her amazing trick, as in the first book with its two time zones, is to have created a brilliantly rounded character in the shape of Maeve Kerrigan and also, to us, a subsidiary character, friend of latest victim, as a supporting voice as witness to the progress of the narrative. With this brilliant coup Casey carries off an exciting new novel that has genuine unputdownable value.

She has acknowledged the masters, in particular Agatha Christie, from whom she has "borrowed" two narrative devices but then any modern crime writer cannot but be influenced by their antecedents

I have a feeling that we may see Ms Kerrigan again in the not too distant future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, but no real shocks., 30 Dec 2010
By 
RM/TM (UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Burning: (Maeve Kerrigan 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Met officer Maeve becomes involved in a murder investigation when she spots signs that the latest victim of a serial killer doesn't display the hallmarks of the previous attacks. And so she sets off on the trail of the real assailant of Rebecca, a seemingly successful Oxford graduate and PR-career women, but real-life blackmailer and drug addict.

The book is very readable (in common with the author's previous novel, 'The Missing'), with convincing dialogue and plenty of detail on the nuts and bolts of the investigation. However, I didn't really warm to Maeve as a character, with her typical female-in-a-male-environment 'ballsy' attitude, nor to the somewhat cliched male police contingent (who are mainly old-school chauvanists). Nor did I think the ensuing romance with colleague Rob very convincing - he is actually wished 'Good Luck' by Maeve's ex, which didn't seem very credible to me.

The twist in the plot is fairly predictable - Agatha Christie this ain't - but despite these criticisms, it was still a reasonably compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Routine police procedural with female detective. Bit of a plodder..., 9 Dec 2010
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Burning: (Maeve Kerrigan 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The blurb for The Burning sounds quite interesting but the reality turned out to be a fairly average, UK-based police procedural. An inexperienced female detective has been seconded to a serial-killer murder squad and is keen to shine among her all-male colleagues. She's given the scut-work of checking what might be a copy-cat killing which could be a poisoned chalice, or it could be the chance for her to prove her worth. Meanwhile, the actual serial killer is escalating, and may strike again...
I really struggled with the depiction of the murder squad as (in the main) a bunch of chauvinist, career-obsessed, unprofessional and unpleasant men. My whole professional life has been spent working in male-dominated industries and I've never encountered anything like the discrimination and back-biting which is inflicted upon the main character. There's always a bit of rough n tumble, but the scenario we're expected to believe here feels about two decades behind the times. So that cast something of a shadow over the whole book for me. And the female detective really lets herself down; bailing out of the autopsy when it gets too gruesome, for instance. C'mon: if you're going to be a woman cop, then you'd be a serious one. The cause of feminism isn't helped by portraying us a wilting flopsies...
The central mystery is an interesting one, however, and Jane Casey writes in an easy going, fluid style. So while I didn't engage with the main characters, I found the book to be pretty entertaining overall. I wouldn't seek out another of her novels, but would pick one up if stuck with a long train ride and nowt to do.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Burning, 28 Jan 2011
By 
Nikki - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Burning: (Maeve Kerrigan 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is Jane Casey's second novel and after reading The Missing which I really enjoyed, I was eager to get started on this. I must admit I struggled with it for the first half and didn't find it particularly compelling or intriguing - I like to be drawn in by a book from the start and this book didn't do that for me. The second half was much better but I still felt the story "plodded" on rather than racing to a gripping finish. I wouldn't call this a page turner, more of a slow burner - its a fairly easy read but nothing to particularly get excited about! Worth a read if you liked The Missing but I didn't enjoy this one so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant British Thriller, 11 Aug 2014
First, to get this out there, I love British police procedurals. They are normally crisp, compelling and well written. The Burning is a premier example of the best the genre has to offer. Written from the viewpoint of Detective Constable (DC) Maeve Kerrigan, the story focuses on the hunt for “The Burning Man” a serial killer terrorizing London. His crimes are horrific, and no young woman is safe. There have been four murders committed which can obviously be credited to the killer – but now a fifth murder has been committed. And Maeve questions whether this particular killing shouldn’t be attributed to a copy-cat killer.

Maeve is an extremely likable heroine. She takes serious verbal abuse from her so-called colleagues as they make sexual and misogynist comments about her work style. Abuse that she handles with dignity – even when it comes from her own partner. As the story evolves Maeve becomes more and more involved with the fifth killing, following a trail of murder, drugs, deceit and violence that goes back several years to the victim’s college days. Maeve is smart without being omniscient, funny and serious by turns, and is willing to put herself on the line for what she knows is right and true.

Filled by turns with violence and heartbreak, deceit and deep sociopathy, The Burning is a must read for anyone interested in police procedurals, thrillers and suspense novels, with a very light dose of romance to round things out.

I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review. All comments and thoughts are my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent detective novel, 1 May 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Burning: (Maeve Kerrigan 1) (Paperback)
Maeve Kerrigan is a DC investigating a series of murders where the victim is killed then the body burned , when the fifth body is discovered all the evidence seems to point to the same serial killer but Maeve is not so sure as there are certain nagging differences. A brilliant novel with a few relevant sub-plots that'll have you guessing until the end and it dispels a few preconceptions about what makes a person kill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 21 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Burning: (Maeve Kerrigan 1) (Paperback)
Strange to call a novel about a series of vicious murders enjoyable but I am glad that I stumbled on Jane Casey especially as this and The Reckoning were part of a "3 for £5" offer in a national supermarket. The book really is worth more than £1.65ish!

The characters are well crafted and the writing flows easily. The story is well set out and the use of two perspectives enhances the storytelling without conceding glimpses of the outcome that spoil the story.

I would rarely recommend that a book be made into a television series/movie as this can, in my opinion, downgrade the book but this is an exception as it would transfer very well to the television. And no, I have no ideas on casting.

Buy this and enjoy it. I am saving The Reckoning until I need another 'good' book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good follow up to the Missing, 10 July 2011
This review is from: The Burning: (Maeve Kerrigan 1) (Paperback)
Second offering of Jane Casey's I have read and I enjoyed it just as much if not more than her debut The Missing. The Irishborn female detective Maeve Brennan is a strong and likeable character, if not sometimes a little too spiky. The Burning man of the title doesn't actually feature that much in this book. Instead it is actually a subplot to the main crime, the murder of a troubled young woman. The portrayal of the murdered woman's best friend Louise was extremely well constructed and I enjoyed the game of psychological cat and mouse between her and Brennan. All in all a well crafted novel and worthy follow up to The Missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent enough thriller., 20 May 2011
By 
J.Flood (Dublin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Burning: (Maeve Kerrigan 1) (Paperback)
A serial killer has brutally murdered four young women, and burned their bodies. When a fifth body, that of Rebecca Haworth, is discover it is assumed by the police that the killer has struck again. However, DC Maeve Kerrigan, one of the detectives assisgned to the case, is not convinced this latest killing is the work of the same person.

I found this story quite good. The plot does not exactly go along at break neck speed, but the characterisation is good, and it kept me interested, throughout. The narrative is split in two, i.e. we see the plot unfold through the eyes of DC Maeve Kerrigan (the story's main character), and Louise North (a friend of murdered, Rebecca Haworth).

If you enjoy police procedurals/thrillers, this book is certainly worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Burning: (Maeve Kerrigan 1)
The Burning: (Maeve Kerrigan 1) by Jane Casey (Paperback - 11 Nov 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews