Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very practical advice.
Really nice light hearted take on an exciting and big step in life. Just succesfully bought my first house while reading this and sure that it saved me quite a chunk of money. Somehow really informative yet still a page turner. Phil Spencer has a great way of explaining things.
It certainly isn't high tech, which makes it accessible but for younger first time buyers...
Published on 30 Aug 2011 by Bob Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Broad and helpful but lacks detail
Phil Spencer bring his understanding of propertye search to bare on the problems of the first time buyer. This book is a helpful introduction to purchasing a property and provides a number of helpful items; questions to ask, broad descriptions and additional resources. A critical stance on the book could focus on its oversimplistic and repetitive style, yet this works for...
Published 22 months ago by David King


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very practical advice., 30 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Buy Your First Home (And How to Sell it Too) (Paperback)
Really nice light hearted take on an exciting and big step in life. Just succesfully bought my first house while reading this and sure that it saved me quite a chunk of money. Somehow really informative yet still a page turner. Phil Spencer has a great way of explaining things.
It certainly isn't high tech, which makes it accessible but for younger first time buyers I expect they will make more use of technology than suggested in the book. They are also likely to be more interested in the sustainability side.
To be fair, this book is just an introduction and perhaps those elements are slighly more specialist. I'm now looking forward to his other book on adding value to your home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Broad and helpful but lacks detail, 18 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Buy Your First Home (And How to Sell it Too) (Paperback)
Phil Spencer bring his understanding of propertye search to bare on the problems of the first time buyer. This book is a helpful introduction to purchasing a property and provides a number of helpful items; questions to ask, broad descriptions and additional resources. A critical stance on the book could focus on its oversimplistic and repetitive style, yet this works for the first time buyer who really is lost and sea and the reader who only wants to dip in and out of chapters. This is not a detailed guide to understanding the complicated workings of the housing market, nor legal complexity of purchasing a property, but it is an introduction to both, and should give the average reader a solid enough basis to both work with professionals involved in housing and challenge them to provide a competenet service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this Book if your a 1st time buyer, 24 July 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Buy Your First Home (And How to Sell it Too) (Paperback)
This book is both informative and reader friendly. Lots of case scenarios to help clarify what Phil is saying. Loads of contacts for research.
I have always liked Phil on the TV and his way of dealing in properties and this definitely comes through in the book.

Its a simple step by step guide and is so worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 19 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: How to Buy Your First Home (And How to Sell it Too) (Paperback)
Have just started using this book as we are in the process of finding and buying our first house. It is full of useful, clever information for all budgets, locations and circumstances.

Easy to understand, full of lists, contacts and step by step advice. Really if you are looking or thinking of looking then make this your first sound investment, it has not lead us wrong yet and has in fact made us feel more informed and confident in dealing with people in the housing business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good advice, poor editing, 25 Sep 2011
This review is from: How to Buy Your First Home (And How to Sell it Too) (Paperback)
This book has been really useful in helping us figure out how to actually buy a house, and gives tips for the different steps along the way. It is, however, very poorly edited (or not at all) and there are typos and similar errors (e.g. bullet points repeated in a list) all over the place. Clearly cheaply produced with very little work by the publisher, but a useful book nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good gift., 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Buy Your First Home (And How to Sell it Too) (Paperback)
Bought this as a Christmas gift for my future son in law. I hope it will come in handy very soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars get it, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read, flows nicely and very inspiring throws away any misconceptions you have.
moneysavingexpert mortgage guide is more up to date for 2014 and free. Its more hard edge and sensible about financial abilities.
I recommend reading both cover to cover thrice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal Starter Guide, 15 Jan 2014
This review is from: How to Buy Your First Home (And How to Sell it Too) (Paperback)
Excellent starter point for anyone willing to get on the property ladder.
Would recommend it as a guide.
Good delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly outdated, 1 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The housing market and legislation has moved on since this was published (e.g. It tells you that first time buyers don't need to pay stamp duty on properties under 250k but this ended last year), but it's a useful book nonetheless. I bought a new build home, which this book didn't really help very much with at all. But it will be useful when I look to sell and move elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful guide, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Buy Your First Home (And How to Sell it Too) (Paperback)
This book has given me such valuable information that has really helped me buy my first home. I would say use this in conjunction with internet research, don't rely on it completely. Gave me a good idea of the process, I was completely in the dark when I started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa476fdc8)

This product

How to Buy Your First Home (And How to Sell it Too)
How to Buy Your First Home (And How to Sell it Too) by Phil Spencer (Paperback - 5 May 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews